We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”
Review of Ancient City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ancient City Lodge
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
263 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We arrived at this hotel without a booking after a very bad road accident. We were the only four guests in the hotel and all the staff were very attentive and friendly. Everyone made us feel welcome and went out of their to cater for our every need. Aaron deserves the biggest mention, his service was spectacular, he arranged everything for us with no prior warning of our arrival. He arranged for two of our party to go on a guided tour of the ruins early the following morning with a guide by the name of Philip. Philip is an exceptional guide with a wealth of knowledge and a willingness to share this knowledge with his guests - we definitely recommend his service. The rooms are massive and clean and the ruins are really close.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
16
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Francistown, Botswana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I spent one night at the Ancient City after my wedding on the 28th of April this year and boy, am I glad that I booked there!!! My wife has never stopped talking about the place especially the breakfast and the very, very clean bathrooms. You feel like you are the first to use the tub-a very important feeling in using hotel bathing facilities! The staff were superb and never in our way even as they assisted us. The breakfast was scrumptious and we were served with wide smiles even if we had come late when breakfast time was already over. The food is fresh and you feel that it is specially made for you...this is important especially with the bacon and fried potatoes. The ambience of the place is so alluring and serene.We loved the views from the balcony of the honeymoon suite and will definitely be going back there soon to splash in the pool, have late afternoon balcony siestas and just sitting down to more and more mouth watering food! Advice to management: Please if they haven't repaired the cracked window pane directly facing the receptionist they MUST do so cos we felt it gave the wrong impression that the place is run down when one arrives which is a trillion miles from the truth. Also change the cushions of the sofa at the reception regularly with brand new ones...it works magic when one arrives! As a last word suggestion-I think that tho u want to keep the real African feel of the lodge which is its main strength, it would also be nice to have two or three Flat screen TVs on stand by for guests who are staying for longer periods and might want to watch some important programmes from their rooms. Thanks to the management and staff! I pray that the water issue is solved by the rains so that the green lawn can dazzle us once again! If YOU are thinking of visiting Lodge at the Ancient City-don't think twice, this is your only chance to be treated like royalty at no extra cost!

Room Tip: For Honeymooners, ask for the honeymoon suit, It has a great balcony with calming panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piwayi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

cannot remember the managers name but he was very attentive and helpful,as were all the staff.great location for visiting ruins.Hotel architecture different and very well done.you won't be sorry you stayed here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheriki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Lodge at the Ancient City. We can highly recommand to stay in

this lodge. The rooms are spatious and really nice designed. The view from the balcony was

amazing! Also the mainbuilding is nice built and the area around the swimming pool has a

relaxing atmosphere. We enjoyed also the dinner and the breakfast. The management and the

staff is really helpful and does everything that the client can enjoy his stay. The lodge

is just 3 kilometers away from the ruins. And you can see the ruins also from the terrace

of the lodge.

Room Tip: Take one with a balcony. You can see the sunset from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neumarkt in der Oberpfalz, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We (2 adults, 3 kids) enjoyed the stay at the lodge very much. The rooms are originally and huge, clean and the staff is very friendly. The food, although a bit expensive, is good and the pool is nice. The surrounding in midth of the forest is breathtaking and also the style of the lodge. The staff was able to do special service for kids. We can recommend this location!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BettinaJanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

l love the location of this lodge, it is close to the Great Zimbabwe Monuments and not very far away from Lake Mutirikwi. The staff were excellent from the front office to the maid service, all friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and very clean. I loved the rooms ethnic decorations. Excellent dinner and breakfast provided. l highly recommend this lodge

Room Tip: we stayed in room 16 and 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneRusero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Checked out the hotels in the area and this is definitely the best in terms of character and what you get for the price. meals are a bit pricey though, at $20pp, but the rooms have a lot of character and are HUGE! All hotels in the area seem to be a bit run down and old ish, but you will enjoy it there. Huge bar area, free wifi, and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellers220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masvingo
0.0 mi away
Hotel Flamboyant
Hotel Flamboyant
#1 of 1 in Masvingo
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
563 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Zimbabwe Hotel
Great Zimbabwe Hotel
#1 of 3 in Masvingo
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Troutbeck Resort
Troutbeck Resort
#1 of 4 in Nyanga
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Musangano Lodge
Musangano Lodge
#1 of 10 in Mutare
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ancient City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient City Lodge

Property: Ancient City Lodge
Address: No 1 Shepherds Plot, Masvingo, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Masvingo Province > Masvingo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Masvingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ancient City Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jovago.com so you can book your Ancient City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Ancient City Hotel Masvingo
Ancient City Lodge Zimbabwe/Masvingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing