We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best acccomodation in Argentina”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Killa Cafayate
Ranked #1 of 35 Cafayate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Every aspect of the accommodation experience at Killa Cafayate is of the highest standard. The accommodation is located in a quiet street close to the centre of the town, only a very short walk to the restaurants scattered around the main plaza. The rooms are very comfortable, quiet and tastefully decorated. The suites are clustered around an immaculate and peaceful garden with a swimming pool. Secure off street car parking is located only a couple of doors away in the same street. The breakfast dining room is most attractive and the quality of the food and coffee was excellent. Hosts Juan and Martha are very courteous, efficient and patient with their guests. Martha even encouraged us to practice our Spanish with her, although her English is excellent (and our Spanish is not!). They went to a quite a lot of extra effort to sort out accommodation options for our next destination after Cafayate, and their recommendation was spot on. After travelling by car around rural Argentina for 5 weeks, Killa Cafayate gets our vote as the best accommodation in the whole country.!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreydogMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 422 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel. Martha, the owner, was wonderful and gracious. The gardens and grounds are beautiful. We stayed on a top floor and since the hotel was not full, we were upgraded. We had a beautiful suite with two bathrooms and the shutters opened up to a vista of the lovely rooftops of Cafayete, a wonderful view of the cathedral and the mountains as a backdrop. I can't say enough about this hotel. Do not miss it if you are in Cafayete. We wish we had been able to stay longer. Great location too.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minic00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Killa was the best hotel of our stay in the northwest. The rooms were superbly done out, with wonderful views from the windows. The beds were very comfortable. The whole place is spotlessly clean.

After much anticipation we didn't get the chance to use the pool (can't blame Killa for the weather), but it looked great. Breakfasts were the best of our holiday. Secure parking is another bonus. Easy to find with the most rudimentary map, and very conveniently located for the town centre and for in-town bodegas.

They've done a wonderful job of squeezing this number of excellent rooms into quite a small foootprint - the downside is that there are some quite steep stairs that may present difficulties for some people, are are tricky for luggage if male staff members are not around.

Nothing is too much trouble for Martha Chocobar, the boss; she will arrange winery tours, restaurant bookings, taxis, the lot. There's usually a queue to talk to her after breakfast (could be partly because she loves a chat!), so get in quick .

Thoroughly recommended - wish I could go back NOW!

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank Bells-n-hankies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

This beautiful hotel is full of character and I would recommend a stay here. The rooms are a good size and the bathrooms quite spacious. Although they are decorated rather simply they make use of local artisan designs which makes them rather beautiful and unique. I liked how the host described this when showing us the rooms.

As we only stayed one night we didnt get to enjoy the grounds or pool (but they looked just fabulous). We were on a budget and it was low season so we managed to secure a small discount which was great. We found the staff friendly and welcoming and as we were leaving v. early to catch a bus we werent able to avail of breakfast, they left us out sandwiches and snacks - very kind and much appreciated!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dubheire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Killa is not your luxury hotel, but with the service they provide they make you feel so at home that you become reluctant to leave. No one room is the same. With all the unique furtinure and decor, you´ll find the place extremely charming. We stayed in Rm 12, and even though it´s not the brightest room with the best view (Rm 1 may actually be the best room with the view), it was very comfortable and clean. This room actually has a queen and full bed, so it would be perfect for a group of 3 people. The best part is actually how the owners make you feel so welcomed and at home. They go the extra mile to make sure everything is done right and to your liking. For example, a piece of our luggage didn´t make it to Salta along with our flight, but did eventually arrive with the next flight. The airline had had the luggage delivered via bus to Cafayate, and the owner actually when to the depot to pick it up for us. No other hotel chain would provide that kind of service. For photos:
http://thelittleyaris.blogspot.com/2009/11/hotel-killa.html

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

The architecture is special, as is owner Martha--who could not be more gracious and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting by the pool with the complimentary bottle of wine and meeting other guests. Our room was just a standard--very comfortable but I wish we had booked one of the suites--they looked great!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingtwo-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Hotel Killa was one of the best hotels on our trip through Argentina. But not only the spacious and lovely decorated suites and the nice ambiente make this hotel special, also the kind- and helpfullness of the staff around owner Martha is outstanding. Thank you for the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy62odw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cafayate hotels
1 mi away
Patios de Cafayate Wine Hotel
0.2 mi away
Portal del Santo
Portal del Santo
#4 of 20 in Cafayate
454 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grace Cafayate
Grace Cafayate
#2 of 20 in Cafayate
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Vicuna
Villa Vicuna
#7 of 20 in Cafayate
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Sauces
Hotel Los Sauces
#8 of 20 in Cafayate
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Killa Cafayate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Killa Cafayate

Address: Calle Colon, 47, Cafayate A4427AMA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Cafayate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Cafayate
Price Range: $98 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Killa Cafayate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killa Cafayate is a hotel de charme located in the very heart of town. Developed after an old family house it is today a house with own character and very particular design. It is a place to rest and encounter with ample rooms that have view to the mountains, fresh galleries or colorful gardens. The hotel decorated with exclusive designs, invites to enjoy its past and preset with a unique hospitality style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Killa Cafayate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing