We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So amazing, we will return!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horseshoe Canyon Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horseshoe Canyon Ranch
Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So amazing, we will return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We are a family of 7 who has to squeeze in travel between the schedule of five children ages 5-14 and the HCR staff was great at accommodating our shifting schedule needs. First looking out west for a dude ranch, we chose HCR for its competitive rates. We were truly surprised to find all of the activities that were included in the price outside of the horseback riding. The first day, our family did all of the daily events together. We quickly felt comfortable enough with the professional, safety-minded HCR staff that by the second day, we allowed the children to choose their daily activities even if we, as parents, chose something different. We truly enjoyed the family feel of HCR and enjoyed getting to know the owners and staff. Beyond the horses, our children's favorites were the via feratta routes, the pool, the lodge, the theater room, and the afternoon homemade snacks!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailss_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Friends visited Horseshoe Canyon Ranch a year ago and told us it was the best vacation they had every taken. When ski season proved disappointing this year we decided to change plans at the last minute and were happy that they had vacancies.

We arrived on a Monday afternoon, which is a day late for their weeklong stays and thereby missed orientation. This left us feeling a little aimless until dinnertime. At dinner we claimed a table and were joined by the owners who were extremely friendly and welcoming. At the evening campfire/marshmellow roast other staff members were extremely friendly and filled us in on what we would need to know for the following morning.

I was traveling with my two 12-year-old boys and my 9-year-old daughter. We split up our days, horseback riding in the mornings and climbing in the afternoons. By the end of day 2 my kids were asking when we could come back to the ranch.

Meals are served family style and by the second day the kids had found friends to sit with and I joined other adults. The food is very tasty, although you don't have choices, so there may be nights that you need to make due with the salad and side dishes. The ranch is located in a dry county, so no alcohol is served, but there is no objection to bringing your own.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brinagu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We booked HSC because we wanted our family of four (Mom, Dad, 12-year-old son and 9-year-old daughter) to enjoy hiking and horseback riding in the great outdoors.

What we didn't expect, but found utterly enchanting...

1. Excursions. Every minute of every day offered optional activities for everyone in the family.
2. Rock climbing - we didn't come for the rock climbing, but when gently exposed by a patient and safety-conscious staff, our entire family became addicts. Whether traditional rock climbing or zip lines or Via Ferrata - we loved it all. What an unexpected pleasure.
3. Newfound friends. We didn't have to socialize, but we couldn't help it. Our kids made friends and so did we. We ate together, climbed together laughed together, and exchanged email addresses so we could remain in touch afterwards. The ranch is small enough to allow everyone there to get to know each other if you so choose, and private enough to be a hermit in your cabin if that's what you're after.
4. Horseback riding for the whole family. Whether you are a beginner or an avid rider, there is something here for you. We were all beginners, but soon found ourselves trotting and galloping and riding beneath the stars and taking long rides through beautiful valleys.
5. Great food. We never had to think about meals. The cook needs a raise! Every meal was on time, home-cooked, and scrumptious.
6. First-rate staff. The guys/gals who led us on horseback, helped us learn how to rock climb, ate with us during meals, and played with us in the barn during evenings, were all safety-consscious with our children and never complained despite long days of serving others. Timber, Lydia, Jason, Morgan - how we miss you!
7. Hands-on owners. We had a chance to see and talk to the ranch owners every day. They and their children were on-site to be a part of the activities and get to know their guests by name.
8. It doesn't matter what I say here - our children both ended the week with, "Dad, we have to come back next year. This was the greatest vacation ever."

I can't say enough about HSC. I've never written a review for Trip Advisor before, but couldn't help it when it came to this trip. It was a memorable event for the entire family.

Room Tip: Cabins typically offer a downstairs private bedroom for the parents and an upstairs loft with 2-3 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

I want to start out by saying that I travel with my children a few times each year and go on adventures. I had really high hopes for the ranch. We were there from Thursday to Sunday. When we got there no one tells you whats going on, and I finally got information from another guest. Pros of the ranch, was the food and scenery, the cook is amazing. Also the cabins are really nice. Cons of the ranch, are as followed: 1st, Do not go expecting to ride horses for more than a hour in morning and about 30 minutes in the afternoon, and I realize the horses need breaks, but dont advertise the main activity as riding horses, this was the biggest disappointment. They have morning activity at 930, you are done at 1030, and have NOTHING to do until 230, then again done at 315, and MAYBE have a night time "adventure". My boys are 9 and 11, maybe this place is suited for younger children. My boys had good horses, but mine were not. 1st horse someone had already "claimed", so with the women whinning to the wranglers she got "her" horse back. 2nd horse, kick the horse behind him in the face, and bite the horse in front of him, he was out of controll. 3rd horse was not any better, and I do have experence with horses, but I do not want to fight the horse they assigned to me the whole time on the trail. I found most of the owners and employees unfriendly and difficult to talk too. I really dont know how they have such good reviews, and that's why I deciced to write a honest review. So if you want to be bored out of your mind, then go.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank crystalg2779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1horseshoe, Owner at Horseshoe Canyon Ranch, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Our family and staff make every effort to be friendly and helpful to all of our guests. We enjoy what we do and sincerely love getting to know the families that come here and vacation with us. Our rides are typically about an hour in the morning and again in the afternoon. We don’t even offer a 30 min ride. We do however offer a 3 hour ride on Fri in addition to a Ranch ride more suited to beginners and multiple “experienced only” rides throughout the week. We have never had anyone tell us (and still haven’t while they are here) there is not enough to do. Rock Climbing, Canoeing, Zip-lining, and shooting are just some of the activities offered on a daily basis. In addition if someone wants to ride more, we take them out for additional or longer rides…most beginners or even experienced riders are ready for a break after an hour or two. We try to match people with the correct horse, which sometimes necessitates a change. Horses, like people, have personalities of their own. We have miles of trails, swimming pool, hot tub, and numerous places to explore and enjoy the outdoors with your family. This is your Vacation- you can do as much or as little as you like. We will do everything we can to make sure you have a great time…if you have a request and your capabilities and experience fit your request we are flexible enough and certainly willing to accommodate-just let us know. The Johnson Family and HCR Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We only spent the day at Horseshoe and went rock climbing. There are a ton of routes to choose from and I also believe varying levels of hardness. Overall the place was nice and I look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flounder08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Our first trip to Horseshoe Canyon Ranch was August of 2009 for a 3 day stay. We immediately began talking about a return trip that would last the entire week in 2011. We loved our week long stay at the ranch. There were 2 other families and it was wonderful to share the experience with others. During our last visit, in 2009, there was only one other guest. The week long stay at the Ranch is better, in my opinion, because you have more time to try everything and still take breaks. During our 3 day stay in 2009, we felt the need to do everything and wore ourselves out! The food is great and the cabins are comfy. Bring lots of books for your downtime. My favorite moments are early in the morning with a good book, a warm cup of coffee, watching the wranglers bring in the horses and watching the sun come up.

Room Tip: Stay the Week!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMLeBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Grandma and Grandpa took their two daughters and their families ( six adults and five children ages 4 to 13) .to the ranch for a week and loved every minute of it. We all took part in the many activities from rock climbing, zip lines, frisbe golf and of course the trail rides, and every one of us had an exhilerating and fun experience. The staff was experienced, patient, and very friendly. Food and accomodations couldn't have been better. Everyone wants to return............

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper
18.8 mi away
Hotel Seville
Hotel Seville
#2 of 7 in Harrison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
#1 of 7 in Harrison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
19.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Canyon Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Canyon Ranch

Property: Horseshoe Canyon Ranch
Address: HC 70, Jasper, AR 72641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Jasper
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Canyon Ranch Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing