We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Healthy eating”
Review of Arkansas House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arkansas House
Ranked #1 of 4 Jasper B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Healthy eating”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

If organic, locally sourced food is what you are looking, Arkansas House is the place to eat. Great food and friendly service. Limited menu, but what they serve is excellent. Buffalo and elk burgers are delicious. We stop here for lunch every time we come through Jasper. Have never been disappointed. They also have awesome desserts. Try the black walnut pie.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank _bill_bea_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

the cabin on the river is more of a house with a giant kitchen, deck, bubble bath and three communicating rooms. it's unique and different - think granny's house. we ordered some food and they delivered it to the cabin. it was homemade and fresh and local - some items might feel overpriced though.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleonore V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabernash, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were first in the house on the river shown in the website. Then we were moved to the "overflow" house since we only wanted one night.
When you hear "overflow".... think toilet. Originally a 3 room shanty house with a trailer attached & unified.
The one bathroom is accessed going through a "bedroom" . Kitchen is minimal & the coffee pot makes 2 cups. If you have questions, we can furnish pictures...

Room Tip: If "overflow" house is mentioned...think toilet & say "no thank you".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtnme2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our third time to stay in the Garden Suite at the Arkansas House. We also stayed in the river house once. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. The AC works very well, which is important in Arkansas in the summer. The bed is comfortable and the room has a jacuzzi tub. The Arkansas House is on Highway 7 but we have never had any trouble sleeping, the highway doesn't seem to be very busy at night. The rates are higher than the two little motels in Jasper but lower than renting a cabin. We have always had a pleasant experience here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richkat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toano, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

we stayed in the back house and were very surprised how well it was stocked. Sleeping 8 was no problem the only possible complaint I would have is that it only has 1 bathroom. Other than that, the house was well suited for what we wanted.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flagg32874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Arkansas house for a family reunion for the weekend. We stayed in the honeymoon suite. It was the cleanest place. The owner was very kind and he was waiting for us, knew our name from the reservation, which was such a nice gesture. The room was decorated in an old fashion theme which gave it a unique feel, much different than our modern places to stay. There is a restaurant attached which we didn't get to eat at but the menu has some great options, the place is quiet and the grounds are kept tidy. If our family reunion is held here again, we will be returning to the Arkansas house. I was fully pleased and had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
481 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Every time we go to the Buffalo River we have to come here to eat. They have great healthy food and it is delicious as well. You will not be sorry if you include this place to eat in your plans when visiting this beautiful part of Arkansas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 46749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper
16.0 mi away
Hotel Seville
Hotel Seville
#2 of 7 in Harrison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
#1 of 7 in Harrison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
17.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 7 in Harrison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Days Inn Harrison
Days Inn Harrison
#6 of 7 in Harrison
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrison
15.7 mi away
Queen Anne House
Queen Anne House
#1 of 6 in Harrison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkansas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkansas House

Property: Arkansas House
Address: 215 East Court St, Jasper, AR 72641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Jasper
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arkansas House Inn, Cabin and organic and wild food cafe' is the landmark resort in the upper Buffalo River national park. For those interested in lodging in classic Ozark architecture along with local, wild and organic food, this is a must stay property. Located on the banks of the Little Buffalo river, this 82-year old masterpiece of masonry is the place for climbers, hikers, floaters and other outdoorsmen and women, and people who want to just drive around to see the beauty of the mountains, enjoy watching our wild elk herd, and enjoy a great meal at our nationally-famous cafe'. Our cabin rents for 125-150 per nite, our suites are 85-99, our rooms 70-100. We even have a salon on site to pamper you after your outdoor adventure in the highest mountains between the Rockies and Smokies, the Artic & Arkansas River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing