We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Apple Inn and Country Club
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Heber Springs
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Budget Inn(Heber Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Journey With Inn(Heber Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake and River Inn(Heber Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ozark Inn(Greers Ferry)
View Hotel
Lindsey's Resort(Heber Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Longbow(Prim)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
56
32
17
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
32
17
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursegreers ferry lakeprime ribfitness centerthe wait staffbit datedhidden treasurechecking ingorgeous viewsin great shapenice balconymini refrigeratorvisiting friendsplay golfcomfortable bedgreat meallong weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 114 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2009

I had heard good things about this Inn and they were true. It was beautiful place. The room was very "rustic", lots of wooden things. Our room had a fireplace which was nice. We lit it one night just to say we did. The room was a bit dark, but the bed was huge. I did feel a little leary of the bathroom. It was clean but just had that feeling that it could be dirty. We ate in the restaurant on Saturday night and they had The Boufonts play. It was a lot of fun. There were lots of drunk people dancing so it was kind of f unny to see that. The food was very good. We also had breakfast the next morning. It was a buffet, it was ok, but not as good as i expected. The views from the dining room were beautiful. All and all it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rainbowbrite3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

The hotel has really aged well. . rooms are still comfortable, although modernized, since my first visit in the late 60's. The views from the room are great. .wifi works well albeit the electrical outlet for my computer was not new and I had trouble keeping it in the socket. Bathrooms are original and great to see gray fixtures.. really captured a moment in time well. .
The bad was service in the restaurant. On a weeknight with few guests in the hotel, it took over 10 minutes for the host to seat two parties of four ahead of me. .there were only two other tables in the restaurant occupied.
From the time I approached the restaurant, it took 25 minutes to get seated and a drink in my hand. .During the entire evening I never saw more than 15 people in the very nice restaurant. There seemed to be plenty of staff but it didn't all come together. Everyone apologized for slowness but it was still there.
Overall staying at the Red Apple Inn is somewhat like a time warp from the 60's and fun. .I would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DownSouthUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed four nights as part of a planned family reunion (so we wouldn't necessarily have chosen this property or this location).

The rooms are very large, not like a hotel at all. Both of our rooms had 2 double beds, a table and chairs, shared balcony, and large bathroom (with an extra vanity/sink outside the main bathroom). They're kind of dark, with heavy wooden decor. The upper level rooms (on ground level -- we were in 206 and 222) have vaulted ceilings, the lower level do not (our friends were in 124). It's supposed to be stylistically Mediterranean, including faux stone columns on the walls, iron chain link, and iron sconces -- it just feels kind of dark and old.

It's obviously an old property, and not carefully maintained. While the room didn't seem dirty, the bathroom had corrosion, cracked and stained sinks, a cheap and stained shower door, etc.

The restaurant was usually great. We ate breakfast and dinner there every day. The usual breakfast buffet was average -- scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage patties, fried potatoes, grits (oversalted), biscuits and gravy, fruit (usually just cantaloupe and honeydew melon, with grapes), pastries, dry packaged cereal, and a variety of juices. All that for about $8.50 is a really good deal. On Sundays they have the regular buffet in the morning, then a bigger buffet from 11:30 - 2:00 (we didn't try that). At dinner the food was really, really good. The selection was varied, and there were plenty of interesting, delicious and healthy options. Every entree we ordered was fantastic -- my husband ordered the Cobb salad every night, I especially loved the strawberry salad and the 5-peppercorn filet mignon with cherry/balsamic reduction and chipotle/corn mashed potatoes. The dinner rolls would melt in your mouth. Desserts were delicious, too -- the kids loved the chocolate martini (molten chocolate cake w/ice cream, served in a martini glass), I liked the strawberry shortcake and the paradise pie, and we all loved the (very inexpensive) cream caramel.

Saturday night dinner was our only disappointment. Most of the servers were pleasant and efficient, but there was one who was indifferent, clueless (she had to go get another server to help her understand everything we needed, and it was NOT a language issue), then, to top it off, she dropped a glass of water on the floor behind me, spraying me with water and broken glass, kind of giggled about it, took her time to get a mop to clean it up, and never even apologized. There's a live band on Saturday nights that was SO LOUD we finally took our dinner to go and ate in our room.

We noticed that most people dressed up a lot to eat in the restaurant. I wore nice capris and a sleeveless shirt w/short-sleeve cover-up most times, and felt underdressed.

As far as things to do, there's golfing and a lake, but we didn't try any of that. We spent two of our days sitting by the pool, which was very nice -- plenty of shady or sunny spots, bathrooms, a soda vending machine, and a pool attendant who sells ice cream sandwiches, and we were able to order sandwiches (from the hotel front desk) and eat them down by the pool. I think there are two pools -- we only visited the one closest to the main building.

There wasn't a whole lot to do off the property. We drove almost two hours north to the Ozark Folk Center, which was pretty fun, but there wasn't much else. There's a Walmart not far from the property, which was convenient -- we bought some toys for the kids to play with in the rooms.

It was really hot and humid, which probably affected our desire to go boating or golf. If you're interested in either of those activities, plan your trip around the weather (DON'T go in the summer!).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank blooberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

This is an older facility but it has been maintained and is in excellent condition. The room furnishings were sparse and there is not much of a view but with a championship golf course,tennis courts, swimming pool, fitness center with spa and a marina on Greers Ferry lake you won't spend much time in the room anyway.
The Inn and restaurant were designed by Frank Llyod Wright.
The restaurant serves all three meals, has a small but varied and resonably priced menu which features Southern cooking and European dishes.There's also live music on the weekend and a marvelous view of the lake.
The bar has a fireplace and was quiet and cozy.
The service , from check in to check out, was the epitome of Southern hospitality.
All in all, a wonderful place to spend a weekend or a week!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 479bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Valle Crucis, N.C
13
Reviewed March 20, 2006

after leaving the airport in Little roick....we felt that we were in a time warp....backwards......around the 50or 60s the Hotel The Red Apple was excellent room service food etc.....
we were visiting friends in Heber Springs and saw most of the area around it lakes etc......so if you have to go to Heber Springs...Ark stay at the Red Apple

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews