We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely accommodations and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mapula Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mapula Lodge
Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodations and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The concession is beautiful and the location and design of the lodge are excellent. Loved the rooms and the views from the beautiful verandahs. The "wear" in the room we had was really minimal. Food is fine and staff and management were as pleasant and attentive as I would wish for. The only issue I have (and it's a big one for me personally) is that when the lodge was really full, two guides was not really enough to comfortably take care of all the guests. It all gets a bit crowded and has to be quite regimented. Vehicle problems compounded this issue, and there was a lot of water around (making offroading and tracking a bit dificult). To be fair, we still had a great time, and the same "issues" of vehicle overcrowding are common to many other camps in southern Africa. We'd certainly return but there are a number of other places we'd return to first.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pablomeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    19
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg RSA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We spent a few days at Mapula lodge last week - we saw great wildlife and brilliant birding! Lions killed and ate a warthog on the airstrip.

They are upgrading the lodge and it is very comfortable and relaxed. The food was outstanding.
We can certainly reccommed it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same - we preferred to be close to the main area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaylyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

The authentic staff, beautiful and diverse scenery, knowledgeable guide, fabulous food, amazing animals/birds and personal service is outstanding. Unfortunately the significant infrastructure issues - broken vehicles, radios and generator significantly impacted our stay. Due to a vehicle break down on an evening ride, we were uncomfortably stranded (frightening!!) in the bush well into nightfall. We eventually were "rescued" (by tractor- the backup vehicle was out of commission also!) - missed the last night celebration and following day ride. If you have booked what I think was once a gem of place with a company, ask them when was the last time they did a sight visit - changes are desperately needed. I understand that the owner is responding to these issues - but CHECK BEFORE YOU GO!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seattletravelers_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

In mid september , 2011 my brother and I spent three fun filled days at Mapula lodge located in the remote wilderness of the Okavongo Delta of Botswana. The camp has the essentials for the ultimate bush experience without any annoying "luxuries." Specifically, each chalet has a front porch from where an elephant will greet you each evening. In addition, the main lodge area is adjacent to a lagoon from where you may escape in a mocoro ( canoe). The bar is a 6 seat "tiki bar" 50 feet from the main dining lodge. Here you may imbibe local favorites like Saint Louis Beer and Amarulah ( similar to Kalua) as well as an international assortment of liquors, beer and wine. The "luxuries" of indoor shower, television and cell phone service are missing; but I think you will agree that we are better off without them.

The safris in the open jeep are superb. They are real adventures in search of wild game. This place is not like Kruger National Park in which you travel on a paved road, spotting game as they amble across the open plains. On the contrary, visitors to Mapula find themselves as castmemebers of real life adventure in which wild elephants, lions, zebras and giraffs pop out from behind bushes and trees as you trek through fields and streams . Unlike the state owned game parks, at Mapula te jeep travels off road and frequently through streams as much as 3 feet deep in search of elusive beasts.
Our guide was Dix and our tracker was Simon. These men grew up in the Okavongo Delta and understand the lion and elephant better than we understand dogs and cats. Dix was constantly amazing us with his ability to read the minds of the elephants. He would approach each one differently depending upon various circumstances including their age and sexual orientation. The result was a safe but exciting adventure.

Of the several safari camps we visited in Botswana, Mapula is the least pretentious and the least commercial. When you arrive, no one there will give you a speech extolling the unique qualities of Mapula Lodge and the surrounding delta. The place speaks for itself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

Dicks was a great guide and with tracker Mike's help we saw a wide variety of wildlife, well worth the trip. Flooding is a problem this time of year, making it difficult to get around; but temperatures are perfect, a real plus. The Lodge has electricity many hours and on-demand hot water, which not all camps do. Food is good, but they were out of some drinks due to supply problems with the flooding. Staff was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigMNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

Heaven on earth is the only way to describe this place. Magnificent location overlooking beautiful, clean water. Very comfortable accommodation, which is exquisitely charming with rustic use of timber, quaint tin baths and open showers. Great staff, guides and trackers. A real team / family feeling. Fantastic safaris. It cannot be too highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveller234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

We visited Mapula at the end of our African adventure and we were very glad we did.

Maybe it was our arrival on a private airstrip - being personally greeted by the friendly staff waiting for us and immediately seeing zebra and elephants on the journey to the lodge; perhaps it was the wonderful rustic 'room' which practically felt like you were on the delta itself with it's amazing outdoor shower (only a little scary at night!); I'm sure it had lots to do with all of the animals we saw - late nov/early dec was actually a great time to visit - there was hardly anyone else there so we had the safaris practically to ourselves and all of the baby animals were amazing. We also loved the special touches they provided and we had lots of fun with the guides each day. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone.

Mapula was easily our favourite place to stay in Africa - it was a combination mostly of the people (the drivers, the guides, the managers, the cooks), the rooms on the delta and even the fact that a 'baby' hippo practically moved in as we were leaving.

We can only hope to go back. Thank you Mapula.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderlusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
0.7 mi away
Cresta Riley's
Cresta Riley's
#1 of 2 in Maun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
58.1 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge
#4 of 41 in Maun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Peo Luxury Apartments
Peo Luxury Apartments
#29 of 41 in Maun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#34 of 71 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mapula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mapula Lodge

Property: Mapula Lodge
Address: Moremi National Park | P. O. Box 22149, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mapula Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mapula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mapula Hotel Maun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing