We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hated this place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mapula Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mapula Lodge
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hated this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We couldn't wait to leave. My son and I visited in July for 3 nights on the advice of our travel agent who is an Africa expert. The staff are really pleasant and the guide and tracker worked hard to find game for us - we did see plenty. However, the rooms are open-air and have fly screens instead of walls. as you can imagine this doesnt keep out the sounds of the countless insects, hippos and baboons playing you the song of their people. they have lots of holes so the insects are not kept out, plus there are gaping cracks in the doors one of which my son could put his fingers through and of course the door has no lock. The sun shines in with no blinds and it gets really hot on the afternoon when you need to try to get some sleep because the hippos make so much noise outside the room most of the night that we were becoming more tired each day. It becomes hot and humid in the rooms and with no fans it is very uncomfortable in the afternoons. you can't turn on a light after dark as mosquitoes and insects come in through the holes in and around the doors as well as the fly screens. mosquitoes, wasps and spiders abound. electricity is available 3 hours in the morning & evening - you get hot water after the generator has run but the outdoor shower is not for evening use unless you want to be mosquito food. The food was not to our taste at all. No power points available in rooms and no access to Internet. If you love camping this is probably great for you. If you asked me my advice for staying here I could sum it up in one word-don't.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Every room is situated on the river and I can guarantee whatever room you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Athena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    19
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Wonderful game viewing, wonderful facility and wonderful staff especially our two guides Simon and Karl. Mapula is superbly located on the edge of a lagoon which is overlooked from the rooms and eating and bar areas. The staff are very kind and friendly and did all they could to make our three night stay so enjoyable. We have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIchaelandJo477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

A beautiful setting with very comfortable accommodation. The outside shower was great. This lodge has extremely friendly and attentive staff. The food was very well presented and delicious (well doneCharleston). Our game viewing was very good with enthusiastic tracker KT. Our guide Michael worked very hard at finding us great sightings. Beautiful pool. Very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanieBello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The lodge is in the middle of the game preserve with access by boat. Wild life is all around you. One night we heard hippo's chomping on grass near out cabin. The staff is wonderful and extremely attentive. They will even do your laundry (but not underwear). The food is delicious and attractively served. They happily and easily accommodated my request for vegetarian cuisine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Mapula Lodge mid November and had an amazing experience. It is a beautiful location and very close to nature. The cabins were spacious and clean and the outside shower a treat. Our first day we saw a pack of wild dogs. How amazing. Two huge hippo had a fight 10' from our cabin at about 2 in the morning. Food and staff were very good. We would go back any time. It is so refreshing to stay somewhere where everyone is genuinely lovely, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you looking the realy wild place - Mapula is for you! Hippos, elephants and lions are nearby! Good fishing facilities! Excelent game rangers - Mozila is the best! Car, boat and mekoro tours were very interesting. Helpfull staff, good kitchen. Very nice and clean cholets. It was the best sleeping place for me. Thanks a lot from all our team(12 persons) which spent 3 amaising nights in Mapula!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jovaras P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We enjoyed our staying at this lodge. We appreciate the kindness of the staff and in particular of our guides Mozilla and Simon even if we were not able to see leopard! We heard all nights steps and noises of hippos and elephants eating grass just under our veranda. Rooms are "Flistone-Style"- but very nice and clean. The chef prepared really special food. The location of the lodge is. difficult to imagine, is completely isolated, to arrive to the lodge you must take a truck (20minutes from the airstrip) and also a motorboat...great experience, a fantastic place nestled is the wilderness

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
0.7 mi away
Cresta Riley's
Cresta Riley's
#1 of 2 in Maun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
54.3 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
64.9 mi away
Machaba Camp
Machaba Camp
#1 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
58.1 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
47.1 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#19 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mapula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mapula Lodge

Property: Mapula Lodge
Address: Moremi National Park | P. O. Box 22149, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mapula Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Mapula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mapula Hotel Maun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing