We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek Excellence”
Review of Kairos Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luderitz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kairos Cottage
Ranked #1 of 12 Luderitz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Greek Excellence”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The location on Shark Island could not be better - the view out the window is of the sea and ships and there is no noise from the town, which is a quick 5-minute drive. The management and staff were most helpful and congenial, going out of their way to assist you. My room #5 was on the lower level, though being slightly elevated above the street was no problem - there is virtually no car or foot traffic here. The large room has numerous thoughtful touches, such as the hot water bottles, the electricity adapters, the ladder in the bathroom (?), the small kitchen sink, and the amazing cup of fresh milk greeting guests in the refrigerator. The only negative would be the hollow wooden bathroom door which is found in cheaper hotels. This is the third hotel I've stayed in at Luderitz and far outshines its competition - a true boutique cottage experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
74
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in Luderitz for 2 nights as a start for our trip up Namibia for 4 weeks and ending at Etosha. The owners were most plesant, really made it homely and helpful in telling us all the things we could do around Luderitz. The view from our room was stunning over the sea and the bedrooms were most comfortable and clen. Great - would not hesitate to recommed this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Friendly, clean and great friendly service by charming host (who sang and played one song on the piano at breakfast!). The best place to stay in Ludertitz which is short of good accomodation. See view from the room and a place to park outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Kairos for two nights as part of an extended trip to the Richtersveld and Namibia. We had just come out of the Richtersveld where we stayed in really basic accommodation and the contrast was great! The room was wonderful - big, comfortable and clean with a fantastic view. We even managed to make a braai for dinner one evening on the outside braai - despite the howling wind! The location is great as well - parking is convenient. Very comfortable beds with lovely linen - small kitchenette in the room was very useful. Would definitely recommend this to anyone planning to stay in Luderitz.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magriet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We came here without a reservation and Christo was very helpfull. Luckily there was a cancellation. The owners are very friendly and helpfull and made us feel at home. The rooms are very clean and beautiful and the view is stunning. Sitting on the stoop looking over the ocean with sundowners.
Don't even bother looking at any other places, this one is must.........

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a very clean place with friendly good service. The view was fantastic.
The cost was for bed and breakfast and the owners where very helpful in suggesting and booking restaurants to eat for supper. The only negative is that the owners son plays the piano and trains his voice very load in the afternoon so if you want to siesta bring earplugs with.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leenderd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the cottage at the beginning of our two week Namibia trip and of all the different B+Bs we stayed in,this was the best.Christo was the most gracious host and we where privileged to be serenaded by him for breakfast.As far as value for money is concerned,
absolutely amazing and we hope this not going to change!
The beds with crisp linen and fluffy duvets where beautiful.The fridge came in handy,as well as the little "kitchen".
Thank you,Christo.
One tip:take eye shades for the night as the streetlights outside were very bright.

Room Tip: Room 5 is great and spacious,but take eye shades for the night as the lights outside are quite brigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelgL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luderitz
1.1 mi away
Luderitz Nest Hotel
Luderitz Nest Hotel
#1 of 2 in Luderitz
467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alte Loge
Alte Loge
#2 of 12 in Luderitz
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zum Anker Apartments
Zum Anker Apartments
#1 of 7 in Luderitz
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hansa Haus Guesthouse
Hansa Haus Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Luderitz
28 reviews
0.7 mi away
Element Riders Place
Element Riders Place
#2 of 7 in Luderitz
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
#1 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kairos Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kairos Cottage

Property: Kairos Cottage
Address: Kreplin Street | Shark Island, Luderitz, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Karas Region > Luderitz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Luderitz
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing