We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping in the bush”
Review of Mpila Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mpila Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed in a 2-bed cottage. It was a wonderful experience. Mpila is not fenced, except electrical fence to keep out the elephants. All other animals can roam the camp, and they do! My wife observed a wild dog chasing an impala. We had lots of antilops, birds, monkeys around the cottage. The cottage is very spacious, has a fully supplied kitchen, and a comfortable bathroom. It's a pity that you have to drive all the way to the hilltop camp at the other end of Hluhluwe (min. 1.5 hours) to get some restaurant food. But sitting on the terrace and watching the night fall in Africa with all the sounds from the surroundings - the seond night we had a heavy thunderstorm - is a very special experience one doesn't forget...

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerthaBSCBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Mpila Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 248 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

Staying at the tented camp at Mpila in the Umfolozi national park is a great and thrilling experience. hidden in the bushveld of one of South Africa's best national parks lie approximately 20 permanent tents on a wooden porch, all ensuite and with a separate kitchen tent connected by a wooden walkway. having a braai at sunset whatching all sorts of animals walk by (there is no fence), spotting nocturnal animals otherwise rarely seen with a flahlight from your own porch (we saw genets, bushpigs and all sorts of antelopes) is unforgetable. the tents are comfortable, the showers warm and the kitchen has all utensils. one warning though, while having a braai, whatch your meat. A hyena could come from nowhere and snatch your steaks!

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank Eggy251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

We spent three nights at Mpila in one of the two bed roomed chalets and thorougly enjoyed it. The camp shop does have provisions, but not many so well worth bringing everything you need.

The camp doesn't have fences and given the sound of hyenas we cowardly cooked inside instead of using the braai, although I'm sure it would have been safe. The accommodation is simple, but very comfortable.

To our surprise we were lucky enough to have three sightings of wild dogs (probably two different packs).

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluehamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Mpila – Imfolozi Base Camp
The tent is quite spacious with twin beds and mosquito nets, not really necessary in September. The ensuite has quite a good shower with lots of hot water. Outside the tent is a deck with table and bench seating and 3 camp chairs, ours were grubby. From this deck you can get to the kitchen area, fridge, freezer, cooker . All cupboards and fridges have to be locked against monkey interest. At ground level is a small braai. Can recommend getting coals from supermarket and braai logs (we found these at large service stations). So cook your food then throw on some logs to keep warm for the rest of the evening. As for wildlife we saw all bar leopard just by touring around or sitting at one of the many ponds (pans). The Ranger walking safari was useless. Oh and by the way it is lights out, well the generators go off at 22.00 till about 0600. The tent has an oil lamp. You will also need to take most of your food in with you, the shop does sell some packed goods, soup, crisps, tinned beans and wine /beer. A 4x4 is not essential for most of the tracks but it is probably more comfortable with one. 2 days is a good option for this park. Be prepared for almost anything to visit your area day and night, we had bush babies, boks, warthogs and monkeys. No guest internet.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Well, it is always lovely to stay at Mpila camp and is well worth the drive up to it! The game is really lovely and you are very likely to get hyenas and bush pigs coming up close as well as the usual antelope. you may struggle to find elephant, leopards, cheetahs and lions but will hve no trouble finding Rhino, Buffalo, all antelope, warthog, and many, many more...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr-Reliable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We spent 3 days and 2 nights at Mpila, great experience...saw 4 of the big 5. Staff were friendly and fun, especially No-no on the evening game drive! Nothing like watchin an African sunset over the hills. Accommodation was clean and comfortable, it was great to have no TV.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kloofites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

These who are just looking for incofmation of accommodation can read just the this: Its excellent place with great accommodation. Yes, there is no power from 10 PM to morning hours, but you are in the wilderness so it only improve everything. These interested in comforts can go elsewhere. Here you get no 5 star accommodation, but Nyalas on your terrace.
But the thing is - staff is ABSOLUTELY not helpful and welcoming. Sunset drive we booked in reception was contucted by a man who clearly hated all of participants, made no effort to find anything but impalas and made us to spend 3 hours with no information and practically no animals at sight What a differrence from Kruger. Lets hope real conservationists in there are different to this one-
Having said that, Hluhluwe Imfolozi is still a great place for animals and a must if you like rhinos.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManaPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe Game Reserve
24.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
12.1 mi away
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in KwaNompondo
260 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hluhluwe Backpackers
Hluhluwe Backpackers
#15 of 32 in Hluhluwe
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
uMuzi Ondini Bushcamp
uMuzi Ondini Bushcamp
#1 of 3 in Ulundi
11 reviews
21.2 mi away
Wendy's Country Lodge
Wendy's Country Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mtubatuba
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#6 of 32 in Hluhluwe
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mpila Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mpila Camp

Address: Hluhluwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Mpila Camp Hotel Hluhluwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing