We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, accommodation could be better”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great location. Loved the fact it was close to Durban - took less than 2hrs from the airport. Liked the dirt roads and local feel. Accommodation could have been better, but it is fairly remote. all in all, great.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Thom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 217 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Although we did not stay at Hilltop camp but in Gqoweni bush camp, the eight of us had a super time from walking in the bush at 06.00 in the morning, to the many drives through the park to view game. Ranger Guy was knowledgeable and friendly. All in all, a wonderful 4 day stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandSEvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The location is outstanding with wondrous view on the hills, the cottages are perfect for this setting, restaurant is good and breakfast OK. It can be crowded with visitors at times. Our only problem was the quality of the rangers; the one did not see a rhino standing less than a meter away, the other lectured us for 2 hrs on what should have been a walk in the wild and turned out to be extremely disapointing and costly!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tang421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is not far off my idea of heaven. There's a real feeling of serenity at the camp, with an abundance of wildlife all around. There are braais around if you want to cook and some decent food in the restaurant. Quiet, basic and basically everything I look for in a site!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamishPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Like other reviews, we did have some issues with the workers at the front gate of the reserve. We hired a private driver to bring us from the Durban airport to the reserve, and he managed to speak with them, but we couldn't understand what they were saying except the part where they were all very obviously laughing at our expense. Eh, it was only 10 minutes of my life, I'm not that offended.

We stayed two nights at the Hilltop Camp in a non-self catering 2 person chalet. It was large and comfortable. We had a nice deck that overlooked the reserve and had lots of monkey visitors.

Wifi internet access can only be located in the "TV Room" and is slow and almost non-existent, which was a good and bad thing for us as we didn't have any other way to communicate with our next accommodations for the upcoming parts of our trip to South Africa. There is a computer at the reception desk that you can use for a small fee for 15 minutes, but it literally took me 15 minutes to connect to my email and send ONE email. Very slow. Also, reception closes at 7pm, so it doesn't leave much time to get this done, especially if you're taking advantage of the game drives.

We had the buffet breakfast and dinners. Average food, and nothing too special. We were satisfied the first morning and night, but then a little bummed that they offered basically the same things the next day. I'm a vegetarian and was able to subside on fruits and cheeses and the one type of pasta they offered each night.

THE SAFARIS!!!! We did one sunrise and one sunset safari. We had the same driver, Kholani (sp?), for both drives. He was great. We saw more during the sunrise drive. The moment we left the hilltop gate, there was a pack of elephants in the middle of the road. We saw lots of rhino, giraffe, zebra, warthog, impala, baboons, monkeys, elephants, and birds. Missed the lions, but as it's mid summer, there was very high grass.

I think 2 nights was the perfect amount of time to stay. Affordable and breathtaking views. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone.

Coming from New York this was an absolutely thrilling opportunity!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzzanadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Good road from the airport to this facility. Make sure you have money for the toll gates, they do have change but it just slows you down. There are lots of speed traps along the way. Once you get into the park the roads are quite poor, lots of pot holes and animal dung. However this just serves to slow you down to Zulu time, relax look for the animals, wind down the windows and smell Africa don't whinge just accept and enjoy.
We stayed at Hilltop in a chalet with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, lounge, kitchen fully equipped for what equates to £100 per night including breakfast for two people. In my experience this is good value for money if you are from Europe. Yes the accommodation is rather tired but think about where you are and why you are there. The scenery is stunning, staff friendly and if you are lucky you will see beautiful animals in their natural habitat. Food is edible, beer is cold, water in the shower runs hot and the beds are possibly the most comfortable I have slept on in Africa. Don't leave your windows open or you will be 'monkeyed'.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Beautiful location but why didn't the huts have a key? Can't be that expensive to buy keys to the huts. Had to share toilet/shower with other people, luckily we were there during low season. If we wanted toilet/shower the price would be double. As far as we understood they only served buffee. We found this place a little bit overpriced even though the breakfast was included in the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary38Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe Game Reserve
11.4 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
136 reviews
14.3 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
16.0 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
30 reviews
11.3 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
73 reviews
20.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp

Address: Hluhluwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 347
Also Known As:
Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp Hotel Hluhluwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing