We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome week!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horseshoe Canyon Ranch
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome week!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent last week at the ranch and had a terrific time. Watching our son try so many new activities was really rewarding, especially when that success was worked towards and wasn't always instant for him. The staff really took a caring, calm approach to teach him. They had a confident control that allowed them to modify things, silence well-meaning extra coaches, and help him focus on their instructions. Since they work with a mixed group of abilities and ages, I was really impressed by the way the staff brilliantly adapted to the variety of situations. When you read so many positive reviews praising the staff here, they are truly spot on! The owners were gone the week we were there, but the staff didn't seem to miss a beat.

Our cabin was one of the duplex types near the lodge, and the queen and twin beds were side by side. There was ample space, but from other posted pictures, I had envisioned a little more privacy for the parent's room. The housekeeping service provided clean towels only, so I wished I had some Clorox wipes for touch ups in the bathroom and kitchenette sink.

The food was delicious and I appreciated not having to think/plan/cook/prepare meals at all during the week. The HCR website mentions that dinners are served at the table, but all of ours were buffet style except one. Our son only sat with us the first day at mealtime--most of the kids sat together and seemed to really like that arrangement.

The canoe trip on the Buffalo river was awesome, as was the swim trip there on Saturday afternoon. We participated in an activity (rock climbing, repelling, zip lines, horseback riding, shooting, Via Ferrata, etc) at every session and I thought their pacing was perfect...busy, but not rushed. The two cook-out meals after a horseback ride to the location were great too! The Screamer was out-of-order while we were there.

Don't hesitate to book the whole week here! You won't want to miss of their offerings by only staying 3 days in the summer.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the lodge which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank broncotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, IL
Level Contributor
204 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Imagine light gray, rocky bluffs nestled among lust green trees while horses serenely graze right before your eyes. No, you're not in heaven, you're sitting on the porch of your cabin at Horseshoe Canyon Ranch near Jasper Arkansas.

Space doesn't allow for the all the superlatives we could use to describe this unspoiled guest/dude ranch and surrounding area in north west Arkansas. For starters, the canoe trip on the pristine water of the Buffalo River was breathtaking!

Our family of 10 had originally looked at dude ranches in Colorado and Wyoming to celebrate our 40th.(wedding) Anniversary vacation. The lower price (about half) and much wider range of activities (rock climbing, repelling, Via Ferrata (we didn't know what it was either!!), zip line, canoeing, swimming and a baby sitting service, drew us to HCR. When a vacation can satisfy a family ranging from 10 months to 63 years, it is a grand vacation. If you are looking to entertain your children and grandchildren, take them to Disney World, if you want to build a lifetime memory, take them to Horseshoe Canyon Ranch!

The Barry Johnson family (hands on owners) and staff are truly dedicated to making this family or group experience, unforgettable. Businessmen and women, this is the ideal spot for a team building experience.

The cabins are clean, comfortable and have AC, YES!! The staff goes out of their way to make sure each guest, regardless of age, has a safe and unforgettable experience. The food is outstanding and the staff sit at the tables with the guests. The entire stay is very family oriented.

Important Tip: The week begins with breakfast at 8:30 Monday morning. Orientation, meeting the staff, and your horse is at 9 AM Monday morning, Be There!! We knew that the week ended at 10 AM on Sunday but we didn't read and weren't told that the week long stay begins Monday morning. The best case senerio is to pay to stay on Sunday evening and to be ready for Monday morning.

We employed an area (Fayetteville) professional photographer and rock climber, Cole Fennel and his wife Mary to take family group photos on Friday evening. After the photo shoot we reviewed the pictures in the dining room. The picture selected was of our complete family walking through the tall grass near the front gate. Each one of us had on a HCR t-shirt for the picture. My wife clenched it when she said, "That picture makes me happy".

To the Barry Johnson family and great staff we say, "Thank you for making us all, very happy"!

Room Tip: The lower cabins (same level as main lodge) are best, so book early. We arranged our June 2013 stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara and Dav... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We chose this ranch based off the reviews on this page -- and I am so very glad that we did. Our time at HCR has been deemed by our family as the "Best Vacation Ever!" I don't even know where to begin -- everything was terrific, from the staff to the activities, to the location to the food -- everything exceeded our expectations and when it was time for us to leave we were so sad! Let me start by saying that if you have the opportunity to stay the entire week, do it -- we only stayed for a half-week and we were really regretting it the day we left. There was so much left that we wanted to do, things we wanted to do again, and we are already planning our next trip for the spring and we are staying the full week. The cabins were cozy, clean, and simple and had everything we needed - though we were barely there because we were so busy!

The best thing about this ranch is that it is SO MUCH MORE than a horse ranch! We were constantly moving, doing so many fun activities, it was amazing. From trail rides to rock climbing, archery, shooting, the awesome canoe trip with Jason and Bryan down the Buffalo River, the Via Ferrata (a family favorite), zip line, the fun activities in the barn, the list goes on. You will not be bored here, I promise you that! Everything is organized well, and the schedule allows you to do whatever you like -- the days are full and fun -- by the time our heads hit the pillow at night we were out, but we were up and raring to go in the mornings.

The food -- wonderful -- the kitchen staff is really great -- they are friendly and they are talented. Homemade chicken strips were phenomenal, burgers were fantastic, and the dinners were great -- especially the pork loin. The meals are well put together with lots of choices and I loved the salad bar. Desserts were great and the cookies, oh my - they are available all day in the lodge, along with snacks and iced tea and lemonade.

The staff -- I can't say enough about the people here. Everyone was friendly and warm, everyone was knowledgeable in their area, and everyone went above and beyond for the guests. Top-notch folks who really take care of you and treat you like friends. Special thanks to the owner, Barry, who also went above and beyond for us (along with Jason, Cody, Morgan and Bryan), making sure that ours and another family had a chance to do an activity we didn't want to miss because we were leaving mid week. They went out of their way to put together an additional outing and when that ran late, Barry made sure the kitchen was aware that we would all be late for dinner (including him and the staff that worked extra to be with us!) We were blown away by the care and effort they took to make sure we had a great experience and we thank them all for making our trip that much better. This group has teamwork down to a tee -- and it is immensely obvious that they love what they do!

If you go, and you must if you have the opportunity, be sure to take the canoe trip down the Buffalo River - it is breathtaking scenery and a really fun day. We also loved the trail ride to a breakfast cookout and Goat Cave. Our favorite activity by far was the Via Ferrata (rock climbing).

I could go on forever -- but I'll end it by saying JUST GO -- you will not regret it! Our family cannot wait to return in 2014 :)

Room Tip: All of the cabins were lovely, but some are further from the main meeting area (the lodge) and are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Horseshoe Canyon Ranch was a fantastic week long vacation experience. The ranch offers diverse activities which kept our family busy. There are at least two adventure activities each day like rock climbing, zip lines, repelling, swimming (both pool and Buffalo River) and a canoe trip. There are also at least two horse activities each day with special rides to breakfast or dinner or a 3 hour ride at various times during the week. Activities such as rifle shooting, pistol shooting, tomahawk throwing, archery, milk crate contest, campfire, skeet shooting, and movie night kept the whole family busy. In case that is not enough the ranch has a barn loft with an indoor basketball court, cave simulator and rock walls.

The staff was great. Scott and his wranglers were patient with the kids teaching them how to handle a horse. Shannon was especially sweet. Jason and Morgan were both fantastic adventure guides. Jason lead us to try things that we did not think were possible and they were done in a safe and comfortable manner. Morgan was exceptional helping my eight year old daughter climb. Both of them have a great energy level which makes the activity even more enjoyable. Communication of the planned activities was good with a short briefing after each meal on what we could choose to do.

The food was good and they were able to accommodate another guest with special diet needs. Meals were filling and the kids liked what was cooked. Cookies, fruit, granola bars, tea, water and lemonade were always available in the lodge.

The guest cabin was great for a family. A queen size bed in its own room for the parents and a loft with four single beds for the kids. Walking up the hill up to the cabins lets you get some exercise.

Not all members of our family are horse lovers or a climbing experts but the ranch has so much to offer that there was never dull moment. Overall a great experience and we are looking forward to a second trip in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin at the bottom of the hill. Some cabins are side by side. Ask if one of the single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jandnsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at Horseshoe Canyon Ranch! It is difficult to say enough good things about this place. We took the opportunity to do all the different activities the ranch has to offer, including horseback riding, canoeing, rock climbing, swimming, hiking, and zip lining. All the activities were thoughtfully planned, expertly organized, and professionally executed. Don't let the laid back attitude of the staff fool you, they are ready to let you have a GREAT vacation experience. Speaking of the staff they are wonderful, work very hard, and work well as a team. There was a new cook during the week we stayed, we immensely enjoyed all the food that was prepared for us.
One piece of advice, turn up on Sunday evening and plan to stay til Sunday morning, you won't regret a minute of your stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docdic18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

HCR is outstanding! Friendly, warm staff treats you like family. Plenty to do and staff maintains a safe environment while allowing for lots of adventure. There was no TV in the cabin but free wifi and plenty of games in the lodge, along with numerous things to do outdoors - playground, swimming, zip lining, the cave simulator, rock climbing, horseback riding, etc... Activities are available for all skill levels - beginners to more advanced - so there is truly something for all to do. We are definately planning on returning as soon as our schedule allows - would highly, highly recommend! This is a great place to spend some quality time with the family and enjoy the beautiful Ozark outdoors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkiemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We just returned from our vacation at HCR and had an incredible time. We went with my eight year old daughter and she was able to experience a myriad of "firsts" - first time shooting a .22 Rifle, .22 Pistol, Archery, Tomahawk Throw, Rock Climb, Zip Line. Add to that many horseback rides and it was a full week packed with great activities. The staff is fantastic, as apparent by the fact that my daughter who was terrified to try all of the aforementioned activities (horseback riding excluded) tried them all and loved them. The staff has a great way of interacting with customers of all ages and experience levels and they make you feel special from the moment you arrive. I can't wait to go back in the future with extended family members and highly recommend Horseshoe Canyon Ranch to anybody who is either looking for quality time with their family or to try new experiences.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_kuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper
18.8 mi away
Hotel Seville
Hotel Seville
#2 of 7 in Harrison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
#1 of 7 in Harrison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
19.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 7 in Harrison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrison
19.9 mi away
Super 8 Harrison AR
Super 8 Harrison AR
#5 of 7 in Harrison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Canyon Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Canyon Ranch

Property: Horseshoe Canyon Ranch
Address: HC 70, Jasper, AR 72641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Jasper
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Canyon Ranch Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing