We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Pousada with a garden worthy of "Chelsea"”
Review of Portal del Santo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portal del Santo
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Cafayate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We didnt have anything booked, just a recommendation. The girl we were travelling with said she was being picked up by Christian and she asked him if he could also give us a lift. He did take us to the b&b we had been recommended, but we also wanted to look at Portal del Santo, when we saw this place there was no going back. Our first reaction was wow, and it certainly did not let us down. A few blocks from the bus station, yet Christian still picks up his guests which means that you are not left holding a piece of paper asking people directions. This traditional whitewashed Pousada is extremely well maintained, we asked if we could have a discount for staying several nights and he agreed. Amazingly it was Christian who reminded us of the discount, whereas another person might have conveniently forgotton it.

In the room there was a fridge, microwave, coffee, teas and even toffees which we didnt find till later in the evening. Good quality bed linen on comfortable beds, constant hot water in the showers, large quality towels. The doors onto the patio lead onto the exquisite gardens and pool area . I walked around admiring the different levels used for growing herbs and vegetables. As a regular "Chelsea flower show" visitor I was extremely impressed, even the blades of grass seemed to grow in the same direction. The breakfast was varied and the coffee good, as another reviewer says the freshly squeesed orange juice was a great way to start the day

The Harley Davidson riding Christian is extremely helpful and speaks good English. Sit at the computer and think I must get a pen and some paper and there he is with them in his hand. When we got into the pool, towels suddenly appeared on the chairs we were sitting on. I certainly never expected this level of service - what is this guy on!!!

I try and balance any positives with any negatives and I have to say I really have to rack my brain to find one. Maybe it would have been nice to have something to place the second suitcase on as we didnt like to place it onto the lovely tables with roses, but apart from that this family run pousada runs like clockwork and is well worth your visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodtogethome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 450 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

A fairly new, beautifully decorated hotel. The rooms are fairly large, clean and well appointed. The hotel is close to the central plaza. The owners are very friendly and provide a wonderful breakfast with homemade jams and bread. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ekarenwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The family who runs this hotel is friendly and attentive. They go out of their way to make guests comfortable. They were engaging in conversation and offered to make lunch arrangements at a local bodega.
The hotel was noisy during our one night stay. A neighbor was hosting a large outdoor party, which included loud music. I think this is atypical for this hotel.
The breakfast was nice, and it was memorable because the lady of the house made the jams and marmalades. They were delicious.
The pool was nice and it was clean. It is surrounded by a lovely garden. There is also a small bar area that would be great for enjoying a bottle of wine and some cheese.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkisWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! Rolo, Angelica and their son Cristian were wonderful hosts, making us feel like family the entire time. We especially enjoyed our conversations with Rolo in (our limited) Spanish, though it was observed that we sometimes talked about entirely different subjects while agreeing completely with each other. Cristian served as a able interpreter however for the more important conversations. Our bed was comfortable, the room was very nice and the cleanliness of the place was exemplary. Breakfast was typically Argentine, with ham and cheese, really great croissants, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit salad (yum) and an assortment of toast and other pastries. The fresh squeezed juice from local oranges is “to die for”. It was probably the best we’ve ever had, and the coffee is very good as well. Don’t miss the breakfast cake and jams that Angelica makes herself.

Portal del Santo is just a couple of blocks from the lovely square with its shops and restaurants. We felt completely safe walking around at night and love the way people here actually use and enjoy their parks on a daily basis. It’s also a short walk to any of several great wineries, as well as the museum of wine and viticulture.

Cafayate is in the heart of the wine country and a wonderful place to visit and we highly recommend it. The trip from Salta by way of the Quebrada de los Conchas is truly spectacular! Be sure to stop at El Anfiteatro (The Amphitheater) along the way. It’s a grand natural auditorium in the rocks with amazing acoustics. If the musicians are playing, the $5 CD is something you’ll treasure every time you listen to it.

We felt that Portal del Santo was a great place to stay and wished we could stay longer. There was too much to see and do in Cafayate that a week just wasn’t enough. Ah well, I guess we’ll just have to return..... When we do, it’ll be good to stay at Portal del Santo and to see our newfound Argentine family again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScoutOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Stayed two nights at this hotel. The owners are very involved and really care about their guests. Breakfast was excellent for a change in Argentina. Lived the pool ..
Laura

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauracelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stumbled across this place as another hotel was full. Really glad we did as this is a marvellous hotel. The rooms are simple but pleasant. The grounds are very well kept and the pool is just what you need when the weather is hot. The owners are great characters and nothing is too much trouble. Excellent value for money. One odd thing to mention, the pillows are really high and we had to put them aside.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captaincod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was there for three nights and four days, an older couple ran the Hotel, like a house
always fresh food on hand should you be a little peckish,
Christian there son was always on hand to address any concerns( his english is excellent)
They were alawys concerend , whether things were up to speed, very charming and accomodating, never any worries
They had ineternet, free and open all day , need be

Room Tip: they are reall kind people, and will go above and beyond to make your stay wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christophe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cafayate hotels
1.1 mi away
Patios de Cafayate Wine Hotel
1.2 mi away
Grace Cafayate
Grace Cafayate
#2 of 20 in Cafayate
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Sauces
Hotel Los Sauces
#8 of 20 in Cafayate
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort
8.2 mi away
Altalaluna Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.2 mi away
Villa Vicuna
Villa Vicuna
#7 of 20 in Cafayate
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portal del Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portal del Santo

Address: Calle Silverio Chavarria 250, Cafayate A4427ALF, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Cafayate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cafayate
#2 Family Hotel in Cafayate
Price Range: $90 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portal del Santo 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi Sir / Thanks for contacting us, we have double triple rooms and quadruples, include our full breakfast. They are equipped with: TV. Air conditioning hot / cold, fridge, microwave, mattress with box spring mattress, hair dryer, safety deposit box, barbecue, grill, grill, complete set of furniture, ready to enjoy, swimming pool, jacuzzi, Hotel building, we have internet "WI FI" throughout the hotel, we are located 250 meters from the plaza of CAFAYATE "LA HERMOSA" 100 meters from the MUSEUM OF THE WINE "BODEGA ENCANTADA", we greet you from PORTAL DEL SANTO " A GOOD PLACE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Portal del Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portal Del Santo Cafayate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing