We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful game reserve with nice safari tents”
Review of Mkuze Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mkuze Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mkuze Tented Camp
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in Mantuma Camp in Mkhuze Game Reserve for two nights. The reserve is very beautiful and we have spent hours and hours at the hide...looking at all the animals drinking water.

We rented a four bedded tent and we did not know very well what to expect. Actually we got two two-bedded tents (both with their own bathroom), a kitchen tent and a braai. Lots of privacy, in the middle of nature. Our only neighbours were nyala's and impala's.
We were very glad we brought our own groceries. There's only one small shop in the park and in the period we were there (july 2012) they hardly sold groceries at all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Karinabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Mkuze Tented Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

In May this year we booked into the tented camp at Mkuze. In all our travels to game reserves, this is not one we have been to but our eldest son is busy with his FGASA levels in the area and due to his numerous wonderful experiences at Mkuze came the recommendation to visit it. So we did, with what better companion than our own private guide. The tented camp is awesome! NO other word for it. Clean, well laid out, private, well supplied selfcatering kitchen, just what we were looking for, for our special bush break and experience. The first day there we were so thrilled just to be visiting a new reserve we just sat on the deck and drank in the birdsong and quiet. Next came that familiar sound of branches snapping and heavy crunching through the bush - you guessed it! It was the elephants passing by. We all froze, trying to make out how near they were - no fences, just good common sense to be still and watch and listen. It so happened they trundled on by, making their way round the tents to the road. It was a day of happiness at nobody, not even the staff, have seen them for a while, so there was geat rejoicing by all. The days which followed were wonderful with sightings of cheetah (last seen when I was a little girl) birds galore, red duiker (rare), suni and my all time best, a "Green-backed" Cameroptera, not to mentioned a myriad of others in the fig-forest. That is a walk which has to be undertaken by all who love nature and birds. Mkuze have made this walk into one of the most beautiful experiences ever and the guides are the best!!! Exceptionally knowledgeable and willing to share so much. Our evening game drive was a little sad though, not too much to see but delight of delights, a wee Owlet!! Evenings were spent round the fire listening to the night sounds. Mkuze is full of surprises and one the most wonderful game reserves we have ever been to - true food for the soul by way of peace, quiet, good facilities, wonderful picnic spots, interesting flora, so many birds to identify, butterflies galore and quite the cutest little hide at the main camp entrance where all sorts of buck come to drink, loads of little birds and that famous day when the elephants appeared and made their way too!! Mkuze holds a special place in our hearts now and we will return some time soon.

Room Tip: Tentts are the best!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ndlwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stayed at the tented camp at Mantuma camp in Mkuze reserve for 2 nights in August 2010. There are approximately 12 safari tents in the camp which consist of a safari tent with an on suite bathroom and an outside deck and outside kitchen which includes a fridge / freezer and oven. There is also a braai area. The majority of the units consist of 1 accommodation tent with 3 single beds, however there are 3 units which consist of 2 accommodation tents with their own on suite bathrooms. We stayed in such a safari tent being number 30 and it cost R325 per night per person. We were a total of 4 adults and each couple had their own tent. The bird life around the camp is excellent. The camp is not fenced and the game roam freely around the camp and there are many impala and nyala around the camp which seem quite tame. . There are no lion in Mkuze. On the first night we heard hyena very close to our tent and saw hyena tracks around our braai area in the morning. During the first day we travelled to the Nsumo pan and were fornuate enough to see hippos and crocodiles. We also stopped at the Kumahloha hide, this hide must be one of the best game viewing spots one can ever encounter as a constanst stream of wildlife comes down to the pan. Sightings in a sort space of time included, inter alia, white rhino, baboons, zebra, wildebeest, nyala, warthog, zebra, numerous bird species ..... and the list goes on. The best time to be at this hide is between 09h00 to 12h00 when the animals come to drink. On the second morning I went on a guided walk in the reserve which costs R100 per person and we got quite close to white rhino with her smalll calf which was an amazing experience. On my return from the walk we decided to take a drive in our car and were no more than 600 metres from the camp when we came across 2 cheetahs in the road . They walked straight past our car and into the camp and proceeded to kill an impala next to the swimming pool in the camp. We were later told by staff at the camp that this was the 4th cheetah kill in the camp in the last 2 months probably because the antelope seem to be more docile in the camp. In any event Mkuze was a truly exceptional experience and the tented camp represents incredible value for money in a quiet relaxing enviroment in the African bush.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MAX2010AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank danjov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Berti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trailraid44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mkuze Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#3 of 9 in Mkuze
373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mkuze Falls Lodge
Mkuze Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Mkuze Game Reserve
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mkuze Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mkuze Tented Camp

Address: Mkuze Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mkuze Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mkuze Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing