We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vegetarian food in Madagascar..”
Review of Andasibe Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andasibe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andasibe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Andasibe B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best vegetarian food in Madagascar..”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

we stayed here around xmas 2012..

+ best vegetarian food in Madagascar! they had a great variety and taste was awesome..! i had some soups, couscous, potato pancakes and veggie gratin... :-) nice desserts too..!! good (normal/standard) nonveg food..
+ huge rooms.....!!!!!! : all rooms are individual chalets..
+ separated toilet, washbasin and bathroom, big rain shower head.
+ everything was brand new
+ hotel grounds were green and beautiful... a little river flows by on one side...
+ you can pre-order your dinner in the evening (optional) and it will be ready for you when you come back from the night walk..!!!
+ people were helpful
+ hair dryer on request

I can't really think of anything negative..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SuparnaPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    70
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
33
79
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is a great draw because of its hideously spacious and sweaky clean rooms at a bargain price. We had heard a lot of great things about Vakona lodge nearby, but since it was full our guide requested us to settle for the Andaside Hotel. We were extremely delighted with our decision to stay at the Andasibe hotel. The stay was very pleasant, and it was definitely one of the best hotels that we stayed at during our stay in Madagascar. The restaurant serves some really good food. Since I am vegetarian, I was a bit skeptical about the spectrum of choices available, but they kitchen churned out some really delicious fare. Two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rashi_misra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton on sea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

the hotel is very new with still some expansion work going on (new challets being built but its not noisy / disruptive)
its a great location for the national parts and reserves and the buildings are very spacious

a problem we had was hot water- it was luke warm at best and given they had massive luxury baths in the challets it was a shame it wasnt hot. might have been an anomoly or something but we were there three days and didnt get hot water on any :(

the food was great, a good menu service with a lot of choice.

overall a great hotel and if they fixed the water it would have been 5*

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jard, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a new hotel in Andasibe (not Antananarivo!). We went there because Vakona Lodge was booked up. Lots of pluses to that. I hadn't realised for a start that Vakona was quite so far away from the village. Andasibe Hotel is much better placed for getting access to Andasibe park and the train station, though not for Mantadia.
The spot is beautiful though not as lush and forested as Vakona. Much like others have said, the staff are very friendly and helpful. We took a standard 2 bedroom bungalow for 3 adults and a 2-year old. The double bed was in the main room and then a second bedroom had a single bed. The mattresses were very firm, bordering on uncomfortable. There was a flat screen TV, a small seating area and a walk-in shower and separate toilet. There was also an insect light, which is a nice idea to avoid mosquito nets. The decor is nicely done though a bit hotel generic. The breakfast was very nice though for some reason needs to be ordered the night before. But...oh my, why didn't they invest in their fittings and fixtures? I give the place another 6 months before they have to replace every tap, door handle and toilet flusher. It gives such a cheap feel to the hotel, and they have obviously invested a lot of money in other things. The shower tap was a good 4 cm out from the tiles, the shower head was on crooked and leaking. Every toilet flusher I used popped out of its casing and our door wouldn't close without locking it. My second criticism was the food. We ate dinner at the hotel twice and both nights we didn't find the food great. I ordered a creme brulee which was in fact a solid mass of unidentifiable something very cold with the consistency of hard butter. You shouldn't need a lumphammer to get into a creme brulee. That much I know. In all I recommend Andasibe and would probably stay there again, but wouldn't be too quick to eat there. With transport, there are other options for eating around the parks and village so it's not a big problem.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neeby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed at this quite new hotel as a change from Vakona Lodge (I hate the way the porters at Vakona Lodge sit outside your chalet from 4am in the hope of a tip). It is very conveniently located close to the interesting village of Andasibe, the Perinet reserve and an orchid garden.
The accommodation is in lovely semi detached chalets with TV, fridge and a spacious shower room. There is a comfy sofa, a small outside seating area for each chalet, a pool and a very nice garden. You can hear the indri calling from the forest.
The main building houses a bar and restaurant and the food was ok - as vegetarians we had rather limited choice and the French based cuisine can be a bit bland.
The staff were very nice people but seemed new to their jobs and the head waiter forgot to order our packed lunches for a day in the forest - and he did the same to someone else the very next day!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLewises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have no idea why tripadvisor has this hotel somehow ranked against those in Antananarivo asmitnis nowhere near there. It is very well sited for visiting Mantadia National Park and related areas.

It is a relatively new property with very large rooms which are well fitted out. Not sure if it is common to all rooms but ours had a sloping ramp between the bed area and the bathroom. This was very slippery in the morning and could have been dangerous if care not taken.

The Staff very very helpful and the whole place was very clean. Good pool. The food however was only just OK. We stayed both at Andasibe and Vakona marginally preferred Andasibe because of the larger rooms.

Room Tip: Check if there are rooms without ramps to the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The Vakona Lodge was full so I tried the Hotel Andasibe. I had a large villa all to myself which included a dinning/reception room with huge flat screen TV (with only French channels) and then up a staircase a large bedroom and a huge bathroom. The cupboard included a safe. The bathtub was very complicated with three taps and lots of jets and took ages to fill! They provided bathrobes but no hairdryer. There was supposed to be free wifi in the hotel reception but it was very erratic and slow. Breakfast was not included in the room price and was a la carte. The booking service for the hotel was very efficient and helpful in answering all my questions. The landscaping around the hotel looks rather new because it has been so recently built but I am sure it will look nice in a year or so. My room over looked a pond/river.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andasibe
0.0 mi away
La Crique
La Crique
#9 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Urban
Grand Hotel Urban
#16 of 59 in Antananarivo
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cotsoyannis
Hotel Cotsoyannis
#4 of 4 in Fianarantsoa
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.5 mi away
Le Karthala
Le Karthala
#13 of 20 in Antananarivo
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Foret Australe
Foret Australe
#5 of 5 in Ranomafana
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antsirabe Hotel
Antsirabe Hotel
#3 of 23 in Antsirabe
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andasibe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andasibe Hotel

Property: Andasibe Hotel
Address: Perinet II Andasibe., Andasibe, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Andasibe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Andasibe
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Andasibe Hotel Madagascar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing