We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Cafayate
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

Simple but nice - a bit out of town, great views over vineyards, although no winery of its own (shame!) fantastic smell of jasmines, a good restaurant (just to mention - there was a group of ca. 40 Frenchmen on Harley Davidsons stopping for lunch there on the way from Chile - in my experience French never stop for food at bad places!) and some very simple, but cosy rooms.
Price value is unbeatable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bukish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    149
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
127
270
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

You can't argue with a hotel which offers you a glass of delicious wine when you arrive! An oasis of calm and luxury at the end of a long drive down dusty roads. We were lucky and had perfect weather which we made the most of by borrowing the free mountain bikes to tour the bodegas (tricky when you combine the altitude, the sun and the wine!).

Rooms were very nice indeed and had everything you could want including spectacular views.

Restaurant was of a very high standard for the evening meal and breakfast was good quality too.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, even spending ages bookiing us a stay in a completely unrelated hotel elsewhere.

We only stayed 2 nights and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JC6475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed here one night on a small detour from Salta. This hotel was lovely and welcoming- with a large drawing room with Fireplace (appreciated in the Winter months). The hotel room was lovely, with duvets, and clean, large bathroom. The hotel is a little out of town, but lovely and secluded. The pool looked beautiful- overlooking the vineyards- but we did not experience this in the Winter. The restaurant was good, and fair value for a more upscale place to stay. Breakfast was also excellent with lots of choice. My only small comment is that the Coffee could be improved for this type of hotel. Minor issue though, overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrienneMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

This is a welcome oasis after an exciting drive from Salta through the stunning Cafayate canyon. The hotel is a little out of town but it is well placed for a visit to a nearby boutique vineyard. We opted for a room with canyon view and it was worth the extra to be able to watch the sun rise across the valley from our own area of terrace. The hotel is beautifully designed with lovely gardens and a great (if slightly chilly in late April) pool. We had a good meal in the hotel restaurant which featured a comprehensive local wine list and we were very well looked after by the staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MnS_out_there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

This small hotel is charming in an unsophisticated but pleasing way. Set around a courtyard with lovely gardens and swimming pool within yards of the closest vines, it is quiet and restful, with unobtrusive but friendly service. Our room overlooked the vineyard, with deck chairs on the terrace outside. The lounge area is spacious and comfortable - ideal for a drink before dinner. We ate in, and enjoyed our meal - the food is simple but well cooked and nicely presented. Excellent local wines are available, including by the glass. Breakfast was a perfectly good buffet, if nothing special.
Once you arrive at the hotel up the 3k ripio road, you are in a wonderful dust-free environment - which if you are doing the Salta/Molinos/Cafayate wine circuit is a welcome break. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An173dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
572 reviews
268 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

The Wine Resort was the second of the Cafayate hotels that we stayed at, having stayed at Portal de Santo some days earlier when we had passed through the town the first time. The Wine Resort cost twice as much, but each hotel, in its own way, represented good value for money

The Wine Resort is a couple of miles out of town along a (very) bumpy dirt road, but do not let that put you off - it is worth the effort of the drive. The hotel gets its name from the fact that it is surrounded by vineyards to the extent that you could virtually pick the grapes from some of the rooms. We had a nice room, looking out over the pool, with chairs on the wide veranda on which to sit and enjoy the view. In common with most Argentine hotels discounts are offered for cash, or staying more than one night, or whatever to entice you.

The staff were pleasant without being in your face. As we had been to the town before, we did not need too much help with directions.

We ate in the hotel restaurant one night (quite agreeable without being memorable!) and the other night had some wine in our room (we ate in a vineyard at lunchtime that day)

The pool is quite spectacular, with the hill rising up behind it.

We walked to a nearby vineyard (Finca de los Nubes). Less hardy souls might drive or use one of the free hotels bikes as it is over a mile. But the trip was well worth it, as the vineyard was an interesting small boutique place with a very enthusiastic and informative wine presentation.

I would certainly recommend the hotel. The fact it was outside town did not concern us, and the hotel and its setting are enchanting

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

The hotel is very well located in the middle of a wineyard. To the city you will have to take a "ripio" road. This means that you will need a car to stay here.

The service and breakfast are very good and they have a small but very good restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cafayate hotels
2.3 mi away
Patios de Cafayate Wine Hotel
2.9 mi away
Grace Cafayate
Grace Cafayate
#3 of 20 in Cafayate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.7 mi away
Altalaluna Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
La Casa de la Bodega -Wine Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Villa Vicuna
Villa Vicuna
#7 of 20 in Cafayate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Los Sauces
Hotel Los Sauces
#9 of 20 in Cafayate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort

Property: Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort
Address: 25 de Mayo, Camino al Divisadero, Cafayate A4427AED, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Cafayate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cafayate
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cafayate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vinas de Cafayate is located in the city of Cafayate, 3 km. From the main square. You should go to the Natiotal 40 Road and street 25th Mayo, and take the latter almost 3km straight to the hotel. You can take as a reference Domingo Hermanos Winery. The hotel was built in the middle of a vineyard plantation at the foot of the imposing Cerro San Isidro. To carry out this traditional colonial style hotel has prioritized the typical local materials such as adobe, cane, clay tiles, stone, etc. Thus, our guests will enjoy a unique natural-environment and facilities, to its quaint and comfortable time. * Rooms 12 Standar Rooms (30 mts2- overlooking the Cerro San Isidro or the vineyards and Quebrada de Cafayate) including breakfast. The rooms have access to a spacious covered balcony overlooking the vineyards, the impressive San Isidro Hill and Cafayate Canyon. This rooms offer private bathroom with bathtub, walk-in closet, hair dryer and safe-deposit box. Each room has Queen size bed (sommiers) or twin beds, direct telephones with DDN and DDI and free access to WIFI. All rooms have an individual electrical system or gas system for heating and air conditioning. The rooms have no television and mini-bar. 10 Superior rooms (30mts2) This rooms also have access to a spacious balcony where you can enjoy scenic views to the vineyards and Cafayate Canyon. 5 Superior rooms at ground floor, and 5 at first floor (access trough stairs). All rooms offer: private bathroom with bathtub, walk-in closet, hair dryer, safe-deposit box. Rooms have Queen/King size beds (sommiers) or twin beds, direct telephones with DDN and DDI and free access to WIFI. All rooms have air conditioner (cold/heat). The rooms have TV and Mini-bar. FACILITIES • Reception • Galleries • Restaurant regional-gourmet • Organic garden to supply our kitchen • Room service • Living room with fireplace, TV (Direct TV), wi-fi, library • Internal courtyard • Swimming pool and large terrace with panoramic views of the vineyards and Cafayate • Laundry (will be charged extra) • Tourist Advice • Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafayate Wine Hotel Cafayate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing