We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the place for a family of 6”
Review of Grace Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andasibe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grace Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Antananarivo, Madagascar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the place for a family of 6”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here with our 4 young children in the family apartment above the restaurant. The staff was nice, and the food good, but we got no sleep due to the room being infested with cockroaches and no mosquito nets for protection. I even had one crawl onto the bed! We live in the capital, Antananarivo and have a few cockroaches in our home, but I couldn't handle these ones. I may consider staying there again if they fumigated, but we left after one night. We felt it was over-priced for what they offered. No electricity after 10pm, average-poorly maintained pool area, and no menu. They serve what they serve, without many options. I don't know how the other bungalows would be. The roof systems looked the same as the main building: grass roofing, with a fabric net inside. The cockroaches seemed to love it in the family apartment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
47
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Situate only 10 minutes from the Andisibe reserve and around 20mins from Vakona private reserve / lemur island.
This is a camp of well built and cosy "rondavel" type huts built around a swimming pool and dining room.

The swimming pool was clean and well maintained, though a little chilly in August.

The rooms are clean and well maintained. gas geyser type shower was a bit quirky and took a bit of fiddling with to get the right mix of heat and pressure. However this is backwoods Madagascar so it's probably at least a million times better than local facilities,
The bed was comfortable, complete with mosquito net.
Comfy chairs on verandah,where it was pleasant to sit. Eerily one can hear the cry of the Indri from the nearby reserve.

Lighting is by Low wattage bulbs run from a central and somewhat noisy generator. It's not so bad really, and certainly no worse than for example, being on a boat. However, it's easy to sleep,as its turned off at around 10ish.
Make sure you have a torch if you want to burn the midnight oil.

Food was basic and typical of most lodges in rural Madagascar. It was the only place where we were asked if we had any special dietary requirements.
The charming and cheerful hostess Henriette made every effort to make our stay comfortable, and certainly went the extra mile to help and assist us.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyAsbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We also stayed here as part of an organised tour in Madagscar. While most of the rooms were separate bungalow style, my friend and myself stayed in the 'family room' which was above the restaurant in the main building. This room was obviously generous in size for the two of us but would also have been more than adequate for a group. It contained two single and two double beds, along with a small dining table with four chairs, and four armchairs. There were no mosquito nets in the room as we were told mosquitoes did not come up to the top floor. This sounded like flawed logic to us but I must admit we did not hear or see any mosquitoes throughout our stay.
The bathroom was a separate room around the corner and was also a good-sized space with great water pressure in the shower.
I must also reiterate the praise of other reviewers regarding the host of the hotel. She was incredibly welcoming and helpful. She obviously takes great joy from her job and works hard to give her guests an enjoyable and memorable stay. Myself and my friend even asked her to do some washing for us. She returned it, freshly washed and pressed. And had even done some repairs on a pair of pants that I hadnt noticed were ripped. I had to look so closely to even find where she had done the repair because her work was so neat!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKW479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of an organised tour of Madagascar. The location is good for the National Park and the rooms were decent enough, simple, as you might expect in this area, but the mosquito nets were too small for the beds. It is also worth noting that the electricity is not 24hours. The food at the hotel was excellent and clearly made fresh.

However, the standout feature of this hotel is the welcome and hospitality of the host. She was always smiling, keen to engage in conversation and seemed genuinely interested in how we as guests were. She was, without doubt, the person who gave us the most hospitable welcome in the whole of our trip. A truly remarkable woman!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceri74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Grace Lodge is very very basic but we were greeted by the friendliest, most hospitable person I have ever met, Henrietta. What an amazing character.

We were there in August. The weather was very cold and the rooms had no heaters, so it was difficult to sleep. The rooms were basic, unattractive and the mosquito nets were too small for the bed. The power is switched off at 10PM so remember to bring a torch with you. There is hot water but the pressure is not very strong.

There is dinner available but was not good at all. The only thing I can recommend would be Hendietta who is very hospitable. I would definitely not stay here again.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oresti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Wonderful family run collection of bungalows in a spacious garden area full of local plants. Our host could not be kinder or do enough for us. The restaurant was very good, especially the breakfast. The bungalows were simple but with hot water and mosquito nets. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Grace Lodge provides basic but adequate accomodation in a rustic setting. Room was small but fine for a two-night stay. Electricity is switched off about 10pm. Round the clock instant hot water from the gas-fired shower was most welcome. Mosquito net was pretty but not very effective. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, toast and eggs. A three course fixed-menu dinner is available at reasonable cost. There is a small swimming pool but the water was too cold to entice me in...my stay was in mid-winter ( July ). The extensive gardens have yet to mature and look like a work in progress with tree stumps scattered around the site.
Star of the show is, without doubt, Henrietta who gave us a masterclass in hospitality. She was there to welcome us and to wave us off. At mealtime she was available to explain the menu and offer alternatives to vegetarians and others on special diets. Henrietta gave us many insights into life in Madagascar and even gave us a lesson in Malagasy. Later she carefully wrote down several phrases on sheets of paper which she gave to each of the 11 in our group.
I have no hesitation in recommending Grace Lodge to travellers who can appreciate simple comforts.

Room Tip: The thatched bungalows near the pool look attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andasibe
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#8 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palissandre Cote Ouest Resort - Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
#1 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Jardin du Roy
Le Jardin du Roy
#2 of 2 in Isalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Lodge

Property: Grace Lodge
Address: Andasibe, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Andasibe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Andasibe
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Grace Lodge Madagascar/Andasibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing