We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only wonderful things to say........”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lindry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Bichonniere - Chambres d'Hotes
Ranked #1 of 3 Lindry B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2014

La Bichionniere Chambres d'Hotes, just outside of Auxerre, Burgundy, is a place that beckons our return! It is a peaceful, and gorgeous B&B, with the most important quality to us.,....wonderful, helpful, interesting and interested hosts. Julia and Stephane go out of their way to know you and to make sure you have everything you need. They are a delight, as are their fascinating and absolutely beautiful home, excellent breakfasts and very clean and comfortable rooms. You could never leave the premises and have a relaxing and enjoyable time. But, short drives away, there are so many fantastic places, such as Vezelay, Grottes d'Arcy, and Guedelon, to visit and explore, making La Bichonnierre a terrific home base. You will be sad to leave this highly recommended B&B! When in France again, we will most certainly return to La Bichionnere, and our friends, Julia and Stephane.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 42travelheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labichonniere, Propriétaire at La Bichonniere - Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear friends,

We will keep the door open if and when you want to come back.

It was a real pleasure to welcome you and chat with you during the morning breakfasts. If ever we are nearby California we will allow ourselves to give you a phone call and will pass by to say hello.

Thank you for the nice review you left, it is highly appreciated. :)

Best and kind regards from both of us to both of you.

Do take care of youselves ...

Steph & Ju

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 132 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

To say that we loved staying at La Bichonniere would be understating how we felt. The house and grounds are amazing. Our room was really nice -- 2 levels and very comfortable. It was one of the highlights of our trip. Julia and Stephane were wonderful hosts and I would eagerly recommend staying with them if you have the opportunity. Our only complaint was that we couldn't stay there longer.

Room Tip: I loved the room in the tower. It was interesting and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredilev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labichonniere, Propriétaire at La Bichonniere - Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear guests,

Julia and I thank you very much for your nice review and hope you are safe back in Chicago.
If ever you come back in our country and decide to come towards Auxerre, do not hesitate to knock our door, we will be very pleased to welcome you again.

Wishing you a beautiful and peaceful end of summer

With our best and cordial regards

Stéphane and Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were traveling with another couple in France and our first destination was La Bichonniere. It was a fantastic start to a wonderful vacation. Julia and Stephane are wonderful hosts and very helpful in recommending restaurants for dinner and planning day trips in the area. Breakfasts were great with lots of wonderful homemade jams & jellies. The B&B is very clean and beautifully furnished. Rooms are good size, comfortable and quiet. The setting is peaceful and the surrounding towns are great to explore.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labichonniere, Propriétaire at La Bichonniere - Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear traveler, dear guest.

Thank you for stopping in our B&B and having chosen it to start your trip in France.
Thank you also for leaving such a nice review on Trip Advisor.
It was a real pleasure to welcome you and Julia and I are looking forward to the moment we'll meet again. Either here or in the States.

Wishing you a lovely 4th of July with our best and cordial regards

Stéphane & Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

By far the best B&B of our two weeks in France. The only problem I can think of is that Trip Advisor only goes to five stars.
Julia and Stephane are a charming couple who go out of their way to make you feel at home. Lots of great advice and help with problems. Like most reviewers the shame is that we only used La Bichonnierre as a one night stop over on the way to a much less enjoyable town in Normandy.
A most beautiful building with clean and beautiful rooms. I give even the stairs about 9/10 on the "70 year old with luggage" scale. Wide and not too steep.
Julia's breakfasts are great with a wide selection of home made jams. Just perfect.
Very easy to get to the beautiful Auxerre which gives lots of free parking and lots of places for fine food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labichonniere, Propriétaire at La Bichonniere - Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Whaouuuuu !
This is so nice that it is difficult to comment this review.

Thank you a thousand times for the nice words you left and for the comments you made.
We hope you arrived back safely to the "kangaroo land" with your beautiful family. It was a real pleasure to welcome you all.

Do not hesitate to contact us again if you want to come back or if you simply want to keep in touch.

Best and cordial regards

Stéphane & Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our stay at La Bichonniere was fantastic a beautiful house in beautiful peaceful surroundings. The room in which we stayed was very comfortable and as the rest of the house tastefully decorated with antique furniture and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were great. Julia and stephane are the perfect hosts friendly and very help full and recommended some fantastic places to see and restaurants to eat at We would recommend a stay at La Bichonniere and we would love to return again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labichonniere, Propriétaire at La Bichonniere - Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Caroline & Tony,

Thank you so much for letting other people what you think about La Bichonnière. It was very nice to have you with us and will be very happy to welcome you again.
We hope you had a very nice trip back to UK and wish you a beautiful summer.

Looking forward to hearing from you again.

All the best to you both

With warm regards

Stéphane & Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We began to correspond with Stephane and Julia several months before our trip. They gave us much information ( trains, etc.) to come from Paris and then gave us recommendations to rent a car ......we had never rented or driven in France before!
Stephane met us at the train station and we followed him to La Bichonniere. When we turned down the tree lined road to their beautiful home we knew we had made a good choice !

Our room: Perfect ! Large, comfortable bed, great bathtub.
Breakfast: Wonderful....always chatted with Stephane and Julia about our daily driving plan and highlites in the area....followed their advice.

We started our France trip with them ( after an not OK hotel in Paris) and just relaxed and enjoyed their company. We very highly recommend their B and B.

We just returned yesterday after 43 days traveling thru 4 countries and would put our time with them at the top of our travels!

Room Tip: All beautiful.....some more oriented to families.......good, accurate descriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank columbiariver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labichonniere, Propriétaire at La Bichonniere - Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear L & C,

Thank you so much for this beautiful review. It was a real pleasure to welcome you and share with you those precious moments.
We are very glad that you made it back safe to your home and hope we can keep in touch with you.
Apparently everything went OK with your boat trip and the following days. If you want you can let us know about it through our private mail and maybe send us some pictures. We would be delighted to look at them.
We wish you all what is possible to wish to new friends and hope that you will not forget us.

With our warm and best regards

Stéphane & Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

A treat beyond our expectations. Julia and Stephane have created a truly charming B&B in their beautiful home. Tasteful, comfortable room had old beams and a very modern bathroom. Elegantly informal and friendly environment. Gorgeous tree-lined driveway and garden setting. Breakfast table had every kind of delicious preserves. We were on a one-night timetable, but wish we'd had three nights to stay there. Very reasonable. We arranged all through email, which was very easy.

Auxerre riverfront is a 15 minute drive. Plenty in the area. We were on our way to Guedelon Castle, a new castle being built in exactly the way it would have been done in medieval times. It was fantastic to see the authentic methods. Just 40 minutes from La Bichonniere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinchbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labichonniere, Propriétaire at La Bichonniere - Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Good evening and thank you for this delightful review. I cannot imagine how it would have been if you'd stayed 3 nights :-)

We had very much pleasure in welcoming you and hope that whenever you'll decide to come back in the area you will have the good idea to contact us again.

Wishing you a very pleasant summer we'll be looking forward to hear from you.

With our best and cordial regards

Stéphane & Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindry
5.7 mi away
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
#1 of 21 in Auxerre
350 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ibis Auxerre Centre
Ibis Auxerre Centre
#2 of 21 in Auxerre
527 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mercure Auxerre
Mercure Auxerre
#1 of 3 in Appoigny
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Kyriad Auxerre - Appoigny
16.6 mi away
L'Hostellerie des Clos
L'Hostellerie des Clos
#1 of 4 in Chablis
562 reviews
5.8 mi away
Le Relais des Saints Peres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bichonniere - Chambres d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bichonniere - Chambres d'Hotes

Address: 37 Rue de Charbuy | Les Houches, 89240 Lindry, Auxerre, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Auxerre > Lindry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lindry
Price Range: $83 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family house for more than 50 years, invisible from the road, La Bichonniere is an old farm full of charm built early XIXth sitting in a park of 2ha, located at the edge of Les Houches at 12 kilometers from Auxerre, one and a half hour from Paris. You will be welcomed by Stephan and Julia and will appreciate the spaces at your disposal. In the house you will find 5 refined rooms (2/3 persons) including 1 double (4/5 persons) with showers or privative bath and WC and spaces at your disposal all decorated with simplicity, delicacy and elegance. A large living room with its two fire places, the small "salon" for games and reading space, the music corner (piano and other instruments), the summer and winter dining rooms , the Internet room (wifi) , the large terrace and the beautiful park are all waiting for you. On the premises a shaded carpark and a covered garage wait for your vehicle. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing