We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
A lot of fun!

Had a great time mining, on the zip line and the tour. Seeing their gallery is well worth the visit... read more

Reviewed yesterday
androm001
,
Shawnee, Oklahoma
A blast

We visited here on a Friday. Keep in mind we have three kids age 4,6 and 8. We arrived about 1 and... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
A-Texas-Mom-Of-Three
,
Burleson, Texas
Read all 210 reviews
  
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
127
47
17
9
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
127
47
17
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zip line quartz crystals gift shop peanut butter wear old clothes luck of the draw crystal points bring lots of water for sale red clay dig site rock shop digging area army truck hot springs nice crystals fun experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 210 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile

It was quite interesting, also for adults. We stopped at the nearby Walmart and bought a small shovel and some gloves before. I can recommend that.
We saw the prices on the internet as $10 for entrance / dig permit, but when we arrived it was $20 per person. That is too expensive for what it is; an open area outside the real mine, with a lot of quartz and dirt.
There were several old spanish/mexican women with large trolleys and buckets collecting massive amounts of crystals, but otherwise just amateurs and families with kids.
We found waaay to many nice crystals, so my wife is probably gonna try make some jewelry of some of them.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank jernhesten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alecks91, Manager at Ron Coleman Mining, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Very happy to hear you found so many crystals. Would like to clarify that the $10 fee is for a location known as Jim Coleman Mines. Same last name, completely different company. This is a very common mix-up. Their mine is about 10 miles further north down a dirt road, with very rustic amenities. Some people prefer to visit this location, but they are not affiliated with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile

Found a great crystal right in the road! The hunting area is massive so there is room for lots of people. We found more crystals when we moved to a hole someone else had started. You seem to find more the deeper you dig or the more "out of the way" you search.

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank ShariG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017

Especially if you have a child. The rock area for digging is great, and has all kinds of great finds. We found several crystals, and many great rocks for our rock garden at home. We took sandwiches and ate inbetween digs. You can dig for treasure or simply skim the surface for fun. Plus they have a zip line, and mine to visit, if you choose. The drive to the mine is beautiful, and takes you through many little town areas. We enjoyed it a lot!

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank 615danee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

We were digging for about 2 hrs. Me a mom and a young 4 yr old boy. It was a fair weather day not too hot. We didn't find anything but, white rocks until after the first hr then we found a good bunch of crystals mostly shards, formations, and a few nice tips. Look in the thick mud/clay that's were my crystals were hiding.
In an Arkansas travel guide book I was able to save $5 using a coupon AND coming during half off so, I wasn't sticker shocked by the $20 fee. Children 7 and under are free and if you don't bring your own digging tools expect to pay $3-$5 for tools depending on what you pick.
I would definitely come back everyone was sweet and very helpful PLUS, they have an RV park that would. R great to stay in for days of digging!

Date of experience: October 2017
3  Thank Tiff08217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

My wife and I decided to check this place out on our trip to Hot Springs. The mine is located about 20 miles north of Hot Springs off Highway 7. The 10 minute video about the geology of the area sets up the rest of the tour. Our tour guide,Lauren, was very knowledgeable and excited to explain the properties of crystals. Very good tour guide. The display room has beautiful crystals from this mine as well as from around the world. The rock shop has many specimens of quartz,amethyst,pyrite and other samples for sale.
Once we viewed the specimens we took a trip to the bottom of the pit on an old army 2 ton troop truck. We saw lots of quartz veins embedded in the rock. The last part of the process was the cleaning and grading room where all the discovered specimens are sorted. The tour takes an hour.
We saw lots of people picking over the mine tailings. FYI there is a campground next door for folks serious on digging for the week.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank rlfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews