We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estancia Chimpa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cafayate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estancia Chimpa
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

From start to finish our stay on this stunning Estancia was unforgettable. Teresita was very friendly and answered all our questions. The rooms are beautiful and clean and the breakfast was delicious, which included the best dulce de leche in all Argentina! The horseriding was so much fun, and the horses were beautiful. We couldn´t believe how stunning the landscape was. Their wine from their vineyard was our favourite out of all the wine we tasted in Cafayate - highly recommend the Cab Sav. We were able to cook an asado by ourselves, and Tersita´s lovely boyfriend helped us create the fire. Why on earth would you book a hotel in Cafayate, when you could stay here and have a true Argentinian experience for the same price! It was heaven on earth.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia4288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    12
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We just had a lovely stay at Chimpa. You need some sort of own transport, but it gives you the flexibility to do whatever you want. Since we like to discover new places, we took our rental car for having dinner or whatever (first wine tasting - of course) in Cafayate. The estancia itself is gorgeous with many animals. Our kids of 3,5 and 6 just loved all this, especially the lamas. The daughter is into horses, so she had the time of her life. The pool gave us the necessary 'refreshment' after a nice walk to the nearby dunes. The owner is very helpful although she was very busy with the ongoing harvest (bodega linked to the estancia). She does take the time to provide info or just to have a chat. Breakfast was very good; the Argentinian way (and that's how it supposed to be).
We recommend this place, especially with kids. We didn't consider the separate dining/eating place as the most appealing one, so never spent many time in/at it. You must weapon yourself against mosquitos, but you are staying in the outback, so live up to it.
Really a nice spot to discover the beautiful surroundings!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lieseningo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

This was weird, we have never really seen the place.The idea was to get there, being away from the city, relax and enjoy dinner.
After 2 times of emailing to Estancia Chimpa and confirming 2 times that we would appreciate the dinner we had to hear 1 hour before we got there (around 17.00, just to double check), that
there won´t be a dinner and that she doesn´t remember our emails confirming the dinner.
So we left it and went to Cafayate. Sad and dissapointed. And felt simply disrespected.
Might be a nice place but the dinner obviously seems to be an issue (like we read here before), maybe just don´t offer food?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeneAperdannier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

It is hard to understand the prior glowing review. Our experience was very different. First, there was no assistance at all regarding finding our way there from the town. We took one of the few taxis from Cafayate 12 km to the estancia, and on arrival were shown our room by the owner, Teresita. It was full of flies. The door to our room would not close, unless it as locked - a nuisance when there are 2 sharing. The mattresses were rock hard. There was no wifi or internet anywhere on the estancia for guests use. There was no asado on offer. We were shown to a BBQ situated in an out-of-the-way back room. If we wanted a parrilla (BBQ), our hostess told us in a couldn't-care-less attitude, we had to go to town, buy our own meat and a bag of charcoal and make it ourselves! Unbelievable! The estancia was fairly basic with little to do, except go for a walk on horseback. There was a kitchen - which served us impenadas and a salad on our first night. There was no other choice of dishes. The next day we were offered chicken for dinner, but that night we were told there was no chicken after all, instead there were veal escalopes. Again, take it or leave it. And it's 12 km to town, with few taxis available should we wish to eat there. We were the only people in the small restaurant, which boasted zero atmosphere. Next day, we'd had enough of this kind of treatment and left. Do not go to this remote farm, if you seek a wonderful experience on an Argentinian estancia. This estancia rates 2 stars in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank truth-revealed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaChimpa, Propietario at Estancia Chimpa, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Sorry to hear that the experience has not been Chimpa stay positive in any respect for you, and that I have noted at the right time. To be as clear as possible about your criticism, I will discuss the situation in particular:

- When you contacted me, I did not expressly transfers, and if you do not have car, our hotel was not the best option. You insisted on staying anyway. I took twice Cafayate them without charge. What's more, when they switched from hotel, I personally took their bags to its new destination, with cordial greetings relevant, I do not even suspect would have done such a tremendous stay.
-Internet not working, because the supplier went out of business, and we are waiting for the refund of service I offered a mobile device, and even a laptop for internet access.
-Make several calls without charge, to solve a problem with the hotel they were staying in Salta, enduring the abuse and disrespect of the owner.
-During the two-night stay, cook only for you, and while we change the menu, it was because when you buy the chicken, was not in the best conditions. Inlcuso received compliments on their part to how good the food was. He invited a complimentary drink. I explained that we did not have a restaurant, and if a dining room that simple meal prepared as a service to guests.
-Offered to withdraw all purchases made in person and bring them to stay if you want to prepare roasts.
- Solved the flies issue immediately .
-It may seem hard to mattresses, but because they are new, or because they simply can not have something that will please everyone.
-As for the activities, were also given out on horseback, and the answer was negative, because the wife was afraid of horses.
-Could have requested an extra key, if needed.

As you will see, I've done everything in my power to meet their needs, and I firmly believe in what I do, and as I do, you always risk the premise that "the customer is always right" ...

Cordially
Teresita Nanni
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Chimpa is a working estancia run by the charming Teresita Nuni. Do not expect a hotel, but an authentic home away from home designed with exquisite taste. You can relax on the veranda with a glass of white wine and listen to Teresita tell you all about the history and life on the estancia. Or go for a swim in the early morning sun. The rooms are large and well equipped with tv, airco and fridge but there are only 5 do it makes sense to reserve early. If you like horses, there are some 50 of them and your hostess will be delighted to take accomplished horsemen and women for a ride. The place is 10 easy km's from the centre of Cafayate in an oasis of calm

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were taken care by our host before we arrived as she phoned us durig that day to aid us on any information we needed. We ahd a lovely tea when we got there, and later in the evening the best asado ever, combined with the locally produced wine. Next morning we rode and learnt about farm life and how to manage a property in this desert land. We enjoyed the swimming pool, surrounded by red mountains and then left hoping to return very soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anahi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cafayate hotels
7.9 mi away
Patios de Cafayate Wine Hotel
10.2 mi away
Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort
7.8 mi away
Grace Cafayate
Grace Cafayate
#3 of 20 in Cafayate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Altalaluna Hotel Boutique & Spa
8.7 mi away
Hotel Los Sauces
Hotel Los Sauces
#9 of 20 in Cafayate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa de la Bodega -Wine Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Chimpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Chimpa

Property: Estancia Chimpa
Address: Ruta Nacional 68 Altura Km 9,5, Cafayate 4427, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Cafayate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Cafayate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old House rooms with private bath and breakfast. Rural Accommodation in Cafayate, Calchaqui Valleys . Horserides . Winery and Vineyards ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing