We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of River Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heber Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Hideaway
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Stayed in the Brown Trout Cottage. It was small, but cute. It was right on the river with a nice dock for fishing. The down side: it was not clean. There was a layer of dust on just about everything. It wasn't so bad that we felt we couldn't stand it, but I did spend some time trying to clean a little before I could feel comfortable in the space. Some of the plates we pulled from the cabinet had food on them and I had to wash everything before using it. The trash cans had Walmart bags instead of trash bags. I have nothing against recycling grocery bags, but the can in the kitchen filled rather quickly and I didn't see anything to replace the full bag. Also, the trash can out by the deck and the one down at the dock were both overflowing. There is no telling when it was last emptied.
Also, we had brought some cupcakes and left them out on the counter - in a closed paper box. We went to dinner and when we came back, the box and all the cupcakes were covered in ants. Yes, I should have put them in the fridge. But, who would have thought that would happen in such a short time? I live in the country and I know about bugs, but we spray for them and it keeps them at bay and outside most of the time. We were killing ants for the next two days.

I won't be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank redbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2009

This review is about the "romance suites" upstairs in the Log Cabin Lodge - the Eagles Nest and Robin's Roost. NOT the cabins by the river. This is the new lodge as advertised on the website.

THE GOOD THINGS - nicely decorated. Large bathroom with top of the line spa tub, nice soaps and candles. Lots of towels. Decent sized mini fridge. Well appointed kitchenette with applicances, dishes, etc. Free WiFi and satellite TV.

THE NOT SO GOOD THINGS - When we walked in the door it was summer and the air conditioning was not turned on and the room was blazing hot. The next thing we noticed was that the cleaning lady left a tip envelope on the counter in prominent view. However, the counter was sticky, there were used coffee grounds in the coffee pot, we had to clean several spots of dried food off the stove top and there was lots of dust and hair under the kitchen table, next to the bed and on the bathroom vanity. Don't go by the rates on the website - there is an extra surcharge that you might not notice until you get your credit card statement. Also you are not provided with a paper receipt of any sort.

THE MAY OR MAY NOT MATTER TO YOU THINGS - there is no place (like a closet) to hang your clothes, just a chest of drawers. Ditto for hanging (and drying out) towels - just a small decorative wall piece with hooks. No ventilation at all in the spa bath so it gets steamy and stays steamy. No central air conditioning - just a room unit by the front door that takes a LONG time to cool in the summer (as in 6 hours). This is a fishing town - and it attracts fisherman. You most probably will be sharing your romance suite and lodge units with a bunch of guys with trucks filled with fishing poles and beer. The upstairs suites share a common wall in the bath and sound carries from the other side well enough that you can clearly hear a conversation in the opposite suite. The owner is not on the premises all the time so if you need something, you might have to wait for a response - like hours. The "breathtaking view" you get from the upstairs suites is the neighbor's house next door with one VERY yappy, barky dog running back and forth all day long. Parking is cramped and a bit of a walk if you're staying in the Robin's Nest.

Unless you fish, there's nothing to do in this town. The lakefront cabins and downstairs lodge units are moderately priced if you want to get together with friends or family for a fishing trip. In my opinion, I think the upstairs units are on the pricy side - I'd look elsewhere for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FoofusPKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Perfect end of summer getaway. My husband and I took our son and a friend to the Brown Trout Cabin for a few days before they went back to school. We loved it! The cabin itself was very nice, and very relaxing. We really enjoyed the full kitchen, especially with two boys! Loved the screened in porch - especially at night - great place to read, and we could sit there and watch the boys play darts! We are already trying to decide when we can go back.

We didn't get to meet Helen because she was out of town, but Glenda was very sweet and offered to show us the Rainbow cabin before we left. It was beautiful and we might be tempted to stay there next time. Great bath! But whether it is the Brown Trout or the Rainbow cabin, we are definately going to be visiting the River Hideaway again!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jmwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2007

We stayed in the Rainbow Trout Cottage. This place is absolutely great. If you want a place that is quite and peaceful, this is the place to go. We enjoyed the river veiw that we had. And the porch on the river bank is a great way to unwind from the day. They allow pets which was a plus for us because of our minuture yorkie that is like a daughter to us. The cottage was very clean and well maintained. I love the white pine that it is constructed out of. There is only one problem and that is that it doesn't belong to me. I didn't want to leave. I am looking forward to going back in the near futre. Hope to see you there.

  • Stayed: May 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blueeydlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Benton, Arkansas
214
Reviewed January 17, 2006

There are two cabins on this property. We stayed in the Rainbow Trout Cottage which was absolutely breathtaking, a french country paradise. Its not a large cottage by any means, but very comfortable. The deck overlooks the river and its a short walk down the steps to an awesome fishing deck. Our neighbors were kind enough to show us the Brown Trout cabin which was equally as nice and we plan on renting that one next. There is a TV and VCR but if you turn it on, you'll miss out on the peace and serenity of the place. Its absolutely amazing and Helen and the dogs are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heber Springs hotels
3.3 mi away
Lindsey's Resort
Lindsey's Resort
#1 of 7 in Heber Springs
103 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Heber Springs
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
Quality Inn & Conference Center
#4 of 7 in Heber Springs
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Budget Inn Heber Springs
Budget Inn Heber Springs
#6 of 7 in Heber Springs
7 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lake and River Inn
Lake and River Inn
#7 of 7 in Heber Springs
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hideaway

Address: 7 and 55 Valley Ln, Heber Springs, AR 72543-8928
Location: United States > Arkansas > Heber Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Heber Springs
Price Range: $100 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Hideaway consists of 3 beautifully unique riverfront cabins, in Heber Springs, Arkansas on the Little Red River. The cabins are named 'Magic Mist Steampunk Cabin' , 'Over the Rainbow Cabin', and 'Hollywood Hills Cabin'. Each one complete with its own personality that have become individual evolving art projects for the owners. They are always adding to and changing the interior landscape with interesting and unusual antiques, furniture, and the purely unexpected.. Among the surrounding exterior landscape of flowers and fruit trees there are unexpected surprises, such as the Golden bike on the riverbank in front of the Over the Rainbow cabin. These are not typical river cabins! River Hideaway has been under new ownership since September 2015. There have been many changes, including adding the newest, most spacious (3 acre), Hollywood Hills Cabin in October 2016. . All of the beauty of the natural world right at the doorstep, day and night. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing