We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Killa Cafayate
Ranked #1 of 35 Cafayate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place and it had a really nice feeling about it!

The gardens and communal areas were really pretty.

Our room was enormous, basic yet beautiful. Very clean. Rooms were well-furnished. We had a large double bed and a single bed with a little sitting area where you could watch sunset.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtemisLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 419 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

I arrived in Cafayate by RN 68 from Salta at approx 3PM so I had time to check a few hotel before making up my mind. My wife and I immediately loved the place, the rooms are big, clean and well decorated, AC works really well (useful in summer trust me !). The patio surrounding the rooms is really lovely, you can feel that the owner arranged it in a very detailed way. The garden surrounding the pool is beautiful and pt you in a very good mood to relax in this wonderful spot as there was just you and mother nature. I strongly recommend !

Room Tip: take a room with a view on the pool if you can !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We arrived mid-afternoon, too late to get a standard double so traded up to a superior (with 20% discount for cash payment). It was well worth the money. This is an excellent boutique hotel, with delightful gardens and little nooks and crannies where there are borders and pots with more flowers and cacti. There’s a decent pool outside with a shaded area to sit beside it. Our superior room was vast and exceedingly comfortable. We didn’t want to leave it. Very good breakfast. The best, fastest wi-fi in the region (and among the fastest we found in the whole of Argentina). Can thoroughly recommend but probably best to book in advance.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank GreyNomad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Martha, the owner of Killa, an English speaking school teacher, bent over backward for us. More on that in a moment. The hotel earns 4 stars as it does not have a full service restaurant, gym or spa, but you wouldn't expect those amenities in this remote location. You can't tell what this place looks like from the outside. The air conditioned rooms are large and immaculate. Beds are comfy and linens are nice. The grounds inside the compound are pretty and the pool is clean. The breakfast buffet is quality standard fare - fresh squeezed juices and fruit, fresh baked goods, cereal, yogurt, ham, cheese, tea and coffee. No lunch or dinner, but plenty of restaurants close by. And the hotel is conveniently located near the city square. Unfortunately, one of our party became quite ill and had to go to the local hospital (compared to US facilities, the hospital is a total nightmare.) Martha came to the hospital to translate. And the next day she voluntarily drove to the hospital and brought our friend back to the hotel. Other than the illness - unrelated to Argentina - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The junior suites (there are a total of only about 16 rooms in the entire place) were roomy and quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joelalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fantastic meandering boutique hotel in excellent location. Our first floor room was large with very comfy bed and good bathroom together with an outside seating area with a view of the cathedral. The stunning garden and pool area provided a relaxing spot to return to after a hard day in the bodegas. Martha is charming and helpful and her restaurant suggestion was great. She speaks English but will try and make you speak Spannish which was interesting.

Room Tip: Highly recommend Cathedral view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali and Ade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Wow what a nice hotel! The rooms, the lovely garden & public spaces are super well maintained & super clean. I think this is the cleanest hotel i have ever stayed in.
The buildings are in lovely colonial style, a treat for the eye.
The owner and personnel are very friendly & attentive.
The breakfast is quiet elaborate for Argentinian standards.
If you have time, enjoy a half day at the pool & totally relax!
The main town square is just around the corner...perfect location.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Christmas period and thought the accommodation and hotel grounds were very nice, particularly given the hotel is located right in the middle of town. Martha, the owner, was friendly and helpful (including helping us with our hire car reservation) and there appeared to be a small army of cleaners keeping the place looking nice.

The rooms are spread around a number of small buildings and there is a nice swimming pool, though it didnt look like there were enough sun loungers and chairs if more than 2 or 3 rooms were having an afternoon at the pool. The breakfast spread was consistent with what we saw everywhere else we stayed in Argentina (cereal, lots of sweet pastries and biscuits, juice, yoghurt drink etc.), though it would have been nice to be allowed to make our own toast!

If you are staying in Cafayate, this appeared to be the best option, unless you would rather stay at resort style accommodation outside of town - there are lots of restaurants in Cafayate, so staying here gives you plenty of meal choices if you are staying a few days.

As with the rest of Argentina, if you want the best price, bring cash, as you will be offered a discount on checkout.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lodges_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cafayate hotels
1.0 mi away
Patios de Cafayate Wine Hotel
1.6 mi away
Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort
0.2 mi away
Portal del Santo
Portal del Santo
#4 of 20 in Cafayate
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grace Cafayate
Grace Cafayate
#2 of 20 in Cafayate
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Sauces
Hotel Los Sauces
#9 of 20 in Cafayate
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Asturias
Hotel Asturias
#5 of 20 in Cafayate
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Killa Cafayate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Killa Cafayate

Address: Calle Colon, 47, Cafayate A4427AMA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Cafayate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Cafayate
Price Range: $98 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Killa Cafayate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killa Cafayate is a hotel de charme located in the very heart of town. Developed after an old family house it is today a house with own character and very particular design. It is a place to rest and encounter with ample rooms that have view to the mountains, fresh galleries or colorful gardens. The hotel decorated with exclusive designs, invites to enjoy its past and preset with a unique hospitality style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Killa Cafayate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing