We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just wasn't what I expected”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cafayate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Portal de las Vinas
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Cafayate
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
210 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“It just wasn't what I expected”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I am sorry to report that the El Portal de las Vinas was a poor choice for us when staying in Cafayate. We left after one night because it just wasn't comfortable. The room was very shabby and felt like it needed alot of work to be satisfactory. The woman who oversaw the place was very nice, respectful, but couldn't speak a word of English. I know that shouldn't be a requirement, but it did make it difficult to get anything done. I don't often give reviews of this nature, but the truth sometimes hurts. If you are on a budget you may want to stay here, but it wasn't a good experience for the two of us.

Room Tip: If possible, stay in one of the rooms in the back of the complex. You will have less traffic from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
30
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Our room was simple but clean, towels smelled good and beds were comfy. AC worked very well. Breakfast is served at the wine bar in front of the hotel which is also a panaderia: it was simple but very good!
We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smile83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Nice basic and clean place with a couple of rooms around a small courtyard with branches of vine. The owner is very friendly and helpful and likes to talk to her guests (only Spanish).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is a very homely lodging, and what it lacks in amenities is made up in attentiveness of service. We stayed in one of the cabins outside, which were basic, but clean and with enough space. We had an initial problem with the hot water in the shower, and the owner was determined to sort it out - which she did. It is rather like staying in your auntie's house, and as such is probably not suitable for people who want to whoop it up. The breakfast is provided across the road and is pretty basic - a hot drink and a few biscuits or a croissant - so if you are looking for a more substantial start to the day, this place is probably not for you. However, we have fond memories of staying here and that is largely down to the warmth of the owner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieScoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This pros about this place are the great location, the pretty courtyard and the extremerly caring and friendly owner who is a proper character. Unfortunately not speaking much Spanish meant we couldn't really understand a word that the lady said to us (there were lots and lots of words!), but the warm smiles, the affectionate welcome and the bits we understood like that we are friends (chicos chicos!!) not formal guests and to make ourselves at home had a fantastic sentiment and made us feel at ease. The recommendations for places to eat from the lady were spot on. We were confused for some time about the vouchers for breakfast in a wine bar - the owner was insistent that we shouldn't miss it, getting us up at 10:30 with a polite but persistent knock!, but as others have noted, it wasn't great. With such a large kitchen herself, the owner should consider bringing this in-house. Note to Mr wine bar owner - an espresso is not a mug of weak coffee and it is not weird on our part for asking for milk to go with it! The rooms were basic in line with the budget but the beds comfy and the shower good, air con and fans to control the temperature and with daily room service no complaints except that the towels don't need washing everyday. We look back really fondly on this place - it met all our needs and the dear old voice calling "chicos chicos" everytime we entered the building to check how we are will stay with us for some time to come!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HULLJEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Cafayate is quite touristic and there is no lack of accommodation, but we found this one in two guide books and it met all our needs. The owner is delightful and extremely friendly as far as we were concerned, and very attentive to all our needs - especially when each of us was taken ill with a virus and kept to our bed for a day each. There are some rooms which look onto the inner courtyard (hence the name of the hostal) which some people might find lacking in privacy but we didn't mind (there are other rooms outdoors in mini chalets). The rooms are kept extremely clean by friendly and efficient staff and the bathroom was of a decent size. very good value for money.
The breakfast was rather disappointing - served in a pleasant wine bar on the other side of the street, but only including hot drink and patisserie.
Everything you need is nearby and the town itself is a delightful place to take a rest from some of the big cities in Argentina.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room we had - but you can look at each one that is avaliable and make your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The owner and the other staff are friendly and make you feel home. Bedroom is very basic, a bit cold during winter, old bathroom. Includes a good breakfast in a bar in front of the Pousada. Good solution for small budget.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duenito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cafayate hotels
1.0 mi away
Patios de Cafayate Wine Hotel
0.1 mi away
HOSTEL RUTA  40
HOSTEL RUTA 40
#12 of 20 in Cafayate
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Asturias
Hotel Asturias
#6 of 20 in Cafayate
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Altalaluna Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Paris-Texas
Hotel Paris-Texas
#11 of 20 in Cafayate
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Sauces
Hotel Los Sauces
#9 of 20 in Cafayate
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal de las Vinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal de las Vinas

Property: El Portal de las Vinas
Address: Calle Ntra Senora Del Rosario 165, Cafayate A4427AZC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Cafayate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Cafayate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Portal de las Vinas 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal de las Viñas is a hotel/hostel in Cafayate, Argentina. Located in the locality of Nstra Sra. Rosario 165 , El Portal de las Viñas offers the budget traveler and his/her family a friendly accommodation . The El Portal de las Viñas is known for its affordable accommodation options, well kept rooms and common areas with wonderful view of the wineyard, friendly reservation counter staff, nearby restaurants and bars, and of course, service and staff that try to make your stay at El Portal de las Viñas worthwhile. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing