We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Staff and Loud wedding party guests” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Cafayate
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Rude Staff and Loud wedding party guests”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel and were mesmerized by the views and the surroundings. The hotel is tastefully decorated and the surroundings are beautiful. Unfortunately as we walked in, we did not receive as little as a welcome smile from the Front Desk lady who also showed us to our room and didnt even explain the safe, wi-fi or general services. It was a little past lunch time so we decided to go down to the restaurant where there was a loud 15 people table, we took our lunch out to the pool to relax where we were barely served by the young waiter.
I am disappointed in the poorly trained staff and their lack of interest in trying a little harder. I find this hotel beautiful and with all the potential of being excellent but too pricey for this bad service. Its not worth it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AgustinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Alejandra G, Propietario at Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Agustina

We want to thank you for share your opinion, all your comments help us to improve the quality of our service and operational weaknesses. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel´s decoration and surroundings.
I personally went with you and your mother Carolina to the room, and I explained her the hotels services, restaurante´s time schedule, I gave her Wi-Fi password, and on the safebox you find the instruction to use it, etc.
We try hard to make feel our guest as comfortable as possible. We are so sorry if you had a bad experience, we are going to work to improve on much more the service.
We also apologize if you have felt invaded for the family group we had at hotel, who came to a wedding party to Cafayate.

We hope on your next visit we can receive you and give us other opportunity.

Sincerely
Ma. Alejandra Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    149
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
127
270
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cafayate
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I am currently staying at this hotel. The rooms and view are breathtaking but unfortunately our experience is being ruined by poorly trained staff and loud guests.
We arrived to the hotel and didn't receive as little as a "Welcome smile" from the girl at the front desk. The restaurant was too loud so we had to take our lunch out to the pool where the waiter poorly serviced. At this point I feel the deception that this hotel is way too pricey for the quality of service.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Agustina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Alejandra G, Propietario at Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Agustina,

Apparently, you have written your opinion twice with different user. As I answered on the other comment, we are going to work hardly with all the staff in order to look for the excellence in our service. We apologize again for the bad impression you have had.

Best regards,
Ma. Aljandra Gonzalez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is a great experience, staying amongst the vines, just outside Cafayate, in Salta province in NW Argentina. If you are travelling in NW Argentina I suggest you take route 68 from Salta to Cafayate because of the sensational mountain and valley scenery, simply some of the best in the world. But also lovers of high altitude wines will want to visit Cafayate and then somewhere to stay is needed. This is an old colonial building converted into some very spacious bedrooms and there’s also an excellent restaurant. The swimming pool, like every one we encountered in Argentina and Chile is too cold to use – an insulating cover rolled out at night to retain the heat of the day is all that is needed, but that’s not how they do things here.
But this is really an extraordinary place to stay plus the staff are so helpful.
The bicycles to borrow are not all maintained to the very best standard

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris580421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fine but not quite up to the standards one might expect of such a well rated hotel. The grounds, the pool, the views are magnificent. The service and the people working there were all very nice and helpful. They gave us a nice glass of wine when we arrived. The room is fine. The bed was good and the bathroom was also but it lacked the something special we've found in other similar hotels. The room was slightly tired. No turn down service. So good but not great.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

The brochure we got before we visited Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort was really amazing so our expectations were sky-high. Too bad reality is always less attractive than pictures and PR. Do not misunderstand: the room was ok, though basically furnished, it had a good bed and airco and a fan were present. But we missed a refrigerator. We could upgrade to another room that had a television and a refrigerator for 360 pesos per night extra (approximately 50 dollars). And the chairs on the shared verandah were backbreaking. So we asked for a better chair and staff brought it! Breakfast is fine and dinner good, but not cheap. If you like white wine, try Torrontes. The road to the main square of Cafayate is a badly maintained road, that is true but is no exception in Argentina. Would like to take a rough road? Try Ruta 40 from Cafayate - San Carlos - Cachi which was a route of Dakar 2013-2014. From Cachi take route 42 and 33 in the direction of Salta and turn right on route 68 back to Cafayate. After a very long day relax in the resort with a good meal and wine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here one night during my short trip within Salta. I was glad to get here after a long drive from San Antonio de los Cobres through Salta and then here in Cafayate - the room was large and very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and the check-in process was a breeze. Meals at their in-house restaurant were also very decent. I was only sorry that I didn't have the time to stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayda38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We spent a wonderful four days at Vinas in September 2013. Room was huge and very comfortable. Loved having our own patio looking out over the vineyard. We ate in the restaurant almost every evening for dinner and every morning for breakfast, and the food was fantastic! Staff was pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed a glass of wine in the great room in the evenings. Took a hike up into the hills near the resort. All in all, a terrific place to stay in Cafayate.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the vineyard are more picturesque
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trimatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cafayate hotels
2.3 mi away
Patios de Cafayate Wine Hotel
2.9 mi away
Grace Cafayate
Grace Cafayate
#3 of 20 in Cafayate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.7 mi away
Altalaluna Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
La Casa de la Bodega -Wine Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Villa Vicuna
Villa Vicuna
#7 of 20 in Cafayate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Los Sauces
Hotel Los Sauces
#9 of 20 in Cafayate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort

Property: Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort
Address: 25 de Mayo, Camino al Divisadero, Cafayate A4427AED, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Cafayate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cafayate
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cafayate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vinas de Cafayate is located in the city of Cafayate, 3 km. From the main square. You should go to the Natiotal 40 Road and street 25th Mayo, and take the latter almost 3km straight to the hotel. You can take as a reference Domingo Hermanos Winery. The hotel was built in the middle of a vineyard plantation at the foot of the imposing Cerro San Isidro. To carry out this traditional colonial style hotel has prioritized the typical local materials such as adobe, cane, clay tiles, stone, etc. Thus, our guests will enjoy a unique natural-environment and facilities, to its quaint and comfortable time. * Rooms 12 Standar Rooms (30 mts2- overlooking the Cerro San Isidro or the vineyards and Quebrada de Cafayate) including breakfast. The rooms have access to a spacious covered balcony overlooking the vineyards, the impressive San Isidro Hill and Cafayate Canyon. This rooms offer private bathroom with bathtub, walk-in closet, hair dryer and safe-deposit box. Each room has Queen size bed (sommiers) or twin beds, direct telephones with DDN and DDI and free access to WIFI. All rooms have an individual electrical system or gas system for heating and air conditioning. The rooms have no television and mini-bar. 10 Superior rooms (30mts2) This rooms also have access to a spacious balcony where you can enjoy scenic views to the vineyards and Cafayate Canyon. 5 Superior rooms at ground floor, and 5 at first floor (access trough stairs). All rooms offer: private bathroom with bathtub, walk-in closet, hair dryer, safe-deposit box. Rooms have Queen/King size beds (sommiers) or twin beds, direct telephones with DDN and DDI and free access to WIFI. All rooms have air conditioner (cold/heat). The rooms have TV and Mini-bar. FACILITIES • Reception • Galleries • Restaurant regional-gourmet • Organic garden to supply our kitchen • Room service • Living room with fireplace, TV (Direct TV), wi-fi, library • Internal courtyard • Swimming pool and large terrace with panoramic views of the vineyards and Cafayate • Laundry (will be charged extra) • Tourist Advice • Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafayate Wine Hotel Cafayate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing