We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for tours, cheap enough”
Review of Hotel Mitru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mitru
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tupiza
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Located close to town centre (but then again so are most things in Tupiza). Service was ok. Maybe not the friendliest but far from rude.

I paid for a private room, which was not the cheapest in town but still affordable enough (gotta love Bolivia like that). Bed was comfortable but could have used more sheets when it got cold at night.

Shared toilets and showers were clean, and shower had hot water, always a plus. There's also a pool where you can hang out when the sun is out, and it does get warm at this altitude.

Free breakfast was surprisingly good for South America, though not amazing. But hey, it's free.

Wifi didn't quite reach my room but worked ok in the lobby. Not super fast. Can sometimes not be working but you can just ask reception to reboot the router.

The main reason I stayed at this place was because they also ran Tupiza Tours, with whom I had booked a 4-day Salar de Uyuni tour. In that sense, it was very convenient to stay there the night before leaving for the tour.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank headlessclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 294 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed one night at Hotel Mitru, but were very disappointed with the room. The sewage smell in the bathroom was so foul that we couldn't use the bathroom at all. While the pool was refreshing, we were disappointed overall with the reception, wifi (very very weak and slow), breakfast and conditions of the bed and bedding. Wouldn't recommend this hotel despite its reasonable cost and central location.
Margaret Scaia

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrgrtscaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights prior to and one night after a four day tour with Tupiza Tours who are based in the hotel (and I think part of the same company). The tour was fantastic and I would highly recommend them. The hotel itself is pretty good although overpriced for Bolivai. We had a top level room in the "new" wing which was quite spacious with a double and a single bed, newly decorated and a reasonable shower. Cost 300bob. Breakfasts where buffet style and not bad at all with the usual bread, eggs, juice, coffee etc. wifi is intermittent and only available in reception area.

When we returned from our tour they tried to palm us off with an inferior, smaller room for the same price saying that it was their best which was annoying to say the least. After arguing for some time we got our old room.

What lets this place down however is the miserable, unhelpful staff in reception. They, never smiled once that I could and just could not be bothered. Even the simplest request seemed like too much trouble. The management should really get a grip and make the staff aware that they are in the HOSPITALITY business. The rest of the staff, kitchen, cleaners were all very cheerful and pleasant always saying hello whenever they passed. Perhaps working on reception is viewed as some sort of punishment??

Room Tip: Ask to see a few rooms before making a choice, some are much nicer than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crellston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hotel Mitru started the 4WD tours and still runs the best - we got the taxi here from Villazion and were settled quickly.

The double room and private en-suite was very comfortable and the hot water is piped (not from an electric shower head) - something not to take for granted in Bolivia.

There was a bit of noise echoing down the hallways from other tourists.

Wifi was dodgy, only in public areas and kept dropping out. The fixed computers worked fine.

Breakfast was good with eggs, cereal, juice and smoothies - enough to get you started in a nice sun room breakfast area.

Soft toilet seats are an exhilarating rush in the cold Tupiza mornings.

You must pay cash or theres a 10% surcharge and contrary to what the guide books say there are ATMs and banks in Tupiza around the main Plaza.

You can organize tours from the attached tour office. We did the horse riding (bit meh) and the 4d/3n 4WD trip (great).

Staff are friendly and professional. Patrons are fairly social because everyone is trying to sus out the group they will be travelling with.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoandPj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Rooms with shared bathroom are excellent value, rooms with private bathroom are pricey. Outdoor pool! Good breakfast, free WiFi in lobby. Very clean and well-run. Tupiza tours is partnering with the hotel, very convenient. 5min walk to main square.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philippstraka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hotel Mitru is a nice place, but not more. We had a "superior room" with private bathroom. The room was small and with lots of hairs in the bed. We hadn't WiFi in our room. The bathroom was good, we had lots of hot water. The breakfast was okay, but not more. Be aware from the laundry service, they ruins all our clothes. We are sure they wash the clothes by hand. After the laundry the clothes smelt more than before and all get some spots from rubbing. All the ATMs in Tupiza didn't work (it common we heard), so we had to pay by credit card. This vagabonds charge us horrendous 10% for paying by credit card, even we explain them we didn't got money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emanuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel Mitru was not at all bad (and supposedly the best in Tupiza), but we had rather a noisy room and found that staff not that helpful. Basic but clean room and breakfast was fine - good for one night.

I'd recommend doing a four day tour with Tupiza Tours (whose office is linked to the hotel) and finish in Uyuni, where you can properly relax in the hotel Petite Porte and see how good the best is there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tupiza hotels
0.0 mi away
Vargas Hotel
Vargas Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tupiza
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#2 of 9 in Tupiza
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Los Salares
Hostal Los Salares
#3 of 9 in Tupiza
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anexo Mitru
Anexo Mitru
#5 of 9 in Tupiza
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Butch Cassidy
Hostal Butch Cassidy
#1 of 9 in Tupiza
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Bello
Hotel Rio Bello
#6 of 9 in Tupiza
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mitru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mitru

Address: Av. Chichas 187, Tupiza 067, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Tupiza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tupiza
Price Range: $20 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mitru 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here you’ll find all the rest that you need, it guarantees relaxation and offers direct contact with nature. The hotel counts with a beautiful temperature controlled pool and nice gardens, where the guest can enjoy a special drink. Comfortable rooms with shared and private bathrooms. Different prices, according to your possibilities. The main characteristics of the hotel are: Freedom, green areas, country and sun atmosphere parking, safe box, frigo-bar, hot showers (24 hours a day) games room, baggage storage room, and Buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mitru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing