We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Calypso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Calypso Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I have stayed in 2 other hotels in Tamatave and this one was the best. It is definitely worth the money and it's 4 stars and I would even say it exceeds the quality you would get in Europe.

The rooms were large and tastefuly decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable and of a huge size. I liked the fact that the balcony door also had mosquito protection so you could still open the door without the threat of insects.
The bathroom was very large and was installed with 2 shower heads (fixed and non fixed). The room also had very good air conditionning.

Food wise, it was top notch. The price of the room includes a buffet breakfast with something for everyone. The foood menu also gave you a variety of choices from snacks to proper cordon bleu type food.

The staff were extremely helpful and genuine and the hotel manager was always visible and took interest in your wellbeing.

I cannot comment on the fitness centre/spa as I did not make use of these.

I would highly recommend this hotel in the lovely town of Tamatave.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a group of 3 to four people choose the family room as you get two rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nathalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 104 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

In a world where people increasingly don't care about the service they offer, this hotel was a refreshing change from the norm. Upon arrival, we were greeted by several porters who were happy & smiling and keen to help. We were escorted to the lift whilst they carried our heavy bags up the stairs to the 4th (top) floor - and they arrived before us!

The hotel was excellent; clean, tidy and comfortable. All staff were friendly, helpful and multi-lingual. The manager was always available in the reception/restaurant area, and would regularly approach guests to ensure they were happy and everything was well. It is expensive as hotels go (especially when compared to other hotels in Madagascar), but upon arrival it is worth every penny.

The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, and tastefully decorated. Room service visited every day and spent a considerable time tidying up. The room was air conditioned. The bed was extremely comfortable - almost too comfortable! It also had a balcony accessed through a sliding patio door, conveniently fitted with a full-size mosquito net. We were on the 4th (top) floor, so had a nice view across the north-eastern side of town, with the hills to the left and the Indian Ocean to the right. The bathroom was something else! It had a huge walk-in shower with both a fixed head and a flexible one. This was as well cleaned as the main room.

The restaurant area was large and comfortable. The choice of food was excellent, ranging from some semi-traditional Malagasy food to Western burgers. Pricing was very fair.

Partway through our stay, I became ill with heatstroke and we had to call a doctor to visit me in the room. The following day, both the manager and several other members of staff enquired as to my health. Everyone was so genuine and caring.

There was also a swimming pool & health spa, but we can't comment on these as we didn't visit.

The negatives are hardly worth mentioning, but will be, if only to provide a balanced review. The door to the bathroom squeaked, the shower would sometimes change temperature by a few degrees either way, and they don't accept Mastercard. However, in fairness, Mastercard doesn't seem to be widely accepted anywhere in Madagascar.

If anyone is staying in Tamatave, I'd strongly recommend this hotel. Next time we are there, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Try and get a 4th floor room for a rooftop view of 'Tave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The hotel Calypso is a real jewel in a dump of a town. I stayed there for the night on my way to the Pangalanes Canal. My room had been very tastefully decorated and included a comfortable bed and flat screen TV with BBC World and several other channels. The bathroom was very comfortable with a shaving mirror, good lighting, large tub with lots of hot water and separate shower and loo. Even the door had an alarm on it that sounded if you hadn’t closed it properly! Whoever designed the room had given it a lot of thought and it was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Unfortunately wifi was only available in the restaurant and hotel lobby. Reception/booking service were very helpful and answered emails promptly. The restaurant was good although the hot foie gras was rather meagre and thin but the zebu steak was good. Breakfast was a buffet and provided the widest choice of my entire trip around Magascar; freshly cooked eggs to order, cereals, delicious natural yoghurt and pastries. I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

New, modern, friendly, good English, spotlessly clean, excellent menu, spa, pool, gym, wifi. In Tamatave you don't want to be on the sea front because of the night revelry, and you don't want to be in the centre of town because of the noise. Calypso is perfectly positioned. Very expensive by Madagascan standards but cheap compared to international business hotels. Without doubt the best hotel in Tamatave.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This is a port city and from Antananarivo I reached here.I entered the hotel and knew that I will have better experience then Antananarivo Hotel Tomboho.The hotel walls are filled with african craft.In the dinning area one finds this amazing african craft, i never saw it before in my life.The dining area gives a view of road from and as it rains daily, its a wonderful feeling to feel rain while dinning, f one is enthusiastic about rains.Enter the room and one finds big wall mirror(biggest i saw till now), big bath tub in bathroom(biggest till i saw now).The chef made the preparation as I suggested him.So no problem with food as well even though i am fond of Indian cuisine.Overall excellenct experience...will love to stay in the same hotel when in the towm.

Room Tip: Ask for a road view from balcony of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumittsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle unsere Mitreisenden waren mit den Zimmer zufrieden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fredynueesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank jackhadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toamasina (Tamatave) hotels
3 mi away
Sunny Golf Hotel
Sunny Golf Hotel
#4 of 10 in Toamasina (Tamatave)
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Joffre
Hotel Joffre
#2 of 10 in Toamasina (Tamatave)
67 reviews
0 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#7 of 10 in Toamasina (Tamatave)
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel H1
Hotel H1
#3 of 22 in Toamasina (Tamatave)
26 reviews
0 mi away
Victoria Beach Hotel
Victoria Beach Hotel
#13 of 22 in Toamasina (Tamatave)
11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centre Lambahoany
Centre Lambahoany
#7 of 22 in Toamasina (Tamatave)
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Hotel

Address: Rue Lieutenant Noel Ambodimanga | BP. 159 - Tamatave 501, Toamasina (Tamatave) 501, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Toamasina (Tamatave)
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Toamasina (Tamatave)
Price Range: $101 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calypso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Calypso hotel has 52 guest rooms accessible by elevator (including 04 suites, 02 family rooms and 04 rooms for handicapped person), all air conditioned, equipped with shower and bath and with free wifi access, direct phone and satellite TV.To add the 52 rooms existing, a new building called "Ulysse" is open since 05th of June 2014, with 17 supplementary rooms, including a suite VIP, 70m² to offer more space and luxury to our customers desiring it.They will be served by an independent elevator.The restaurant can receive simultaneously 100 guests in a warm and colorful atmosphere or on the terrace airy and relaxed.The SPA area stretches over 400 m² on levels.Open everyday from 05:45 am to 08:45 pm (opening on Sunday and Holiday at 10:00 am), it will in a quiet atmosphere and a few sessions, classify the tensions and to find a real wellness of body and mind.This privileged place of relaxation and fitness available free of charge at the disposal of the hotel guests, includes a finess area with modern and efficient equipment (presence of a a coach), pool heated to a system of swimming against the current, a Steam room, massage room or beauty care.The reception-conference space in "Ulysse" building includes a large room of 250m² and two smaller rooms on the mezzanine. It will be set of all necessary technical equipment meet the needs of the customers.This space will have a self-contained kitchen and therefore will grant to all types of events (seminar, small meeting, cocktail, dinner, lunch or dinner served at table or formula buffet, festive evening, exposure ...) For personalized service and maximum performance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Calypso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Hotel Madagascar/Toamasina (Tamatave)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing