We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
132
20
5
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
132
20
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower expert guide game drives other guests leopard cubs great mix internet service stayed nights wonderful experience bush dinner dugout canoe dietary requirements rooms are lovely family tent three days close to nature grilled meat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 159 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2017

This is a nice camp, although not as impressive as the other Wilderness Safari camps at which we stayed in southern Africa (e.g., Little Kulala, Hoanib, Chitabe Lediba, and Linkwasha). The tents were nice, but, again, less impressive than the accommodations at the other WS camps. The staff was very courteous and responsive to our needs and our guide was good.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Tubu Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Thank you Steve for your kind review, we are glad to see you enjoyed your time with us even though it was not of the same standard of Wilderness Safaris you have come accustomed to. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our great staff in camp.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017

My wife and I had thought the tents at Aman-i-Khas were already pretty impressive. Little did we know that those in Tubu Tree and Savuti camps would bring us to totally new levels of luxury tent-dwelling.

Raised above ground on a sturdy wooden platform, each tent at Tubu Tree is effectively a suite, easily accommodating a large, comfortable bed with mosquito net, behind which is the open wardrobe with battery-operated electronic safe. A long, double-basin vanity is placed along the tent's back wall. On opposite sides are the shower stall and sit-down flush toilet. Hot and cold running water with eco-friendly bath amenities come as standard.

Tent #5 is accessed via a wooden swing door on one side. Another swing door on the opposite side opens to a raised walkway that leads to the outdoor shower with separate shower heads for Him and Her.

At the foot of the bed is a large wooden storage chest. A jug of drinking water and glasses rest on a small folding table on one side of the bed. Further along, in one corner is a writing desk with a chair. In the opposite corner are two stuffed chairs with a small coffee table. The front of the tent has sliding doors which open onto a wide veranda with two cushioned metal chairs and a table; perfect for reading or enjoying the close-up views of wandering wildlife.

Each tent's thick thatched roof insulates effectively against heat. Light switches are well-positioned. While lack of air-conditioning and WiFi were not a problem, the absence of hairdryers did force some in our party to re-think their daily routine since we were committed to wake-up calls at 0600hrs, followed by breakfast at 0630hrs and morning game drives from 0700hrs.

It was fortuitous that we had scheduled 3 nights at Tubu Tree, followed by 2 each at Selinda and Savuti camps. Unexpected visa problems caused two of our party to arrive on the second day at Tubu Tree, and the final two flew in on our last day there. Lady Luck continued smiling on us as our incredible guides, Phenyo, Kambango and Kaizer made sure that amidst the good meals, friendly service and multitude of elephants, red lechwe, impala, kudu and avifauna, none of us missed sighting the leopard, lionesses and cubs, African wild dogs and a lioness killing a wildebeest.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biketrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Tubu Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Dear biketrekker,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled to see that even though things were a little rocky in the start you enjoyed your stay with us and the rest of your journey through Africa. We hope you all got some wonderful photos of all your wonderful sightings and hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

We had a great time at Tubu Tree Camp! John, Dominique and all the staff at the camp were so helpful and we had an awesome time with them! We were a large group and they were very accommodating throughout our stay. Our guide, Phenyo was amazing! He was fun, relaxed and we saw lots of beautiful wildlife! The food and accommodations were lovely. Beautiful views all around. Overall an excellent experience in Botswana!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank RachelleY24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Tubu Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Dear Rachelle,

Thank you for the fabulous review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with john, Dominique, and all the great staff in camp. We will be sure to share your beautiful words with them all - especially Phenyo. We hope you will all visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, welcome choir, welcome drink, and then settled into our tented room.

Not far from the airstrip, about 10 mins away.

Our guide was Steven who was excellent and took care of every detail, and kept our two young children entertained :)

The game drives were amazing and we also went on the steel boat, which is not to be missed, it was excellent.

Unfortunately we did not see any leopard, but lion pride kept us entertained with their cubs :). The bird life is amazing! The photography opportunities are plentiful.

The food at the camp was very good, and they also catered for vegetarians. The dinner near the firepit was great one evening.

Having been to a few other wilderness camps, I felt this one missed something, I cannot pin point it, but call it a lack of personality. Don't get me wrong, every single staff was amazing and attentive, and helpful, but it felt like we were just in a process I guess.

I would visit again :)

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank pshah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Tubu Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Dear pshah99,

Thank you for the fabulous review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and glad you loved the experience of on the waters around camp. We will be sure to share your kind words with Steven and all the great staff in camp and sincerely hope you will visit us again so that we may have the opportunity to share the full personality of Tubu Tree with you as well as track down the leopard to complete your photo collection.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017

We stayed 2 nights at Tubu Tree with our teenage daughters. The camp is beautiful, the views superb, the tents are lovely, the housekeeping fantastic and the guiding was wonderful. We loved almost everything about it. However, I would say that for our family there were a couple of small issues that could be improved and are things for people to understand - depending on their personalities and specific needs. It's important for families to note - once you return to your tent, you are in it for the night as you cannot move outside without a guide due to safety. That means that you cannot "hang as a family" on your own after about 8:30 pm. Although this was true in every lodge we stayed in in Africa (and we understand it completely), at Tubu Tree the constant communal meals and presence of guides and managers when in the common areas meant that there was little opportunity for private "family time". For our less "stranger comfortable" family, that made some moments a little uncomfortable. We preferred the "mixture" of some communal meals and some separate meals that we had at other lodges. Also, we felt that Tubu needs to raise the quality of the food. However, I would still highly recommend it for people who a) love mingling with new people and aren't looking for a private experience and b) aren't serious "foodies". The food was decent just not extraordinary.

Room tip: If you're staying with children, you will want the "family tent"
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EH179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Tubu Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Dear EH179,

Thank you for your kind review and we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all your guided adventures on Hunda Island. We are sorry to see that you did not enjoy the communal dining that is offered in camp and wish we had known during your stay. We understand completely that this is not everyone's "cup of tea" and in such cases, where possible, camp management and staff will be more than happy to make the necessary arrangements and arrange a private dining experience for you. We are sorry this was not done for you and hope you will come back soon so that we can make this right for you.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews