We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs a makeover - and some smiles”
Review of Setam Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ranomafana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Setam Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ranomafana
brighton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“needs a makeover - and some smiles”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here as part of Rainbow Tours itinerary - don't bother... a lot of travelling to get to this part for the rainforest (which was not worth it compared to many of the other rainforests in Madagascar) only to be staying at a damp, smelly and inhospitable place - although we had given (been asked by Rainbow Tours) to provide a lump of money for tips that would cover everyone, the staff here waited by the door if they did the smallest thing for you (even when laundry was returned!) No smiling from the staff (maybe they're not well looked after) and the locals - unlike everywhere else on the island - seemed annoyed that tourists were there supporting their community. One to miss...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobzeeBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    100
    71
    10
    5
See reviews for
28
127
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I think the rooms are expensive compared to their offer.
the staff is not friendly and cold.
The served food was cold, and we had to wait for 30 min to get our plates.
No tv
No swimming pool
the room are dusty and too humid. the pillows were too hard.
safety problem. Be careful with your keys.
I do not recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dany_Bob0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ranomafana hotels

London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I think this hotel was nice enough but i wouldn't rave about it. The rooms were basic compared to elsewhere in Madagascar. No TV in the room but I don't mind this. It had stunning views and the food is really nice, but they overcharge HUGELY on the extras, a bottle of wine was 4 times the price we've paid in other hotels. We stayed here for 2 nights and on the first night we were literally the only ones booked in and they kind of made you feel like that too, at dinner it seemed they couldn't wait for us to go to bed. No atmosphere at all. The next night a huge coach load of tourists arrived and you could tell the different in the restaurant that night, they decorated the room and set up the bar with all the drinks. Which kind of made us feel like they couldn't be bothered the night before when it was just me and my partner. Everyone thinks this place is great as it's only just near the entrance to the park, but that is really about it. One day we had lunch just down the road and they are building a new hotel, so my advice is to look elsewhere if you can and this hotel had better buck it's ideas up to make your guests feel special and not overcharge on things as you will lose out to other hotels!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonRomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We slept just a night before to enter the park.
It is really close to the park, so that in the evening, just after sunset (6pm!), we did by foot the night "tour" to the park (just a walk alongside the border) looking for night lemurs and chameleons.
The bungalow was quite clean with hot water for a good shower. Unfortunately the location is (obviously) very damp, so the room really smelled of mold!
The dinner was nothing special... but very kindly served!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanobtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of a tour in Madagascar and whilst it is in a great position with nice rooms they knew they had a captive audience and charged for every little extra and the staff expected tips for the little things as well!

The breakfast was included however only consisted of some bread and cake and eggs were paid for extra whereas other hotels this was not the case.

The rooms were small bungalows well equipped and with real duvets!

Some of the staff were excellent whilst others gave the impression they would rather be somewhere else! That said the location was excellent for night walks and to go to the national park which made it worth staying at! There is no pool or anything of note close by so if you finished early from the rain forest then there is nothing to do however finlike me you like the sound of the rainforest then you will not mind!

Room Tip: Ask for a lower down room as there are a lot of steps!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riocobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This lodge is situated very close to the entrance of the Rainforest and is also well located for the night walks which were so good we went twice. I also loved the elevated position of the lodge as the views are beautiful. The rooms I felt were quite basic in comparison to some of the other places we stayed in but they had everything you needed and when you stepped outside in the morning the views outside your door more than made up for it. The food was very nice and we enjoyed our tasty dinners after we came back from our night walks. It could be a little noisy with trucks driving past at all housr of the night but I wouldn't have missed Ranomofana for the world and this lodge was definitely one of the nicest places in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The lodge is situated on a hill sorrounded by mountains and a great view of the park. There is a road which you can see from the lodge but is not by any ways busy. The restaurant serves pretty good food for Madagascar and you can ask for something else if you don't like it . The staff is always trying to please.When it rains you can feel sorrounded by clouds and the view is very peaceful
Rooms are clean and fairly big and the shower pretty basic. The light not really bright for reading
The park is worth a visit and a night walk with a flashlight is mesmerizing with animals that you would not otherwise see.We did it with the rain and ponchos and had a great time
it can be cold and wet so bring warm clothing as there is no way to dry things off unless they put a radiator in the room
We stayed 2 nights and liked it mainly for the animals and would gladly go back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaomondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranomafana
17.4 mi away
Lac Hotel
Lac Hotel
#1 of 5 in Fianarantsoa
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Urban
Grand Hotel Urban
#15 of 59 in Antananarivo
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Foret Australe
Foret Australe
#5 of 5 in Ranomafana
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Antsirabe Hotel
Antsirabe Hotel
#3 of 24 in Antsirabe
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel H1 Antsirabe
Hotel H1 Antsirabe
#4 of 24 in Antsirabe
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Caliente Beach
Le Caliente Beach
#2 of 17 in Toliara
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Setam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Setam Lodge

Property: Setam Lodge
Address: 56 Avenue du 26 Juin | Ranomafana National Park, Ranomafana 312, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Fianarantsoa Province > Ranomafana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ranomafana
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Setam Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing