We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Equipped Than Expected Forest Lodge”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Andasibe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vakona Forest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Andasibe
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
276 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Better Equipped Than Expected Forest Lodge”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Our group stayed in this lodge for 1 night. The room was basic but very nice, bed was comfortable with a mosquito net. Although there was no air-con, it was not hot at night as temperature I think dropped to below 20 degrees Celsius. There was no TV in the room. There was water heater in each room and water temperature was hot enough for showers.

There was free WiFi at the lobby but reception was rather weak and slow. Food at the restaurant was very good and drinks were very cheap. A cappuccino cost only US$1, 1 litre of Coke was only US$2.50 and a bottle of beer was only US$1.50.

The tour provided by the lodge was very interesting and fun as there were several lemurs kept on an island. They were being regularly fed by the staff and they were not afraid of visitors. All the lemurs jumped around and landed on every visitor’s shoulders without exception. There was an elderly very beautiful lemur with golden hair on his arms and legs. With the banana treat offered by the staff, he performed the horizontal bouncing dance which taking videos were highly recommended. The lodge also kept a crocodile farm with many crocodiles, turtles, snakes, wild cats, and white Ibis.

Room Tip: Request a room closer to the reception area to avoid long climb uphill. You can also request brighte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cutiedoggy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    274
    55
    13
    10
See reviews for
90
265
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Exactly, the hotel is too expensive, the restaurant is not cozy, but you have a lemur island all for you.
In the island you can feed several lemurs from your hand. They jump all around you, even on your head.
They also have a diademed sifaka dancing.
In the price of the ticket (quite cheap) you can also visit a park with crocodiles, birds (unfortunately caged), turtles, fossa (also caged. Shame on you!).
This is where to go for a picture with lemurs on your shoulder.

The score is for the lemur island, the hotel itself would just get 2 stars.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My husband and I went here as our first stop in Madagascar for our Honeymoon. We wanted to come to see the Indri Indri and only had time for one night. The room was great and the hotel property is beautiful. The dining room is great and they reserve you a table that is "your table" for while you stay there. The food was not the best we had in the country, but it was very good. The menu is very large and there is plenty to choose from, even for a vegetarian. We luckily heard and saw the Indri lemur so we were very happy, we also saw a good amount of other wild life with our guide, Justin.

The drive there from Tana was very long, so be prepared for that.

Room Tip: Our room was very nice, room #27
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adiandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Vakona is a pricey lodge by Madagsacar standards, but the service and services leave a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlbnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This lodge was excellent! It is in a beautiful setting, away from the rest of the tourist accommodation in the area and is expertly created. The lodges are large and spacious, with mosquito nets and good working bathrooms. The food was good (although if you have gone full board/all inclusive, the menu can be limiting...it is worth asking the waiters for the full menu and they will tell you how much you can spend under full board or top it up). There were some good walks into the forest from here, or a short car journey away. I would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAMair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We enjoyed our 1 night at Vakona, with a pleasant, comfortable lodge, balcony overlooking pleasant gardens and the edge of the forest - complete with plenty of wildlife - a hawk swooped and took a ghecko yards away from our balcony, and the gardens and paths at the rear had lots of small wildlife. The indiri can be heard in the mornings, and the whole setting was very atmospheric. The restaurant was reasonable but quite busy, and the service average, but to be fair we had been spoilt in our previous accommodation..
I would be very happy to stay again, and the locality is excellent

Room Tip: The Bungalow / lodges are nice and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StormRiderSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

This is a great place to get acquainted with the lemurs, being lemur island, which is part of Vacona FL. It's only a few minutes pleasant walk from reception. The lodge itself is fine but lots of steps & bring an umbrella as the rooms are a walk from the main building. There is a pleasant pool & food is acceptable with the crevettes the best choice. I spent 3 days there visiting both parks and timing was just right

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andasibe
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Urban
Grand Hotel Urban
#16 of 59 in Antananarivo
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cotsoyannis
Hotel Cotsoyannis
#4 of 4 in Fianarantsoa
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Maison des Cotonniers
Hotel Maison des Cotonniers
#25 of 59 in Antananarivo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brajas
Hotel Brajas
#41 of 59 in Antananarivo
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Crique
La Crique
#9 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
75 reviews
58.2 mi away
Le Karthala
Le Karthala
#13 of 20 in Antananarivo
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vakona Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vakona Forest Lodge

Property: Vakona Forest Lodge
Address: BP 750, Andasibe 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Andasibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Andasibe
Hotel Class:3 star — Vakona Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Vakona Forest Hotel Andasibe
Vakona Forest Lodge Madagascar/Andasibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing