We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Camp on the wild side”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Third Bridge Campsite
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Camp on the wild side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We camped here for three nights, two families with 6 children (aged 6-12) and our guides. It is totally in the bush a Hyena visited in the night and found our rubbish and we saw an elephant and a bushbuck at the site. there are also baboons everywhere.
Hot water in the shower block was limited, but they are kept very clean and tidy, the site is very tidy and the reception staff very pleasent and helpful.
It is a wonderful location and on the various trips out into the Maurami game reserve we saw an amazing number of animals and birds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile


Very wild with dangerous animals regularly frequenting your unfenced campsite. We love the wildness and have returned more than 20 times over the years. Be carful, don't underestimate the danger from lions, hippo, hyenas, wild dogs and baboons etc. Do your homework beforehand you come to avoid disappointment or tragedy! Bring all you water needs plus firewood, briquettes as collecting wood is not allowed and the water from the borehole is vile although I have always drunk it and survived. A substantial 4x4 with long range fuel tanks essential. We often had to rescue inexperienced drivers and park officials will tell you about the many vehicles destroyed yearly by trying to enter water too deep etc. other than that have a great trip :)

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank GerryGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Third Bridge campsite is BRILLIANT but you must understand that there is NO fence and the area swarms with predators. The main problems are resident hyenas and occasional lions. The baboons are just a nuisance, if you lock away your food and treat them aggressively when they get too close (as they do us). South Africans often carry a catapult and supply of ball-bearings for hyenas but I find shouting and arm-waving enough. My adult daughter was trapped at midnight once inside the female toilets (they have a metal gate) by several hyenas; eventually they wandered off. She also noticed that they "targeted" me because I limp. We were horrified to see parents leaving small children unguarded here. THIS IS A POTENTIALLY LETHAL THING TO DO, as is tent camping with an entrance unzipped. We always use roof tents. All these remarks apply equally to ALL Northern Botswana campsites, such as the others in Moremi, Savuti and along the Chobe River. The big difference between Third Bridge and the rest is that elephants tend to leave it alone.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
16 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, South-East, Botswana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Camping here is as wild as it gets. One night we had lions in our campsite while we were cooking dinner (not even cooking meat!). The excitement, fear and adrenaline rush was out of this world! We also saw elephants, jackals and hippos wonder around the campsites.

The bathrooms are clean and there is hot water for the showers. Do not walk to the bathrooms at night though, it could be dangerous. Be careful even during the day: lions use the roads/paths that we use because they find it easier to walk where there is no grass. A ranger told us that the day before we arrived, lions walked in front of the reception area, towards the bridge, as early as 4pm. We did not encounter baboons. It is beautifully located, with lots of shade, and there is plenty of game to be seen around the campsites while on game drives.

On the negative side, the company that offers boat rides here wasn´t good. They sent us off (in one of the wildest and remotest places on earth) on a boat that had engine problems. The engine died in the middle of the delta and at sunset. They did not have lights, radio to contact base camp, or even paddles. The guide had a stick that hardly reached ground and he used this to pull the boat back to the dock. We made it back after hours, at night, no light whatsoever, with hippo, crocodile and elephant infested waters. The organizer did not give us our money back, and only offered us a free boat ride on the next day.

The bridge is sometimes in a precarious condition. Needless to say, you need a 4x4 in Moremi.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank okavangowaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We have camped twice in Moremi at different camp sites and feel that Third Bridge is one of the best. I see that an Australian had a problem recently with Baboons and therefore ended up in an expensive lodge. Anyone who cannot accept that camping in the various unfenced and unguarded camp-sites is not a walk in the local park should stay at the lodges.
At third bridge we had the thrill of quietly watching a hippo feeding about 20m from our camp-fire, of watching Hyaenas watching us as we ate, listening to lion roaring as the went out on their evening hunt and being able to observe elephants after only a 5 minute drive away from the camp. The lions would cross the bridge which was about 100m from our site and only 50 m from the ablutions. Nobody used the ablutions after dark!
We were told there was not a baboon problem but still took care to lock everything away at night and when we left the camp-site for even just a few minutes. We use metal trunks as do most experienced bush campers. Nothing should be left out at night. On previous occasions we have lost metal cups and a water bucket, had chairs ripped and strong plastic boxes destroyed.
At Savuti we had an elephant walk past our camp-site. The ablutions at Savuti have an elephant proof wall which would resist a tank attack. At Ihaha in Chobe national park we had baboons and monkeys most of the time during the day. At night they slept in the tree next to our tent and only disturbed us when a leopard walk past our vehicle. We have a roof top tent.
Remember that the animals in the reserves are wild; expect problems and enjoy the experience of camping in the wild. Complain and sadly in years to come there will be fences, tarred roads, warning signs everywhere and maybe even a MacDonalds.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
13 Thank Windmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

We had booked for three nights and then to go to Savute to camp for 5. On the second afternoon the baboons broke into the camper/caravan and destroyed all the food and ruined the insides. We had been told they where cheeky not that they are breaking into cars and tents and campers.
There are only ten sites. Monitoring and patrolling by the operator could solve the problem but a general lack of interest or care is the rule here. You are on your own except when it is time to collect your money. Its this type of failure that results in so much unfortunate generalising.
This is an expensive alternative for people. If any service is not going to be forthcoming then let me camp in the bush for free and I will expect to cater and fend for myself.
Back at the office on two occasions in Maun to offer them the opportunity to remedy we where unsuccessful. Not even an offer of a credit for a few nights at a later date. The attitude of indifference again. We had to cancel our plan to camp in Moreme and Savuti after travelling from Australia at significant cost.
We cancelled our camping plans and extended the lodge stays.

Botswana many years ago opted for a policy of high cost and low numbers/impact tourism. Now you get the high cost but not the low numbers as there are many lodges. It is unlikely anywhere to feel alone and lions or leopard in both Moreme and Chobe will have multiple radio linked vehicles in attendance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JosephPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We had read mixed reviews of this site so were unsure what to expect. On balance we were pretty pleased with it. As with all the other public camp sites in Moremi and Chobe, this one has quite new ablution blocks which are pretty good, though for some hours the water system was off while we were there. I think all these camps commonly have problems with the water system. Again like the other campsites, the pitches are enormous, each with large shade trees and an area for having a campfire. Unlike the camps we stayed at in Chobe and North Gate, this one did not have a tap at each pitch, and there was no brai/barbecue grill. We did an aftternoon game drive with the company which runs the camp, which I can recommend. They are currently building a new building which will apparently include a bar and small 'tuck shop', which will be welcome additions, though i wouldnt hold your breath. Many reviews of this site talk of major problems with baboons - we didnt see any at all. I suspect that both here and at N gate they had become such a problem that the rangers were forced to shoot them. We did have hyena and hippos walking round our campsite at night though, which was interesting! One word of warning - if you are a couple or small group they may require you to share a pitch. There is some smallprint about this in the emails they send but some people overlook that

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
14 Thank littleplats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#19 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
33.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
47.1 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#18 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.0 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#14 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
23.1 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#24 of 70 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#16 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Third Bridge Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Third Bridge Campsite

Property: Third Bridge Campsite
Address: Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Third Bridge Campsite 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Third Bridge Campsite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Third Bridge Campsite Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing