We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yuck!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Mexicana

Casa Mexicana
Ranked #30 of 48 Restaurants in Heber Springs
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican, Chinese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We received the basket of chips and free salsa, and we're looking over the menu. We had eaten several chips, when my husband found one with cheese dip on it.. And a bite taken out.. We did NOT have cheese dip. I spit the chip I had in my mouth out and we almost left right then, we watched VERY carefully as we finished our meal. VERY DISAPPOINTED. This used to be my husbands favorite restaurant. We will never go here again, if they're so cheap they recycle used chips, what else do they do....?

Helpful?
Thank Seafoodlover4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I just bought a vacation home in Greers Ferry and were excited to see a Mexican restaurant so close. Unfortunately, it was rather disappointing. The rice was rather bland and the tacos didn't have much flavor either.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanOMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
569 reviews
464 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Disappointed After Reading Reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We agree with the last reviewer, heard it was good and was especially attracted since I like Chinese and wife likes Mexican. Food was really no big deal.Crispy shrimp was nothing more than shrimp fried in egg batter. Can get that anywhere. I was really put off when they brought out my soup AFTER the main course WTF?? Wife enjoyed her chimichonga.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luvglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
344 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Disappointed after a local told us it was a great place to eat”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I were in Heber Springs for a night and at a service station asked a person where to eat (there is not a lot of choices in this town). The lady recommended this restaurant and said it was the best in town. If this was the best, I don't want to eat at the worst! My wife had cashew chicken and I had beef fajitas. The restaurant sign and description doesn't mention it is both Mexican and Chinese. My beef was overcooked and the service was barely so so. I would never return to this restaurant. I would rather go to a grocery store (if there is one in the area) and buy frozen dinners.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank norme-ormond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingen, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Fortunatly, I was able to eat in Casa Mexicana once during my exchange!
The food is as delicious as nothing else is. Honestly, it was the best Mexican food I was ever able to try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Mexicana also viewed

 
Heber Springs, AR
Heber Springs, AR
 

Been to Casa Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing