We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Game Viewing”
Review of Camp Moremi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Moremi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2008

Camp Moremi was one of the best lodge experiences that we had, and it is interesting to reflect how this lodge delivered, although it is not five star. But it is very professionally managed, and the staff are so enthusiastic and friendly that it makes all the difference.

The Camp has quite a number of game vehicles, perhaps five or even six, so that the guide has plenty of feedback of game sightings to work off. A side effect of this is that pretty much everybody will turn up on a large lion sighting, which is a bit of a pity. However we saw lots of game, with the exception of cheetah and buffalo. We were lucky enough to see leopard with cubs on a kill. And we had a close encounter with a black mamba which was a tad more worrying, given that their bites can be fatal.

The rooms were very attractive, save only that the bathrooms are quite separate, and thus it can be cold in winter going to the toilet. One might also be a tad worried, given that lion and hippo move through the camp. The camp has electric fencing, but designed pretty much to only keep out giraffe and elephant. One is not allowed to walk between the rooms and the main buildings after dark, because of this risk.

Due to the way that the meals are served, we were able to mingle with folks not on our game drive vehicle, and this we felt was a very nice feature that is often not the way game lodges are run. But this was one of our best experiences.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 288 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2007

We visited camp Moremi after the beginning of the rainy season. While the wildlife was not in abundance nevertheless there were wonderful sightings of giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, impala, lechwe with their young ones. Other sightings included black mamba, eagles, vultures, male lion, countless other species of birds, crocodiles, and hippos. Of note, not all game drives were fruitful, but the scenery held our interest especially the dead tree island. Presumably the dry season experience is even better.

We were impressed by the hospitality of the hosts and guides. The managers went out of their way to see to our comfort. The guides' knowledge and experience shone through during our game drives. The food was good and the kitchen catered to all sorts of dietary restrictions. The laundry service which is included in the rate was expedient making it possible for us to travel quite lightly.

The tented cabin is rustic but comfortable as expected. The bathroom is not en suite; It shares the porch with the cabin. The other cabins are within earshot and sight making it possible to hear our neighbor's conversation if conducted loudly.

A tip: my family contacted several travel agencies and received several different quotes for booking this camp; there was $1000 difference at times between the quotes for the same services.
Transfer to and fro from the camp takes place via small planes and if one is susceptible to motion sickness, recommend prophylaxis accordingly.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgeThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2007

Okavango Delta itself and Botswana in total are so great. I have been a great fan of South Africa but Botswana comes directly after my South Affrica. It is more near-natural than in SA. It is still (luckily) unspoilt from the mass tourism and it´s very beautiful. if you wish a unique safari without lots of tourism you have to go there. In SA I have seen over the past years travelling , there the animals are so much used to the people and range rovers in the parcs that the animals are living like a goldfish in the bowl. But in Botswana the animals are far away from this. I only can recommend it. Okavango is very expensive but it´s worth every penny. For sure it is still too expensive for this country but unfortunately -like it is in SA already the same, -there is so much "supply and demand" that they can ask for that much money because the tourits pay for it.

I really liked it at Camp Moremi. The food is so excellent and U have lots of variety. Also the rangers are so funny and very good. They do everything which makes your stay unique. The tents are great and the bathroom "hut" which is outside the sleeping tent has modern standards. the rangers Lucky and Mike are so great. Go with them on a safari. I hope to come back one day to Camp Moremi.

  • Stayed: February 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Claudia_CPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2006

Moremi Camp is clean and well-organized. It had beautiful grounds and comfortable rooms. They served excellent food in a stylish dining area and bar. The staff sings nightly before serving dinner. The game drives were the best as we saw 3 different leopards, lion, zebra, red lechwe, impala, hippo, to name a few animals. The various birds here were spectacular as well and I’m not a birder. This is a great place to stay in Moremi Game Reserve

Stayed: October 2006
11  Thank Hates_Flying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2006

We have just returned from a trip which included 3 nights in Camp Moremi and really cannot recommend it highly enough. The location on the edge of the Delta was just perfect ...we were able to access dry land and water wildlife very easily. The tents were the last word in beautiful bush luxury and the food was amazing. Meals were incredibly sociable ...you dine with your fellow guests the manager (s) and your guide.

The camp had other frequent (uninvited, non-paying but totally wonderful) guests. We did not have the pleasure of meeting Alison the pet 3 mt crocodile but she was around, as were a pair of mating leopard . Hippo visited every night. The marula tree in the middle of the camp was full of fruit when we were there so we had nightly visits from a very friendly and very enormous bull elephant who loved marula fruit. Finding him grazing a mt. from our tent as we were leaving for dinner was one of the many, many highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank ire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank leotta1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Non si sceglie: sono solo 12 suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank contestecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moremi Game Reserve hotels
33.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#5 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
232 reviews
40.6 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
229 reviews
4.4 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#23 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
10 reviews
45.6 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
80 reviews
27.3 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#13 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Moremi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Moremi

Address: Xakanaxa Lagoon | Okavango Delta, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: $849 - $4,154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Moremi is owned and operated by Desert & Delta Safaris, Botswana. Camp Moremi is located n the edge of the Xaxanaka Lagoon, in the heart of Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana. The camp has eleven tented rooms, all raised on teak decks, each with adjacent toilet/shower room.Camp Moremi also has a private swimming pool, raised lookout deck, garden boma which serves breakfast, brunches and afternoon tea and the main lodge building is a raised tree house which houses a lounge, small reference library, bar, restaurant and expansive decked verandah. Your stay at Camp Moremi is a fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, all drinks, scheduled guided safari activities, laundry service, National Park entrance fees and medical evacuation insurance. Scheduled activities include both land and water activities in the form of guides game drives and boat activities within the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Camp Moremi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Moremi Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing