We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for Bolivia”
Review of Hotel La Torre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Torre
Ranked #2 of 9 Tupiza B&B and Inns
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very good for Bolivia”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

It was our first stay in Bolivia. And I can say now, after different hostels, that it is a good value for Bolivia standards and prices.
We got a double room with private bathroom. All clean, "real" hot shower, good breakfast with yogurt.
One only negative point: you have guests arriving by train around 4am so you could hear the ring. But generally you stay one or two nights before going on the lipez-salar tour so it's ok, but the management could find a solution about it.
Anyway, I recommend this hotel before going to your tour.
We didn't take the tour with their agency so cannot talk about it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    98
    47
    13
    9
See reviews for
9
120
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice spot. Was most welcome of a decent bed and a proper hot shower after 17 hours on a bus. The room we had was comfortablea and clean, the breakfast was also far more siginificant than any other "all included" breakfast that I had in Bolivia. Can throughly recommend their tours too -the best thing i did in Bolivia.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RuckyLick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Great price for private room. Warm room, comfortable bed. Hot showers.

Good breakfast included too.

Really helpful staff and friendly staff. They didn't pressure you into taking a tour with them either!

Good location, inbetween the bus terminal and the main square.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AN4RCHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The rooms are not luxury but above Bolivian hostal standard and defintely fairly priced. Some rooms are a bit dark and rather loud as they only have windows facing the corridor inside the house. Our room was clean, so was the bath room and the rest of the hotel. We experienced the whole staff as very friendly and helpful, quite a few also spoke english. The breakfast was GREAT! fresh juice and a fruit and yogurt - no where else in Bolivia, even in far more expensive places we've got such a breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_partout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

FIRST IMPRESSION: We arrived at 4am totally unannounced and was welcomed in by a young (sleepy!) guy who showed us to our triple room. The whole place is a little bit 1970's grandma's house but its clean sp thats all that counts!
DORMS: When we arrived, our beds hadnt been changed from the previous people but when we informed the lady the next morning, she couldnt have been sorrier and dealt with it really professionally. The sheets were changed straight away. The beds had lots of blankets and were comfy enough.
BREAKFAST: The breakfast here is great. Freshly squeezed juice, lovely bread rolls (nicer than normal bread served at breakfast) with jam and butter, a hot drink, fruit and a yogurt. It made a nice change!!
FACILITIES; 5 of us went horse riding which was a laugh but were upset to find out how little the horse riding instructors get from that (20 BoB per GROUP for 3 hours) so we gave them a tip to thank him as he was great. Also, we did the 4 day Salar de Uyuni tour which I cannot reccomend enough. Pedro was our driver and was so nice and drove so carefully. Isabel was our tour mummy/cook and was amazing. Her food is sorely missed!!
INTERNET: Internet was good at times but occasionally slow.
OTHER; Most people who worked in the hostel were so friendly and could not do enough for you. Unfortunately, one particular lady called Elvira (I think?) was quite rude to my friends on many occasions and insisted on interfering with our pre-arranged option for the tour (we had agreed to miss out a couple of stops so we could spend longer in other places which was OK'd by Pedro and the owner of the hotel).
Would you stay again? Yes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephieAlice_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Hot showers, warm rooms, lots of blankets, helpful staff, nice breakfast!
Highly recommend!
Tour of salt flats was amazing and horse riding was great too!
Our driver and chef were wonderful and spoke slowly!
Centrally located! This place is great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pholpheist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
428 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The tour operator in the same building gets 5 stars, but the hotel is nothing special. It's convenient if you're taking a tour early in the morning. The room we had was a bit shabby and noisy all night, and the shower not very good. The location is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tupiza hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mitru
Hotel Mitru
#2 of 2 in Tupiza
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vargas Hotel
Vargas Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tupiza
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Los Salares
Hostal Los Salares
#3 of 9 in Tupiza
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Valle Hermoso
Hostal Valle Hermoso
#3 of 7 in Tupiza
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rio Bello
Hotel Rio Bello
#6 of 9 in Tupiza
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anexo Mitru
Anexo Mitru
#4 of 9 in Tupiza
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Torre

Property: Hotel La Torre
Address: Avenida Chichas 220, Tupiza, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Tupiza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tupiza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Torre 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our area is a family business, with extensive experience in the area, giving our customers comfort, quality, warmth and continuous advice. Our Hotel is located in the center of the city. It is 3 and half blocks from the train station and 2 and half blocks from the bus station. Check in time is 11:00 a.m. Early arrive from 00:00 to 06:00 a.m. you have to pay 100% the price for that night too (Included breakfast). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing