We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but....”
Review of Hilltop Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilltop Camp
Reviewed June 18, 2008

I read a review in the Washington Post newspaper recommending this game park. After reading reviews, we decided to stay on the reserve and wanted full accomodations including meals. Hilltop was nice. It was a nice drive, relatively easy to find, and the people were friendly. Beautiful bathrooms. Spacious rooms.

We didn't see as many animals as I expected and the morning game drive was kind of disappointing. We never saw any cats and a lot of the other animals were far off the path. We had more success in seeing the animals later in the day when we were driving around ourselves. We didn't see any animals near our rooms.

The meals were buffet style and there was a good variety, but I can't say that I loved it.

I also wasn't crazy about the single beds but we pushed them together and made it work.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 318 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2008

Beautiful setting in the nature reserve with great views from main buildings and room balcony. Rooms themselves a little basic but perfectly liveable. Only downside was limited availability of food for self-caterers on site (bring everything with you) and buffet style food in the main lodge edible but not exactly gourmet. Can't beat Hlujluwe for laid-back game viewing at your own pace though, and definately do the guided game walk ... sooo close to a rhino!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

Arrived at Hilltop via Memorial Gate. Were not able to check in early, so did a self drive through the park and then went to St Lucia Wetland Park as we only had two days after a week of diving in Sodwana. Booked Hilltop as it looked the nicest of the camps.

Great views over the hills and lodge was very comfotrable Our unit had two bedrooms with two bathrooms and nice living area and kitchen. Balcony also nice. BBQ a little inconvienient next to road and not private.

Had a nice buffet for breakfast and dinner R80 and R140 respectively.

Shop a little poor for basics and overpriced so don't rely on it.

Also did a game drive at R175pp, nice to be out on an open vehicle as apposed to your own car, but rangers were poor, and did not go anywhere that you could not drive yourself. Very standard answers and disinterest when requesting to focus on particular animals.Got off drive annoyed at poor service. Have been on many game drives and know all is to chance, but no engagement what so ever.

Saw more in fact on own drive and had some good sightings in the park - 7 White Rhino, 12 Elephant, +- 100 Buffalo, Impala, Nyala, Kudu, warthog, zebra, waterbuck, eagles and vultures. Buy the map at the gate, very useful with great pictures of local fauna R30.

Park is pretty, with dense bush. Opening times strictly adhered to so make sure you are in in time.

5  Thank Monkeyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Don't be put off by the word "camp" - there are no tents! Intead you can have different sorts of chalets and lodges scattered around the well-kept grounds

We stayed in large chalet with en-suite bathroom, fridge, twin beds, balcony, safe etc. In fact all of what you would normally expect in a good hotel, except with maginifent views of thousands of acres of the park - we could not see one other building! The bathroom was good with a shower over the bath and plenty of hot water. It was a little rustic in style, with rough wooden beams and thatch for the roof, but it was spotlessly clean.

However be careful what accomodation you book - some of the chalets have to share communal bathrooms

The restaurant is good with an extensive buffet for breakfast and dinner. It overlooks a water hole and we had zebra for company for one of our breakfasts.

There is a swimming pool that looks very nice with plenty of loungers. But we were too busy watching the wildlife to use it.

A great base to spend some time watching wildlife. The park wardens organise night and early morning safaris from here - you have to stay in the park to use these because the park gates close quite early. We found a large herd of female elephants and babies on one of these - it was wonderful just watching them quietly grazing only a few feet from you.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank peterc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Henrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philipp M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe Game Reserve
14.4 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
15.9 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
11.4 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Bayala Private Safari Lodge and Camp
14.8 mi away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
7.1 mi away
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in KwaNompondo
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Camp

Address: Hluhluwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilltop Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Hilltop Camp Hotel Hluhluwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing