We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveler rating
252
51
8
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
51
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river okavango delta game drives dead tree wild dogs fire pit other guests boat safari his enthusiasm lovely bathroom resident hippo the reserve private dinner staff singing and dancing buffet style tented accommodation great safari experience
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 316 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2015

We had an amazing experience at this camp. The staff and accommodations are excellent here and we were so comfortable during our stay. This is the camp where I proposed to my girlfriend. The manager Ben was extremely accommodating and the staff including Loveness, Tshiamo, Rosemary and our field guide Conrad were excellent. The food was really good and the room accommodations were very comfortable and clean. The common area had very comfortable seating and the open bar was awesome. It was nice to take a nap by the pool in the afternoon between game drives. I highly recommend coming here if you plan on coming to Africa to view wild game. Our guide Conrad was very knowledgeable and friendly and we saw lots of animals including Lions, a leopard, elephants, giraffe, hippos etc. This was the only camp we went to where the staff and guides ate dinner with us and it was so nice to interact with them and get to know them. It was definitely a friendly, warm atmosphere and I would come here again. This place will always have a special place in my heart because it is where I proposed to my future wife and because it was such a wonderful experience! Special thanks to Ben the manager for going above and beyond to help set up the perfect engagement!

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Camp Xakanaxa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Dear Michael N
Congratulations are in order. Thank you for choosing Camp Xakanaxa for probably one of the most important questions of your life. I am glad you had a wonderful stay and that the staff met all your requirements and more. Please send us pictures of the engagement if you don't mind, as we would love to share them with all friends on social media. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, perhaps for your honeymoon. All the best with the wedding planning.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

Wonderful camp great service accomodation and food but its the guide and incredable wild life that made this place really special. Our guide was both enthisiastic and very knowledgable and could answer all our questions

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Camp Xakanaxa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Dear joed6900
Many thanks for the review from your stay at Camp Xakanaxa. It would be most appreciated if you were able to advise the guides name, so that we can share the feedback with him. I will however pass the feedback onto the camp. Thank you for choosing Desert and Delta Safaris for your stay in Botswana.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2015

Beautiful open and big camp sites on the river. Good ablutions - can be a distance from campsite but it is safe to walk during the day. Awesome river boat cruises from the campsite and great skippers.

Room tip: Try and get a site on the river
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyi96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Xakanaxa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2016

Please note that this review is not applicable to Camp Xakanaxa. We believe that this guest and the review are referring to the public Campsite in the Xakanaxa area.

Camp Xakanaxa is a private safari camp catering to fully inclusive guests and does not have a campsite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2015

This Eden-like area has it all (all but wild dogs, to be truthful): expert guides, great staff as well as accommodations and food that were perfect for us. The tents were very comfortable but small and retained an outdoorsy feeling. On the first night hippos from the marsh in front squished their way right past our tent on their way to graze on the grass in the camp, and one decided to spend part of the night snoozing just in back of our tent. It turns out they don't snore, but they are heavy breathers.
On the game drives there were usually only 4-5 guests in our vehicle and we went everywhere in search of our stated objectives (wiidlife). Our guide found them all in the first afternoon! And we got very close, despite the more wooded environment in this part of the delta. It got quite cold (just above freezing) at night when we were there (end July), but the beds were quite warm and the "bush babies" provided for the AM game drives and to take our rooms after dinner were a great antidote to ward off the chill. The upside: we never saw a single mosquito.

Room tip: Tents 1-8 (of 12) had the best views, I think. All tents are otherwise identical.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Camp Xakanaxa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2015

Dear Charles S
Many thanks for a very charming and wonderful review, I really did enjoy reading about your time in camp. I will be sure to share the review with all the staff, and I know they will have a good giggle about the hippo outside your tent. Thank you for choosing Desert and Delta Safaris for your stay in Botswana, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2015

Flying into the Moremi Game Reserve was like flying into ghosts of the past. An Africa that is more historical than present. In an era of idiot game hunters and ivory-greedy nations, Botswana stands out as last outpost of sanity and beauty. Xakanaxa sits quietly in this beauty, welcoming guests and letting Africa come to them.

This is one of the last refuges from the incessant chatter of the internet. Long may it stay so! Electricity is restricted. But who needs it? The stars fill the night sky, the air is cool and clear (this was July) and the surroundings peaceful.

Our tent was more like a luxury suite than canvas and we slept as deeply as we ever have. Even listening to the hippos passing by every night, and sometimes calling, and even as lions wandered through the darkness or hyena paid a visit; even then the overwhelming feeling was relaxation.

The superb guides (Salani and Harrison) took us to lions, elephants, zebra, eagles and glorious leopards. We had sundowners on Dead Tree Island, surely one of the most beautiful locations in the reserve. Wonderful meals served as a group and drinks around the fire as the Southern Cross rose in the night sky. The afternoon siesta added to the overall effect of effortless quality.

Go to the Okavango. Go to Xakanaxa. You won't be disappointed.

Room tip: Huge tents are provided, all with ensuite services and electricity. Very comfortable.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 367john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Camp Xakanaxa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

Dear 367john
Thank you for your recent review on your visit to The Desert and Delta Safaris properties. It sounds like you had an amazing time in our camps, and I will be sure to pass on the excellent comments to the staff in both the camps. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews