We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service with personal attention of the owner”
Review of Le Bateau Ivre

Le Bateau Ivre
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Kfar-Saba , Israel
Level Contributor
524 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service with personal attention of the owner”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The location is great , the decoration is unique - a symbol for this amazing island , the food is well prepared , large options list . A reat treat !!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    52
    28
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was there several times under two weeks. Each time I was very satisfied. First time I tried the Languster 750g with butterfried vegetables, french fries and a large Three horses beer.
It was cheap , less than 12 Euro.

I tried mixed grill and it was also very tasty. Tried some other dishes. I can recommend this restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
711 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Nice Well Known Safe”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

There are not that many "fine dining" restaurants in Tamatave that is a given. This is a nice well known safe restaurant. It is well located on the waterfront, has a guarded parking lot, the owners are welcoming and quite friendly and it has a good selection of spirits and food. My husband had Zebu and I had grilled chicken, both had a glass of wine. It was very good but not exceptional. Being a foreigner one of my main concerns - requirements in Tamatave is that the restaurant is clean equating to me not getting sick, this restaurant fits my requirements. We enjoyed our meal and the surroundings, the waiters are attentive and service is good!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcutta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best option for dining”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

the food is good and the ambience is good.can meet people for formal as well as casual dinner at this joint

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shahkolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I went to the bateau ivre many many times for the 2 years i lived in Tamatave. I personally ate there twice and never ordered food from there ever after that. I totally dislike the quality of the food . If you dont have high standart for restaurent you will find this place nice i assume.
The location is great for sure.

The company i use to work for done their christmas dinner party at the bateau ivre.
We had our own chef and food brought to the bateau ivre to make sure it follow a certain safety/quality standart.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bassboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bateau Ivre also viewed

Toamasina (Tamatave), Toamasina Province
Toamasina (Tamatave), Toamasina Province
 
Toamasina (Tamatave), Toamasina Province
Toamasina (Tamatave), Toamasina Province
 

Been to Le Bateau Ivre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing