We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we stayed one more night”
Review of Camp Moremi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Moremi
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish we stayed one more night”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I'll start by saying I put a lot of weight on these trip advisor comments and from the comments I read and for the price we paid, I had high standards for this place. I was a bit weary about the bathrooms being separate from the tents, but willing to give it a try (only learned after booking that they were remodeling/enclosing). I have to say, camp moremi exceeded my expectations. Perhaps it was because it was newly renovated so everything felt brand new, but I think it was more than that. I think the staff was great, the facilities were great and the food was great. Everyone was always smiling. We spent two nights there before heading off to Victoria falls and I'm disappointed that we didn't stay one more night. The bedroom tent is now connected to the bathroom tent by a larger tent that encloses the two. You still have to go out the door to get into the bathroom, but I felt perfectly safe at night. As other people have mentioned, you hear wildlife at night (we had a hippo eating just outside of our tent!) and that is why I liked it. There is no internet or phone service and normally I'm fine with that. Unfortunately, my family needed to get a hold of me to pass on an important message and it just waited until my return (no fault of the camp). The electricity does go out at 10PMish, so you need to charge things during the day... but that is no big deal because you have plenty of time after lunch and before high tea to do whatever you want around the camp.

One thing to note. I have been on safari previously to Kruger. In my limited experience, I found that the wildlife viewing may be better there (we saw the big 5 in kruger, but not in Botswana). Still, it was great to see different terrain... I loved experiencing the delta and I felt like because there was more brush (as compared to Kruger) the guides are better at tracking via footprints and animal calls. I learned a lot about tracking during this trip (our guide was Lets). Also, though you don't see the big animals on the boat safari (besides hippos and maybe elephants from afar), I highly recommend doing it for the change in perspective. We saw crocs, birds and learned about various plant life. We also saw a hippo breaching like a dolphin... I'll probably never see something like that again in my life.

I highly recommend camp moremi!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lys_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Moremi, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind and comprehensive review of your recent stay at Camp Moremi. We are so pleased that your expectations were exceeded and are very happy that our staff made such a warm impact on your experience. We look forward to having you come stay with us again. Many thanks and regards, Setch and the Camp Moremi team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    44
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
161
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Camp Moremi is lovely. With a maximum of number of 22 people it is very intimate and not overcrowed. The grounds are well kept with a lounge area to relax on the comfy couches and read animal magazines. The bar is open all day long. The boat ride through the Okavango Delta was nice. And watching the sunset over the water was lovely. The staff are so helpful and friendly and always remember your name.
The tents were lovely with a balcony out the back. To had to make sure you locked your doors so the baboons didn't come in and try on your clothes!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiekrivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Moremi, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review of Camp Moremi. We are pleased that you had a good time with us and certainly, we look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future. With kind regards, Setch and the Camp Moremi team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Camp Moremi is absolutely beautiful. It lies beside a wide lagoon and has lush green lawns and huge trees all around. Last time we were there one had to walk out of the bedroom tent and across a deck to the bathroom which was pretty frightening at night with animal noises sounding very close. Since then the area between bathroom and bedroom is roofed with canvas and one feels much safer. When I say bedroom tent it is actually very luxurious with a proper solid wooden door and very attractively furnished. The bedroom/bathroom area is on a raised deck and one feels perfectly safe. We loved breakfast and brunch in the boma and then dinner in the more formal dining room. As well as game viewing one can go out in a boat. The game viewing in Moremi is spectacular. The staff at the lodge are well trained and friendly.

Room Tip: For sleep quality I gave very good and not excellent because one does hear the animals occasionally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The manager host at our last dinner at Camp Moremi told the gathered guests that this was an extended family, and that "we meet to part ways, and part ways to meet again".

This is most definitely true!

Although most people would visit Camp Moremi for the wildlife, for the beauty of the Xakanaxa Lagoon and for the peace and serenity of the place, we found the staff at Camp Moremi to be the highlight! BK, John, Banaki, Renny, Dikobo (aka Coca), Salani, Frank, Banda, LB, Mowana, Charlie and all the rest of the staff do everything in their power to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

If you allow yourself to open up to them, and to your fellow guests, you will certainly feel that this becomes your home from home (sans television, radio, cellphones, computers, and even electricity after the last guest goes to bed), and your hosts and fellow guests become family.

The tented rooms are comfortable but not overly luxurious. (And the canvas walls takes a beating from the resident baboon troop's antics.) Each room is situated in such a way that you are aware of the others but still enjoy privacy. Wooden decks from the bedroom make a very nice spot for relaxing with a book or to chat with your travel companion.

You will eat too much (maybe add a small gym / exercise room, DDS?), relax a lot, enjoy the company, enjoy the best sunsets cruising the Xakanaxa Lagoon,learn about wildlife (big and small), plants, insects and birds.

But - above all - you will have your faith in the goodness of humanity restored and leave wanting to return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ribbie_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Moremi, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We thank you sincerely for your wonderful review of your stay at Camp Moremi. This has been shared with the Management and staff of Camp Moremi, specifically with those who you have mentioned. This type of feedback is incredibly motivating and sincerely generous. We are very glad that our team has made such a positive impact on your stay with us. This is what we are trying so hard to achieve. With kindest regards, big smiles and warm safari greetings - Camp Moremi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights here the camp is permenent tents they are very comfortable we slept well we saw lots of lions leapards Letts the guide we had was brilliant all the staff was brilliant the food was great would recomend this to anyone

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Moremi, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Camp Moremi. We are delighted that you had a great safari experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future. With warm regards, Setch and the team at Camp Moremi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great experience but you need to know a few things - it will be the case in other camps as well...it is a remote area so

- your phone won t work
- there is no internet
- Main power is switch off around 10-10.30pm, so you need to charge your camera during the day.
- only way to communicate with the world is by letters
- You can t walk by yourself in the evening inside the Camp and you need to be escorted to your room in the evening.
- There are no barriers to stop small animals like lions, hippos, etc to come in the camp, Elephants can t get in though;-)
- You need to eat when told and you are on a schedule
- Toilets are outside your lodge, but they are rebuilding it as we speak, should be ready soon I guess. toilets will be in the lodge in the future.

I actually loved the place... and these are only minor details... but I did not know about it, and got my family worried as I coudn t contact them. Safaris were good. We saw some Hyenas eating an hyppo. And Management there is great! Entertainement is good in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sachia21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Moremi, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for your review of Camp Moremi. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Indeed, the vast majority of our guests come to Botswana and our properties to get away from the pressures of modern man made appliances and conveniences to experience what the true and natural world is about. We will endeavor to try and maintain that element as it is largely appealing to almost all safari seekers. Camp Moremi is currently undergoing major rebuild on our rooms. In early March 2013 we will re-open with 12 guest rooms, all rebuilt and substantially larger than what they were during your visit. The bathrooms to each unit are now also under the cover of one big roof and will accessed through an "atrium" attached to the bedroom area of the tent. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Camp Moremi in the near future. With warm African greeting, Setch, Charity and the Camp Moremi team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Camp Moremi is the sister lodge of Savute Safari Lodge in Chobe. The accommodation is in the style of permanent tents, and the camp is about to undergo renovations in early 2013, this will include enclosing the area between the bedroom and bathroom - which will be good given for those who don't like to make the dash at night in the outdoors!
As with Savute the welcome was warm and friendly, and the staff were helpful and informative. We decided we wanted a night in and even though there is no room service, the staff were happy to deliver to our tent - no request was too hard.
If you go during wet season expect a lot of water on the roads (we got bogged on our first game drive), and some rain.
Two nights is more than enough in this location. The boat ride is a must given the main focus in this area is the waterways. If you love bird watching this is a great location .... and there are plenty of Hippos as well.

Room Tip: A great location for bird watchers. Two night stay is long enough to see the sights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaileyC_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Moremi, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Many thanks for your review of Camp Moremi. We are well in the throws of the refurbishments on the rooms now and are really looking forward to opening the "New" Camp Moremi to our travelers in the new year. We understand that your opinions on the roads, the areas and possibly your overall experience could have been affected by the fact that we had experienced relatively heavy rains at the time of your visit. We assure you that this is not representative of most other times of the year. We appreciate your visit at Camp Moremi with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best wishes, the Management and staff of Camp Moremi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moremi Game Reserve hotels
33.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
213 reviews
27.0 mi away
Machaba Camp
Machaba Camp
#1 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
222 reviews
5.1 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.3 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#21 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5 reviews
40.6 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#9 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Moremi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Moremi

Property: Camp Moremi
Address: Xakanaxa Lagoon | Okavango Delta, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Moremi is owned and operated by Desert & Delta Safaris, Botswana. Camp Moremi is located n the edge of the Xaxanaka Lagoon, in the heart of Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana. The camp has eleven tented rooms, all raised on teak decks, each with adjacent toilet/shower room.Camp Moremi also has a private swimming pool, raised lookout deck, garden boma which serves breakfast, brunches and afternoon tea and the main lodge building is a raised tree house which houses a lounge, small reference library, bar, restaurant and expansive decked verandah. Your stay at Camp Moremi is a fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, all drinks, scheduled guided safari activities, laundry service, National Park entrance fees and medical evacuation insurance. Scheduled activities include both land and water activities in the form of guides game drives and boat activities within the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Camp Moremi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Moremi Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing