We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to mine”

Jim Coleman Crystal Mines and Rock Shop
Attraction details
Auburn KS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good place to mine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Most of the mines are closed or either not active. This is an active mine that brings loads of dirt everyday. We found lots of crystal points and other pieces. It rained the day we were there, but we brought rain gear and got totally messy. It was a blast and I would go there again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Georgia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    20
    4
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This is the place to crystal mine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Went to Wegners crystal mine and was very dissapointed. This mine is everything Wegners was not. It is huge and new loads get dumped frequently. Found several clear crystals as big as my hand, and drug off some huge smoky quartz boulders for the herb garden at home. No shade, so bring an umbrella and sun screen. Very fun and would recommend to anyone.

Helpful?
6 Thank SS_Forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Instant gratification”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

You can surface search and easily find very decent crystals. We ended up with 2 large buckets, a small bucket, and several big pieces that wouldn't fit in the buckets. Another digger asked, "what are you going to do with all of those crystals?" You know, I am not really sure. I do enjoy showing them off and stuff though.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank xatiayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Grove, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“crystal memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Went to the the shop and the mine enjoyed both. Found a lot of nice crystals. Kids loved digging through the dirt. Lots of shaded areas for getting out of the sun. Lots of people don't know Coleman's has another mine to dig at for $ 20 a day were there is larger crystals and larger clusters I'm not sure how to get to it. I enjoyed this trip, make sure you have transportation that can climb a steep hill getting up to Miller's mountain. Beautiful clear crystals and small clusters. Bring plenty of water and cooler plus sunscreen.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best of the Coleman's Mines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

First do not go to the shop on 7. Take the direction on www.bluemooncrystals.com straight to the mine. Same price ($10 all day--cheapest price around), nicer staff, and the ladies at the mine prefer it as they get some kind of cut.

Second, there are very few mines in the Mt Ida/Hot Springs area left that still bring out the tailings from their own mine--many don't give you new tailings, bring in outside tailings or seed the tailings to supposedly give you more. We found more here than any the other mines and everyone we talked to said the same.

When looking for the crystals they will give you a few new tailing piles brought up that day with the red clay and you can also dig through the older tailing piles behind these. Its a huge amount of dirt to dig through so you won't get bored. Look for shiney dark pieces in the middle of the fresh pile. The older piles are dry so you are more like to see the crystals shining. Ask for help if you need it and prepare to have fun! Got 2 bucketfuls with some larger pieces outside.

Also, bring a plastic scrub brush to clean your pieces in the provided barrels--you will thank me. :)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim Coleman Crystal Mines and Rock Shop also viewed

 

Been to Jim Coleman Crystal Mines and Rock Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing