We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded all expectations for an amazing family...”

Review of Sea Star Cottage

Sea Star Cottage in Port Mouton, Nova Scotia - a short walk from Carter's Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea Star Cottage in Port Mouton, Nova Scotia - a short walk from Carter's Beach
Sea Star Cottage in Port Mouton, Nova Scotia - a short walk from Carter's Beach Sea Star Cottage in Port Mouton, Nova Scotia - a short walk from Carter's Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Sea Star Cottage in Port Mouton, Nova Scotia - a short walk from Carter's Beach
Sea Star Cottage in Port Mouton, Nova Scotia - a short walk from Carter's Beach
Sea Star Cottage in Port Mouton, Nova Scotia - a short walk from Carter's Beach
Eat in Kitchen
Eat in Kitchen
Eat in Kitchen
Dining room
Dining room
Comfortable living room to sit and relax
Comfortable living room to sit and relax
Comfortable living room to sit and relax
Comfortable living room to sit and relax
The book room at Sea Star Cottage - full of interesting reads to lose yourself for an hour or two
The book room at Sea Star Cottage - full of interesting reads to lose yourself for an hour or two
Downstairs bathroom with claw foot bathtub
Master bedroom at Sea Star Cottage
Sitting area in master bedroom at Sea Star Cottage
Second bedroom at Sea Star Cottage
Second bedroom at Sea Star Cottage
Third bedroom at Sea Star Cottage
Third bedroom at Sea Star Cottage
Upstairs bathroom with shower
Upstairs bathroom with shower
Upstairs bathroom with bath tub
Upstairs bathroom with bath tub
Enjoy the friendly sheep living in the fenced pasture on the property
Carter's Beach
Carter's Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Port Mouton, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Timothy M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded all expectations for an amazing family vacation.”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent a week at the Sea Star cottage with our five children, and we had an amazing time. The house itself was full of beauty and mystery. The antique book collection is fantastic, and the sheep in the backyard made it quite special for the kids. To top it all off, Carter's Beach is about a 10 minute stroll away, and it is quite simply the most beautiful beach I've ever visited. We spent hours on the beach, and the river provided a wonderful place for the kids to play. I can't recommend it enough.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2017
Hi Timothy,
I am so pleased to ready that you enjoyed your vacation at Sea Star Cottage. It really is a beautiful little cottage. The proximity to Carters Beach makes it very special.
I hope you can visit us again in the future.
All the best,
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H
Rimouski, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blueberries, animals, nature and beaches!”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This property was exactly what we wanted... and exactly what we needed!

I'm a father of two young children and I'm originally from the South Shore so we were looking for something close to Carter's Beach, close to nature and with the amenities one would expect in the 21st century. The Sea Star Cottage offered all of that and more.

With laundry facilities on-site, 3 full baths and a large property, it was perfectly fine to let the kids get dirty and play as much as their little hearts desired. Nextdoor, was Maggie--a young sheep with oodles of personality and the kids loved dropping over to feed her apple tree branches and to pet her.

There is a trail leading through the woods in the rear which is about 5 minutes to the rocky shoreline of Southwest Port Mouton. Along the way are wild blueberries and raspberries which we did enjoy. It's a nice 45-minute hike / climb around the point to Carter's Beach (at low-tide, of course). The Carter's Beach Road is quiet and walkable--about 10 minutes to the beach proper.

Memories were made during our stay and now here we are three months later and the kids are still talking about returning for the following summer.

This is perfect for a large group or if you have extended family. Don't worry about the weather--the fog and the mist really adds to the location.

There's something about tasting the salt in the air at the Sea Star Cottage but yet far enough away from the sea winds to feel cozy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patty L
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Six of us had a wonderful vacation here - 4 adults (me, 2 daughters and partner), my 2 year old grandson and 3 year old granddaughter. The cottage was perfect - more than enough bedrooms and baths for us, and the country kitchen was great to work in. All the amenities were provided. There were even toys there for the kids, and books for Grandma! We all loved the beautiful beach; Grandma and 2 yr old were challenged by the walk but it was doable. The nearby towns and restaurants were also very fun. All very charming and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm, roominess and nearness of museums etc.
Liked least: Liked all.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzyqdurh...
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday cottage”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great family weekend staying at the wonderful Sea Star Cottage. It had every thing we needed and more in this well appointed comfortable home.
Carters beach which is a short walk away is the most beautiful white sandy beach breath taking springs to mind.
Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and surroundings also beautiful beaches
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Reviewed November 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing