We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for viewing the park”
Review of Setam Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ranomafana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Setam Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ranomafana
Ca
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“perfect for viewing the park”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The lodge is situated on a hill sorrounded by mountains and a great view of the park. There is a road which you can see from the lodge but is not by any ways busy. The restaurant serves pretty good food for Madagascar and you can ask for something else if you don't like it . The staff is always trying to please.When it rains you can feel sorrounded by clouds and the view is very peaceful
Rooms are clean and fairly big and the shower pretty basic. The light not really bright for reading
The park is worth a visit and a night walk with a flashlight is mesmerizing with animals that you would not otherwise see.We did it with the rain and ponchos and had a great time
it can be cold and wet so bring warm clothing as there is no way to dry things off unless they put a radiator in the room
We stayed 2 nights and liked it mainly for the animals and would gladly go back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaomondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    100
    68
    10
    5
See reviews for
26
126
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rutland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The white (ish) tiled floors may be great when the sun is shining and it is hot but when it is raining as it did continuously during our two night stay then they feel cold. However, the bed was reasonably comfortable and the shower worked. The view of the rain forest was excellent, pity a main road along which lorries trundled spoiled the experience somewhat. I have to admit that probably our experience was coloured by the weather, but as someone else has commented it is a rainforest. Food was acceptable. However, we visited the country for the wildlife and the people not for a culinary experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ourworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The setting for the hotel is great, it is in the middle of mist valley with a great view – if it is not raining ( it is in a rain forest). The lodge is relatively basic but the rooms are clean comfortable and well maintained, we did not have a radiator in our room but others did which you may need as it did get especially when you have got used to the climate in the rest of Madagascar, though there were also loads of extra blankets. The food we had in general was again quite basic but in good oprtions and cooked well, so can not complain.

We stayed here 2 days and they were always very helpful even getting us some bread and butter for a snack when we arrived late afternoon. Happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having read some of the reviews on trip advisor we did wonder what the lodge was going to be like. That said from the moment we arrived we couldn't have been better looked after. They made a real effort to ensure our dietary requirements were met ( I am vegetarian and my husband is allergic to tomatoes). All the staff were very friendly and willing to help.
We put washing in to be done - one review said it was expensive - well I don't see approx 30p for a shirt or 60p for a pair of trousers is expensive. It was returned smelling very fresh early the next evening.
The restaurant staff did put a basket for tips on the table on our last morning - we checked with our guide what the box on reception was for, he confirmed that was for other staff - laundry, cleaners, reception, security; again having read a previous review I suggested an explanation of this to guests would be helpful. We had no problem leaving tips in both boxes because all the staff were helpful and made our stay very pleasant. They together with the local guides and the wonderful rare lemurs in Ranomafana National Park made this a particularly special memory of our trip to Madagascar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jspence964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viersen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Lodge is perfectly located and you won't get a better one at Ranomafana. Mostly it is fully booked. You have to book early in advance. The staff is kind, the food good, huge rooms and bath. Have a torch with you at night there could be an electricity cut as at most places in Madagascar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MundM1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while we were exploring Ranomafana park. I liked how the hotel was nestled in the hill, which gave you great views from your room. Each room is its own little house, so you don't have to worry about noise or privacy. While note a luxury resort, I thought the room was great - clean, quiet, and close.

I thought the meals were good, and the were very accommodating of my Madagascar diet. The laundry service was good and reasonably priced compared to other places we stayed. The best part is certainly proximity to the park - it was less than 5 min drive. The stairs may be a bit daunting after a full day of hiking, but I thought it was worth it for the nice view. (People with mobility issues would certainly have a problem, though.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a nice big room on the highest level which meant three staircases climbing up from reception. Everybody not physically disabled can do this, when tou are disabled do not visit Ranomafana np, it is goes up and down all the time in the park. We got a huge bed, matrass was quite hard. There was no musquito net in our room, while we saw them hanging in other rooms and we did got bitten. No heating or airco present, although it was not necessary in octobre.
Nice bathroom. Shower not really clean with a dirty window screen, haits in shower, lots of dust on wall and light, cute ducky dust bin...
Staff outside helpfull with luggage and spotted butterflies and geckos for you. Got umbrellas when raining. Reception quite friendly, didn't speak english really well.
Restaurant:awfull! We did not like quality of food: breakfast with hard baguettes. Juice like water and some pastries with jam. Fruit , cheese or eggs only when you paid extra, above the 170.000 ariary a night for room and breakfast! Personnel looking unfriendly and not helpfull at all, they were only interested in your money.
Dinner 2 choices with 3 courses, quantity far below average in Malagassy restaurants, the same for the taste. With the breakfast we twice got a basket on our table and they told us " tip for service". We thought this was very rude, and refused to be persuaded to tip in this way. We tip when we like, whatever we like and most important if we like.
Next morning personnel was at bit more friendly, but few seconds after they left our table we heard them laughing behind our backs, presumably making fun of us! We got very annoyed, last evening we decided to have dinner at ihary hotel. They had much better food, larger meals, price for 3 courses around 22.000 ariary in stead of 40.000 ariary pp. And friendly personnel who did earn tips!
Regarding location: you have nice views from hotel or room, but you are not at the park entrance. All other hotels also have good views, they are only located more downhill. While the road to the park entrance goes uphill and there is a lot of traffic, you do not want to walk. So you need a car anyway. Lodge had the same guided tours as the angap office at park entrance. Also when you do not have your own car you cant have dinner anywhere else bwcause Ranomafana village is 7 km downhill...
There is no pool, when you want to have that, go to domaine nature. There is not even wifi at the hotel, nor a spa or room sevice or what so ever, we did really not understand why it us called luxurious! They did have laundry service, which was quite expensive, 28000 ariary for couple of things, after washing the clothes were hanged on the wooden (dirty) gates before the lodge, so laundry got dirty again, everybody could see what underwear you have and wind took multiple things away through the gardens, when they returned laundry, we noticed a t shirt was missing, luckily orher guests returned it when they heard.
They have articles to buy as souvenir in the restaurant on a table, looked lile a mess and overpriced.
Last point: this is one of the very few places that do not have accomodation for your driver, probably they are not interested in them and rather earn big money!
We tried to give critics at reception but after we payed our bill they walked away with the money and that was the end of the stay/conversation/attention.
Overall: except for the spacious room we did not see a readin to recommend or go back, next time would choose for ihary or domaine nature

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evz32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ranomafana hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranomafana
17.4 mi away
Lac Hotel
Lac Hotel
#1 of 5 in Fianarantsoa
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victory Toliara
Hotel Victory Toliara
#2 of 3 in Toliara
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Urban
Grand Hotel Urban
#16 of 59 in Antananarivo
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Foret Australe
Foret Australe
#5 of 5 in Ranomafana
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antsirabe Hotel
Antsirabe Hotel
#3 of 24 in Antsirabe
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel H1 Antsirabe
Hotel H1 Antsirabe
#4 of 24 in Antsirabe
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Setam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Setam Lodge

Property: Setam Lodge
Address: 56 Avenue du 26 Juin | Ranomafana National Park, Ranomafana 312, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Fianarantsoa Province > Ranomafana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ranomafana
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Setam Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing