We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Dream Beach House”
other traveler has booked this property
Sanderling Beach House in Louis Head, NS
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sanderling Beach House in Louis Head, NS
Sanderling Beach House on Louis Head Beach Sit and relax on the deck at Sanderling Beach House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Sanderling Beach House in Louis Head, NS
Sanderling Beach House on Louis Head Beach
Sit and relax on the deck at Sanderling Beach House
Enjoy the view from the deck at Sanderling Beach House
Front entry way
Dining area
Living room
View from living room
Kitchen
Open concept dining, living room and kitchen
Open concept dining, living room and kitchen
Master bedroom featuring a queen size bed
Master bedroom featuring a queen size bed
View from master bedroom
Downstairs bathroom with large walk in shower
Second bedroom featuring a queen size bed
Second bedroom featuring a queen size bed
Second bedroom
Third bedroom featuring a queen size bed
Third bedroom
Upstairs bathroom at Sanderling Beach House with bath tub
Upstairs bathroom at Sanderling Beach House
Upstairs bathroom at Sanderling Beach House
Upstairs den
Louis Head Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Louis Head, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andyandth...
Thornbury, Ontario Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Dream Beach House”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I have a lingering memory of our week at Sanderling Beach House. It is of waking up in the master bedroom and gazing out the full length windows to the sun filtering through the fog and lining the beach grasses with silver. That's just one of many that I will treasure.
The house was well designed, with clear views outside, room to be together and apart, a well stocked kitchen and comfortable beds. We appreciated the colourful deck chairs (just looking at the range of shades was a treat onto itself) and the sand toys. Helen was very helpful and took a personal interest.
The only drawback was the horrendous state of the 1.8 klm. road going in. It was so rough and rocky we felt it hindered our ability to go out and about exploring. Other than that, it was just perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
Hi,
I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sanderling Beach House. The house is a truly spectacular place. It is a good thing the house is so lovely and the kind of place most people are happy to linger because, you are right, the road in is an adventure in itself! I believe the road is privately owned by all the people who have property on the road (about 10 I think). They need to get together to organize some maintenance for the road. I will pass your comments on to the home owners.

Cheers
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamW1969
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute dream spot!”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We travelled to the Sanderling Beach House from Ontario in August. What an amazing week! The house was even more spacious than it appeared in the photos, with a beautiful beach theme running throughout. The kitchen is extremely well equipped, and the layout provides a beautiful view of the beach from just about every spot in the house.
The white sand beach is gorgeous, clean and so quiet. It almost felt like we were on a private beach. We would 100% recommend this property to anyone considering it. The fact that we had three teenagers who never once missed being "connected" due to lack of WiFi or television speaks volumes!!
Thank you John and Helen.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barns696
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday house”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Sanderling Beach house is perfect, just as it is described. It's furnished and equipped to a very high standard and has everything you could need, a real home from home (except this home sits on the very edge of the perfect beach!). I can't recommend this beach house highly enough, we had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWard77
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Can't say enough about how wonderful this property is! Family Friendly, well equipped, comfy beds, and one of the best beaches around. Our boys (aged 6 & 9) made good use of all the beach toys provided, flew kites, played soccer, and barely touched their iPods once.

Sanderling Beach House is a real gem and our week in Nova Scotia was amazing! We can't wait to go back and would highly recomend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmine A
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great house, great beach”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My family, including kids aged 2-11, spent a week at this lovely beach house. The house was well appointed with all the amenities we needed. The owners have done a wonderful job creating a beautiful home that is very comfortable and welcoming. It might just be the perfect beach house.

Even lovelier than the house, though, was the location, which is every bit as spectacular as the pictures suggest. We spent hours combing the beach, building sand castles and enjoying the view and the sounds of the ocean. It was great for our kids to disconnect from screens for a while. They didn't even miss them! Our cell phone reception was spotty, but after some initial separation anxiety from our blackberries, it was nice to really decompress!

We explored Shelburne (lovely) and Liverpool (also interesting, though next time I'd skip the Rossignol Cultural Centre). The owners left some information about local restaurants and while we didn't try them all, we did like the ones we went to, and in particular, Charlotte Lane in Shelburne.

All in all, a great week in a beautiful home on a spectacular beach!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The water system even on cold water was stained a few of our light clothes.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2017
Thank you for sharing your experience at Sanderling Beach House. It really is a gem!

All the best,
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildrover...
Esher, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“... and relax! The beach house of dreams.”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to have a one mile sandy beach virtually to oneself then this is the beach house for you. Once the rough track from the road has been negotiated the peace and remoteness of the house comes into it s own. Don't stay if you want TV and Wi-Fi; this is a place to relax, stroll down your own boardwalk to the shore, paddle in the tea-brown waters where the sea mixes with Sable river estuary, beach comb for sand dollars, listen to the siffling of the piping plovers.

Comfortable beds and sofas enable relaxation inside the house too; put on some coffee, pull up an Adirondack chair and watch the cormorants fishing offshore. There is good food and drink in Shelburne and Lockeport and lovely places to visit along the South Shore. Quite pricy for just two but would be good value if filled with a young family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beach location
Liked least: long unmade track to the house
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2017
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. You summed up the house perfectly. Thanks!
All the best,
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing