We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful park and great accommodation - let down by reception staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilltop Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilltop Camp
Cape Town
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful park and great accommodation - let down by reception staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on a family holiday in August. This was our second visit to the park and I felt that the service standards have deteriorated since 2008. The park is still wonderful and the game viewing and game drives were outstanding. The chalets were very nicely laid out and comfortable however we were told there were no keys, however on pressing the matter we were given keys to use. The manner in which this was handled was embarassing for the establishment and I hope they will note the sadly recurring trend of disatisfaction with the staff service as this was and could be again a first class place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    112
    77
    22
    19
See reviews for
83
133
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We enjoyed the location of the rest camp. The rondawel was basic, clean and just fine. Comfortable beds, own fridge and washbassin, and some utensils. And a table and two chairs in the rondawel. Public ablutions were ok and not too far away.

We had dinner (buffet) in the restaurant which was nothing special but there was a lot of choice for a decent meal. Definitely better than the dinner in the Kruger (Satara) park.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoy-the-world1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

The accommodation remains very acceptable, with recently added TVs that you don’t have to turn on if you don’t wish. We stayed in a four-bedded chalet with views out over the bush, which extended up to our balcony (and so we could watch the bush buck and the bird-life close up), to the hillside beyond (where we could watch buffalo grazing). Although we self-catered, we did eat a fine sandwich lunch on the restaurant terrace overlooking the superb view and watching eagles soaring. The refurbished shop is an improvement.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed 2 night in Hilltop Camp, in a self-catering Chalet and we were happy when we left !
If you can afford to spend a bit more money, stay somewhere else !
The location of the Camp is really nice, in the middle of Hluhluwe Park, on a hill with a wonderful place. But I dont understand, why they are not doing a better job.
The chalet smelled really strange and even after leaving all windows open it did not change.
The bathroom looks old and used and not really clean and it was not a pleasure to use it.
The furniture and interiors look like old 70s and very used. Only the TV looked quite new ! :)
We had the breakfast buffet, what was not really good and there was not a lot to choose.
One evening we also tried the buffet, and we paid on the one hand in my opinion to much money for medium food and also had the runs on the next day !
So Hluhluwe Park is really worth to see, but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cococay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hluhluwe Game Reserve hotels

Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
308 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Situated as the name describe on a hilltop with scenic surroundings, The huts lies around so it feels not crowded, A very good restaurant just on the edge of the hill where you ca sit and enjoy the panorama.Only some of the huts have good view from the veranda. A nice svimmingpool for those who like a bath after safari.

Room Tip: Try to get a hut with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed for three nights in the game park in one of the rondawels.This is basic accomodation but very clean and had all amenities. We used communal ablutions but were very pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the shower/toilet block.(No bad smells and while we were there i only said hello to one lady just leaving so not too busy either.)
We did our own cooking on the braaii although the braai facilities behind the rondawel we stayed in (56) had no lights to cook by and it was pitch black we used our phone to light us on the first night.
Next night used the facilities for rondawel 57-no problem.
The camp main building, shop and bar-restaurant are very good and cater for everyone.
I would recommend this as a must safari stay.

Room Tip: If booking a rondawel ask for a front row-one, one of the odd numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have just got back from KwaZulu Natal where we decided to stay at Hilltop Resort in Hluhluwe Game Reserve. I had in the past opted to stay at Mpila Camp in Imfolozi as its more rustic. The three night four day trip proved great. The two bedroom self catering unit was very spacious, clean and modern. The days were warm and the evenings were chilli so it was good to have the option to cook indoors or out. What I had not realised before was how good the pub and restaurant are in the main lodge building. Again the option not to cook was a bonus. The food served was not only good but great value and it seemed all tastes and budgets were catered for. Beyond the camp we encountered so many elephants! More than I had ever seen on my many previous trips. Rhinos also seemed to be everywhere and we also got a brief look at a black rhino. A real highlight was spotting a pride of 8 lions taking it very easy in long golden grass.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SafariKZN-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe Game Reserve
11.4 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
20.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
14.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
#15 of 671 in KwaZulu-Natal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#11 of 32 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Camp

Property: Hilltop Camp
Address: Hluhluwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilltop Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Hilltop Camp Hotel Hluhluwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing