We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the Average Cafayate Restaurants”
Review of Terruno Gourmet

Terruno Gourmet
Ranked #5 of 59 Restaurants in Cafayate
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best of the Average Cafayate Restaurants”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice place to eat outside or inside. Service is friendly. Atmosphere comfortable. Menu is confusing because there are two; the "gourmet" and "pedestrian" - frankly I could not figure out why they needed to be separated but confusion is often par for the course in Argentina. We ate here couple times during the course of week. I ordered rucula with quinoa each time which although was not on menu was created for me. The quinoa in this area is really good. One night I tried a chicken cutlet breaded in quinoa which was different and unique so fun. Our three year old devoured the lomo so he liked it. I ordered bife de chorizo which was little tough but grilled well. My wife had the Salmon which she reported was quite good. Another night she had quinoa soup which she also reported was excellent and again unique. She also tried a few of their salads which she liked. Most importantly, traveling with 3 year old is never easy but this place made it easy for us in every way.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ciao123bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    207
    71
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great service but very touristic”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We went to this restaurant after reading the reviews and to be honest I think this restaurant is a bit overrated. The service was very nice indeed, the food however is very average and therefore over priced compared to other restaurants. The place is only visited by tourists so you would almost forget you are in Cafayate.
Overall I think it's a good and safe place to eat but if you look a bit beyond the plaza you will find some very nice restaurants with better food, atmosphere and a bit more local ambiance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmwh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Food is very good, service as well, and they serve some of the best wines around, try Bodega El Porvenir "Laborum" 2005. Try to get a table outside, and be sure to make a reservation if you come after 9pm.

It's not the cheapest option around, but definitely one of the best!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Friendly Service”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

As a change from the usual parrilla this is a great place to go in Cafayate. On the main square. Probably a wee bit more expensive but worth it. Great fish dishes. Very friendly service. Definitely to be recommended

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HarrynOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant for a Small Town”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

It's a good restaurant, but not great. The service is usually very good, with Miguel in charge and everyone is always so friendly here. The food is sometimes great and other times misses the mark. I work here in Cafayate on and off and I always eat here a few times during my visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terruno Gourmet also viewed

Cafayate, Province of Salta
Cafayate, Province of Salta
 
Cafayate, Province of Salta
 

Been to Terruno Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing