We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic place”
Review of Mpila Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mpila Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Tonsberg, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Exotic place”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

You live in a good hut with cookingfacilities and a refrifegerator and with nice outside sitting place . In the evening you can spot the hyena coming close to your hut, we even expierenced that it was on our veranda in the late evening. If you not travelling with small children you should take the huts a little way from the reception to get the wilderness feeling.
You can arrange morning walks with the reception, but we expierenced a very terrible meeting on our walk with a rhinoattack which the guard was not aware of at first.Be sure to have a guide who are at good health, our had a bad flu and could not be at the highest attention-
The shop is very small so if you want a good meal, try to shop outside the reserve,

Room Tip: The more far away from the reception the more you feel at your own
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    100
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
75
122
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kloof, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed in one of the 2 bed chalets for two nights...and despite the awful weather, our stay was superb (the beds were a little too firm for us though)!!! We have stayed at a number of Game Reserves...and this was up there with some of the best!! The Chalet was spotless and beautifully serviced...We had spectacular views from our chalet and loved hearing the hyena so close at night...and the impala resting on our "back lawn" at night and playing in the morning. The monkeys robbed us of our fruit within a few minutes of our arrival as a window had been left open in the bathroom(not by us)...but we put a stop to that afterwards!! We had incredible sightings despite the weather, seeing Wild Dog, a lioness in a tree, a pride with their kill, Hyena around our car...plus , plus!! Not much bird viewing due to the weather though...The only downside is the lack of a supply shop...We had to go all the way to Hilltop to stock up on more water (and got very ripped off!!) and it would be great to have a small resturant on site. Will definitely be back...can't wait!!! Note: This is not a Luxery camp...and one feels and is, close to nature, and we found that our multiple extention cord was very useful for charging torches, phones, kindles, ect. There is no electric kettle so one has to boil a kettle on the gas stove, and no toaster, so we toasted in the gas stove.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed in 5 bed/2 bedroom self cater chalet. Comfortable and clean. But remember to take your own drinking water and food with you, and that the electricity is only on from about 0700 - 2145. BBQ (brai) equipment provided. Fantastic location. You can sit on your terrace and wait for wildlife to come - eg warthogs, impala, monkeys, guinea fowl, hyena. Or look at stars, with little light pollution. A few steps away are fantastic views over valley. (? probably visible from some accomodation but not from ours) We found self drives round tracks (mainly unsurfaced but fine in ordinary car while we were there) was best way of seeing wildlife. Guided walk one morning was good fun and with informative guides, but didn't see much in way of animals. "Night drive" with group in lorry was bumpy and again didn't see much except lots of owls! Final thing: make sure you have exit pass before finally leaving the camp, or you won't be allowed to leave the reserve.

Room Tip: Depending on what type of accomodation you want, you may be able to get better views from your chale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petercot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were with a group of 12 who booked a 2 night stay at Mpila's Safari Tent Camp. This was the first of 4 game reserve areas we were visiting and it was a wonderful beginning. I am not much of a camper so was unsure what to expect - luckily I was pleasantly surprised by the tenting experience.

We shared a 2 tent complex with our friends. Let me first say that the whole complex is built on stilts making it about 2 feet off the ground with steps and a gate to open to get onto the area. Each couple had their own tent with a fairly large, long wooden verandah area ( like a walkway) running from one tent to the other. The kitchen area was located off to the side in the middle of this verandah. The tent is a good size with two comfortable single beds with a mosquito net above each one. The bathroom is very neat and tidy with a "proper" flush toilet and a good sized shower. There was plenty of hot water too!
There is a nicely laid out kitchen with a four plate gas stove, a full sized fridge, with adequate utensils, dishes and glasses. Outside the kitchen is a small braai. Be careful to secure everything in the kitchen - the ubiquitous monkeys are ingenious and will steal anything they can get their hands on. Friend lost bread and cereal and some fruit while they visited others in the group. It is a pleasure to sit on the verandah area and see monkeys playing in the trees and warthogs, and impalas roaming right beside you!
We saw an abundance of animals while we were here - saw 3 of the big 5 - no lions or leopards. Friends, however, went down a different road than we did on an early morning drive and happened on a lion kill- watched 3 lions devouring an impala! Our biggest disappointment was the night game drive. The park vehicle was in a poor state and we actually had a tire blow about 30 minutes into our ride. There was no spare but the driver said we were safe to continue as long as we drove slowly - several people were quite nervous about breaking down in the dark with so many wild animals around. To make matters worse, the driver seemed bored and disinterested throughout the trip. Luckily, there was a South African man on the ride and he found many of the animals for us. We saw more on our own drives.
A great experience overall!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happytravellor4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont, USA
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We spent two nights in a two-person safari tent with friends in a tent next door. The camp is in a beautiful location with sweeping views, although our tents didn't have views (get tents 34, 35, or 36 for views, or stay in a bungalow, which all seem to have good views). The kitchen was well-equipped and the sleeping tent was comfortable and clean. The monkey trouble I'd read about has been solved; the kitchen is well armored against them with two gated doors and lots of screening between the tent and the roof. We did have hyena visits after dark, as well as a spotted genet. This made the short walk between tents after dinner a little bit exciting. We loved the park and did a guided hike out of Mpila, which was excellent. The park is mountainous and very green (at least in December), with plentiful wildlife and lots of rhinos.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurensvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed here a few times now, the latest was in Novermber 2011.

I normally stay in the self-catering guest chalets. The accommodations are ok, nothing special.

The location is great though, nearly always get visited by warthog, buck, vervet monkeys on the lawn.

The camp shop has very little stock and there is no camp restuarant so best to bring all your own supplies.

I understand that places in great locations carry a price premuim but in this case, the national park charges this in the park entrance (park fees). I therefore feel that the accommodation price has gone past its upper limit in terms of value for money.

If one compares it to a normal chalet elsewhere in the country then the price (upwards of USD 100 per night) would seem excessive for what one gets in return (and no breakfast included).

Also note, that the chalets have no keys so its impossible to lock and possessions inside - a bit of an inconvenience to pack all your stuff into your car every time you wanna leave the chalet!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We booking into the 2 sleeper self-catering chalet which comprises of 1 open-plan room which serves as a sleeping, dininging and kitchenette area. There was a shower-en-suite leading off this room. The chalet was basic and clean with a small deck off the front. We enjoyed the daily visits from the wart-hogs and bucks whilst having breakfast. One thing we did not like was that guests were not given keys to the chalets so anyone could enter your chalet if they wanted to (at night we would bolt the chalet from the inside). There were a lot of noisy cleaning staff who use to congregate around the chalets and speak very loudly to one another. So much for enjoying the tranquility of bush life away from the noisy city. We also found the shop staff to be very unfriendly and not helpful at all even though they had nothing to do. However what made up for all of this was the viewing of elephants and lots of rhinos plus other animals such as wild dogs, giraffe etc.. Just a pity that the staff spoilt it for us and we will not return to Mpila camp again nor will our friends who stayed in the tented camp.

Room Tip: No safe and keys to the chalets so if you have valuables leave them locked in your car boot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DurbanKingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe Game Reserve
24.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
12.0 mi away
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in KwaNompondo
249 reviews
24.6 mi away
uMuzi Ondini Bushcamp
uMuzi Ondini Bushcamp
#1 of 3 in Ulundi
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Marrob Lodge
Marrob Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kwambonambi
13 reviews
21.2 mi away
Wendy's Country Lodge
Wendy's Country Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mtubatuba
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#6 of 32 in Hluhluwe
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mpila Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mpila Camp

Property: Mpila Camp
Address: Hluhluwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Mpila Camp Hotel Hluhluwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing