We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
109
6
1
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
6
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock climbing zip line via ferrata horseback riding the barn something for everyone canoe trip goat family vacation horseshoe canyon extended family a lot of fun year old son kids program feel like family river swim target shooting
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 119 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2015

Our first visit to HCR in 2013 was so good that we came back again in 2014, this time in the fall. Same as before: cozy cabins, great food, wonderful people, and the best activities anywhere. For us, the rock climbing is the major attraction, and HCR is definitely a premier destination. If you're looking for moderate, well bolted sport climbing there is nothing else like it. Combine that with the ranch and it's a family vacation that can't be beat! We're already discussing dates for a 2015 return trip.

Room tip: The cabin are all about the same, but some are a longer walk to the dining area.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2015

I had been to a ranch and texas with our family. We wanted more of a mountain ranch experience. Horseshoe Canyon Ranch was perfect! The horseback riding, the food, the people-all great. The rock climbing was an unexpected bonus. We could not have had more fun!

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2014

Family vacation in August 2014. Kids ages (11-boy, 11-boy, 12-girl, 15-girl). We all had such a wonderful time at HCR!!! The kids even said it was "better than Disneyworld". The ranch is absolutely gorgeous. Loved that our kids disconnected for a week...no gadgets...just outdoors and fresh air. They were all challenged with the rock climbing but never gave up...I was stunned at how they all pushed themselves. We climbed every day and we all gained an appreciation for the sport....so cool. We also loved having our own horse for the week. The kids got attached and really enjoyed our daily rides. Dad got in a couple trail runs and the kids got in a "Critter Hunt" one night. We also built a fire and roasted marshmallows one night which was a lot of fun. The whole family had a blast (even our teenager) and can't wait to visit again.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2014

My wife, daughter (age 12) and son (age 9) visited the ranch in June 2014. The activities were top notch! Not just horseback riding, but canoeing on the Buffalo River, and rock climbing (loved the Via Ferratas! But a bit scary!). Some great family memories made!

Room tip: All the cabins are the same.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2014

My two granddaughters, 12 and 15, and I had a spectacular time at Horseshoe Canyon Ranch. During our week, families, single parents with children, grandparents with grandchildren were present, and the age range of the kids was roughly 4 - 18. By the end of the week, we were all in a love-fest of goodbyes and promises to stay in touch. My kids declared this the best vacation ever, and each year, we do something different. We've done beach trips, swimming with the Manatees, cruise, vacation rental, but this was THE best. Horseback riding, cliff climbing, zip-lining, boulder maneuvering, tightrope walking, screamer swinging, tomahawk throwing, bow-and-arrow shooting, pistol shooting, critter hunting-- all in one packed week. We had two cookouts and the rest, family style meals in the lodge. Our cabin was rustic and comfortable and we loved the front porch. (The stairs are a bit treacherous, so be careful.) But the best of the best here is the ambience, all made perfect by the owners and the staff. This place turns over a crowd every week, but you don't "feel" that way. You feel special, like you're the most important person on the ranch, and staff do everything possible to make your stay perfect. They encourage you to go beyond your comfort zone, they're watchful and protective, they are kind and funny, they even discipline when necessary. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Room tip: Try to get a cabin near the lodge, simply because you walk a lot!
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nolacarol2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews