We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD LODGE BUT...”
Review of Camp Moremi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Moremi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The Camp Moremi is good lodge but not the best. In fact was the last one in this trip and perhaps for this we didn´t like so much. The rooms are in tents with the bathroom outside but everything was nice. Also the restaurants were nice, one for breakfast and lunch another for the dinner. Perhaps the main reason why we didn't like so much was because we didn´t see lots of animals once Moremi has lots of water and the animals don´t need to go to a special place to drink. Anyway was in Moremi where we saw lions in Botswana, last hour of last day but they were there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 296 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed for three nights and had a great time. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent. We had wonderful game drives and boat trips on the river.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sozzie_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We enjoyed this nice and well appointed tented camp, with high standard food, well organised safaris with experienced rangers and a warm atmosphere. We spent 2 nights and we loved the experience of sleeping in the middle of the nature, hearing the animals around you. Even if the temperature was quite low, we liked the outdoor bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny-Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We arrived into Moremi from Camp Okavango (another Desert Delta lodge) and were greeted on arrival by Action and Candy. The service at this lodge was exceptional and everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcome. MC and Michelle do a fabulous job of running this camp and all the staff look like they are having so much fun. We had Banda as our guide, and he found us a leopard on our first game drive. He was so knowledgable and fun to be around. I cannot say enough about all the staff at this lodge, we really felt like royalty at this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We arrived at Camp Moremi around brunch time, which gave us time to settle in before the afternoon game drive which leaves around 3:30pm. On our first drive our guide advised that there were a pride of lions reported some distance from where we were, and if we were all in agreement he could take us there, but would have to drive fast. Off we set and it was like riding a bucking bull, but well worth the trip. We arrived to see a pride of 8 lions, on the move. They had been resting all day and had decided it was time to stretch their legs. We were rewarded with some fabulous scenes.
We made our way back and were further rewarded with a spotting of a leopard with his kill. This leopard kept us entertained for the next two days, we returned to see him with his kill in a tree.
The lodge itself is situated on the Xakanaxa Lagoon and guests can enjoy comfortable Botswana lodge accommodation in an elegant surrounding. Each tent is built on an elevated platform with a separate shower and toilet.
The staff were all extremely polite and friendly, our guide "Peaceman" was professional, considerate and had a wealth of knowledge.
The meals provided were first class, with good variety and you wouldn't think you were in the african bush.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karibabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Camp Moremi was awesome! M.C. and Michelle, the managers, are wonderful! The guides are all great as well. The camp itself is very authentic and comfortably "rustic". At nights we had a blast at the bar and at dinner with the other guests and staff...then at the camp fire afterwards.

The game drives were very eventful! We saw lots of wild dogs!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CourtneyLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Our group was composed of two families with "children" in their early twenties. We started our safari in Moremi (and went on to Camp Okavango and Savute Safari Camp, all operated by Desert and Delta Safaris). We arrived right around brunch time and spent the first few hours captivated by the baboon family that seemed to live right around the premises. During the game drives we saw lots of elephants, heard a large male lion roaring to his distant pride, found the pride of 9 lions and an additional two young males, lots of hippos, leopards, giraffes, zebras and many types of antelopes. Our guides Banda and Kitso were very well informed and entertaining. Our game drives started early in the (winter) morning with blankets and hot water bottles, a nice touch that illustrated the camp management's attention to detail and customer service. The hot water bottles accompanied us to bed,, which were in lovely raised tents with lockable doors (to keep the smart baboons out).
During the game drives, we shifted passenger configurations several times to accomodate our group's different interests in mammals and birds-- great flexibility. The food and drink were wonderful and plentiful -- early breakfast at 6:30 am, snack break during the morning drive, a hefty brunch at 11:30, high tea at 3, sundowners , then dinner! The staff were very well trained and highly solicitous. Michelle and MC, the managers, run a tight ship, but keep the atmosphere informal and casual. Moremi was a fabulous start to an unforgettable safari experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rn123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
33.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
249 reviews
27.3 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#9 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
65 reviews
40.6 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.2 mi away
Tuskers Bush Camp
Tuskers Bush Camp
#20 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
6 reviews
19.1 mi away
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safar...
#12 of 73 in Okavango Delta
245 reviews
45.6 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Moremi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Moremi

Address: Xakanaxa Lagoon | Okavango Delta, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: $1,188 - $4,678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Moremi is owned and operated by Desert & Delta Safaris, Botswana. Camp Moremi is located n the edge of the Xaxanaka Lagoon, in the heart of Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana. The camp has eleven tented rooms, all raised on teak decks, each with adjacent toilet/shower room.Camp Moremi also has a private swimming pool, raised lookout deck, garden boma which serves breakfast, brunches and afternoon tea and the main lodge building is a raised tree house which houses a lounge, small reference library, bar, restaurant and expansive decked verandah. Your stay at Camp Moremi is a fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, all drinks, scheduled guided safari activities, laundry service, National Park entrance fees and medical evacuation insurance. Scheduled activities include both land and water activities in the form of guides game drives and boat activities within the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Camp Moremi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Moremi Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing