We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
11
17
1
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
11
17
1
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 31 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel Le Lagon for 2 nights. What a peaceful place with its stunning gardens, lakes and own beach. Hotel has a family atmosphere with the owners children doing their homework, dining together and owners itself taking high pride to manage the hotel. Thumbs up to the hotel staff.

Bungalows are comfortable with running water. For my second night I was kindly upgraded to another bungalow, which was refurbished. I have also had my driver and guide staying at this hotel and only negative point compare to other hotels I have stayed in around Madagascar is, that this hotel does not offer any discount for drivers/guides but I learned that as East/North-East of Madagascar doesn't have solid tourism structure as yet, so can't blame the owners. Perhaps in few years time more tourist will travel the East Coast and they should as its shores are the most beautiful once I have ever visited.

I would certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank monikam495
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagonfoulpointe, Directeur général at Hotel Le Lagon, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2015

Dear Monika M,

Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel Le Lagon in Foulpointe. I was really pleased to read that we met your expectations and that you would like to come and stay with us again. I have passed on your kind words to the team at the hotel who, as you mentioned, do a great job in ensuring that each guest only receives the very best service. Please do come and see us again where I can assure you that you will receive the same level of service.

My kindest regards,

Thierry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2014

Arriving at the hotel, one is immediately charmed by the lovely, large but very private garden with its trees and shrubs, its pond crossed by wooden bridges, and its palm-roofed bungalows. It is colourful, peaceful, a place where one feels good, both a centre of life and of rest. At the top of the garden, there is a terrace with restaurant. At the bottom, one accedes a public but secluded sand beach.

As charming as the garden are the owner, Thierry, and his family. They know how to manage the hotel well, keep a close eye on the staff, but are very easy-going, generous (difficult to resists to the numerous invitations for a drink). They are also very knowledgeable on Madagascar in general and Foulpointe in particular, very helpful, and managed efficiently ma visits and transfers at tariffs considerably lower than the ones I was quoted when I tried to do it on my own. Most importantly, they provide a focal point for the guests, who spontaneously start to interact with another for the greatest enjoyment of all. And the guest, at least during my seven days sojourn, were an interesting mix of well educated, upper class Malgaches, French tourist and expats, young travellers … all pleasant and interesting people.

The bungalows are simple, spacious, with sufficient comfort. Service is nice and reasonably fast, food is good without being gourmet, drinks are generous. This is definitively not a boutique hotel, there are television sets everywhere, silence is not total – one hears zebus, dogs, children from early in the morning on. This is a family hotel, unpretentious, with a slightly sleepy colonial atmosphere, and very relaxing without boredom. Great for children, too, who can play in the garden, fish in the pond, cross it on a raft, in total security. I felt thoroughly well there.

Foulpointe is one of the rare places on Madagascar East Coast where one can safely swim. Local fishermen offer pirogue visits of a coral reef full of marine life, one can visit an interesting fort from the Royal era, go to nearby cascade, and make a stroll in a nature preserve with lemurs and bats that came to a surprise to me – it was not mentioned in my guide. It is a perfect place to make a stopover on the way to Ste Marie, much quieter, safer, and interesting than Tamatave itself. The trip from the airport takes about one hour.

Room tip: The bungalows around the pond!
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagonfoulpointe, Gérant at Hotel Le Lagon, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2014

Dear Christophe D,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Le Lagon for your stay in Foulpointe. The team is delighted that you have carried back fond memories of your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments on the staff.

People are the pillars of our organisation as they strive each day to create memorable moments for all who pass through our doors. We are thrilled that you have left as brand ambassadors of Hotel Le Lagon in Foulpointe.

We look forward to seeing you soon,

Best regards,

Thierry
Hotel Le Lagon
Mahavelona, Foulpointe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews