We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing game viewing”
Review of Camp Moremi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Moremi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I visited Camp Moremi in June and had such a wonderful time. The staff here are fantastic and really seemed to know what the animals in the reserve were doing at the moment and where to find them. We saw a wild dog with her puppies which was amazing. Moremi Game Reserve really does offer fantastic game viewing. The tents were fine, do not be concerned about the bathroom being a few steps from your bedroom tent and there was plenty of hot water. In the evenings when it was cool that staff gave us hot water bottles and blankets. I am already saving to get back to Camp Moremi!

Room Tip: If you are nervous about the bush ask for a tent nearer the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 296 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed two nights as part of a Desert and Delta package of three fly-in camps in Chobe and the Okavango. We were met at the strip by Nelson and Ollie who looked after us brilliantly. Our rooms were tented on teak decks with verandah and adjacent toilet block on the same deck. Our guide was Selani who was patient and extremely knowledgeable about all wildlife in the area. Even after ten years in the delta he is gobsmacked by the beauty of it. Be prepared for water to flood through the floor boards of the Toyota as the water is deep in places-but after a while it no longer seems inplortant relative to what appears in front of you every few minutes. We watched a rare serval for twenty minutes, including a major (but unsuccessful) pounce. Selani found a male lion in his prime for us along with a herd of elephant that went way past a hundred,
Food was very good throughout the day, and table service at night,. The choir was marvellous and introduced each evening in a hilarious and rather touching way. Fire at the boma and escorted back to our rooms. Sundowners were excellent, including an unforgettable sunset on the river. Probably the best two nights we have ever had.

Room Tip: It is unbelievably dark at night. Use the torch to go the ten feet from your room to the washroom, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

First the great things about this camp...the guides are great, the homemade bread at every meal is out of this world, the ecosystem on water and savannah leads to lots of game diversity, the water drives are so different from the usual outing, the game drive vehicles are comfy and the blankets and hot water bottles for early drives are much appreciated. Frank led a great boat ride and his knowledge of the plants and bird life was astounding. Our drive-guide Banda was so experienced and knowledgeable; just ask him about the stars overhead and he will fill you in on everything in the heavens. Being greeted by the staff with a "welcome home" and warm towels each time a game drive ended just felt so welcoming. So many good things.

What is not so good was staying at the camp in cold weather because it is not designed for that. The tented rooms with screen window coverings and thin drapes don't hold whatever body heat you may produce and there surely aren't any heaters. The bathrooms have walls on only three sides; not only does one have to ditch any modesty when showering but these essentially open air showers are very cold on cool mornings. Even on a 40 degree windy morning the breakfast was served in the open air boma when an enclosed dining room was available. That seems more a management decision failure than a logistics problem to move the breakfast foods.

Finally, the furniture in the tents needs to be upgraded. We had a single mosquito net stretched over two twin beds pushed together. The thing was so small it fell onto our faces at night and was very uncomfortable. A complaint in the morning got this resolved. The mattresses are very hard here and need to be upgraded to a better quality, such as those found at Savute or Xugana. Both of those Desert and Delta properties were top notch. This place is definitely a step down from those and is over priced in comparison to them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MargaretEllen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed for three nights at Camp Moremi and it's certainly not camping as I've experienced it in the past. The tents are large and roomy. There was a beautiful deck out back which was lovely to sit on in the afternoon sunshine. The toilet was plumbed in and the shower was nice and hot. No shared facilities here. The boat cruises were also terrific. All the meals were tasty and delicious and there was certainly plenty of food. While all this was great, it's really the staff that make this camp special. There was always someone to greet you when you returned from a game drive. The staff choir pre dinner was also terrific. Everyone was always friendly and more than helpful. We came to Camp Moremi towards the end of a three month holiday and it was certainly nice to have a place that felt like a home away from home. We'd love to go back.

Room Tip: Tent 11 has a lovely tree over the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Rugged with the most amazing touches of utter elegance. After a 4 wheel drive through rugged terrain and some waterways, you reach Camp Moremi to be greeted with hot towels for your hands and an amazing smiling staff who will make you feel like royal family the entire stay. Cute little tented rooms and exterior private baths are nicely decorated and very clean. Be sure to keep your doors locked so the baboons don't take any of your personal belongings. There are no windows on the tents, just mesh screen to keep out the bugs. We went in winter so it was a little brisk but there are plenty of plush blankets so our sleep was very comfortable. Meals are communal and fresh and nicely prepared. We're vegetarians so they went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of. Activities include daily game drives with a sundown cocktail in the bush. There is a tea and snack at 3:00 each day and dinners follow cocktails at 7:30. A super staff, we really enjoyed meeting and sharing stories with Setch, Kay, B.K. (he's a real charmer), Charity, and our super guide Lets. This is a five star lodge worth every single penny. Prepare to be wowed!

Room Tip: Note that at night you will need an escort to and from your room due to roaming wildlife. This might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

From Setch to Frank to Nelly, the bread maker, the staff could not have been more perfect! Gracious, hospitable, very engaging at meal times, and oh...the food - all homemade is phenomenal! I can't forget the tea brakes during the safari outings - better than any New York City service!
This Camp is truly one worth going to for the staff alone.
How could I forget the wildlife...saw magnificent animals all in the Camp's backyard.
This is a must do!

One more note...the staff sang for us the night we arrived. They have memorable voices and should be in a choir!

Bravo!! And thank you for a truly amazing vacation!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

While offering an exciting African safari experience the team at Moremi make you feel like friends and part of the family. We would love to return and recommend this camp to all travelers to Bostwanna.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandyWestcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
33.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
248 reviews
27.3 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#9 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
64 reviews
40.6 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tuskers Bush Camp
Tuskers Bush Camp
#20 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
6 reviews
19.1 mi away
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safar...
#12 of 73 in Okavango Delta
245 reviews
45.6 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Moremi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Moremi

Address: Xakanaxa Lagoon | Okavango Delta, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: $1,235 - $4,672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Moremi is owned and operated by Desert & Delta Safaris, Botswana. Camp Moremi is located n the edge of the Xaxanaka Lagoon, in the heart of Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana. The camp has eleven tented rooms, all raised on teak decks, each with adjacent toilet/shower room.Camp Moremi also has a private swimming pool, raised lookout deck, garden boma which serves breakfast, brunches and afternoon tea and the main lodge building is a raised tree house which houses a lounge, small reference library, bar, restaurant and expansive decked verandah. Your stay at Camp Moremi is a fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, all drinks, scheduled guided safari activities, laundry service, National Park entrance fees and medical evacuation insurance. Scheduled activities include both land and water activities in the form of guides game drives and boat activities within the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Camp Moremi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Moremi Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing