We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but not outstanding” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camp Xakanaxa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Xakanaxa
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Nice, but not outstanding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

It was VERY hot during our stay - 100+ degrees F in early November. No electricity or fan (there IS no A/C) after 8PM (generators off during the night). Unable to sleep at night due to the stifling heat. Be aware during the hot season there will be no air movement as no fan during the night so visits during the cooler season may be preferable.

Very disappointed by the lack of wildlife - very curious. I was told here would be so much better than S.Africa; it was a big let down. A few elephants, cape buffalo, one leopard but only from a distance as it is not allowed to go off-track. The guide never seemed to drive more than 10 minutes from the camp. Would sit and talk & talk after the animals had walked away for 10 minutes. Are the animals gone from here or did the guide just not want to drive further? Also a guide is supposed to fetch guests in the evening to escort them to dinner in the dark. We were forgotten and we had to dash from our tent as there was a hippo on the path next to our tent - very scary when all we had was a flashlight! This was not just an over sight but could have had tragic consequences.

The bar/dining area next to the river is VERY nice - very Out of Africa decor to a "New" worlder. Bar is open/free during the day, but we were so hot, drinking alcohol did not appeal to us. The food I think was very good and plenty of it. The staff is bit reserved but that is fine and may be more local custom. Overall "nice" experience, but given the cost & distance, there are other places to consider for a better animal viewing and guest comfort.

Room Tip: During hot season (100 degrees plus), no electricity to run the fan after 8PM, so visits during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SE-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    45
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
102
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

(Dec '13 visit) This camp was by far located in one of the most beautiful locations in the Delta. Upon arrival you're immersed in the wilderness, the subtle but natural architecture of the camp makes for a wonderful atmosphere. What really makes this camp is the staff, extremely caring and helpful. Despite the extreme wet climate during the december season, the safari's were incredible, we got up close and personal to most of the Big 5, and captured some incredible shots along the way. Our nights were spent swapping stories with fellow tourists and tour guides beside a campfire. Our tents were always super clean and bug free!

For those of you who might be reading gulliversplanet's 4 year old review, here's a datapoint from another safari veteran: The numbers on here speak for themselves. I'm writing a review based on 100s of other safari visits to different camps. I just got back from that trip and certainly plan on going again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ankur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
928 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

A fantastic camp site right on a permanent river, so expect visits from crocodiles, Hippo's etc. All inclusive, but delicious food and includes alcohol. The guides are knowledgable and take great pride, so should tip them at the end. Some sensational animal interactions, albeit not the volume of animals at other places, more intense experiences. Very reasonably priced with all staff friendly, a wonderful place to visit. 3/4 days perfect length of stay. Only recomendation is for some sort of fitness centre or walking track, you dont do much excercise and the food is good and plentiful!

Room Tip: On the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

In comparison to Third Bridge, Xakanaxa was quite empty, which we loved. Our campsite was awesome, right at the end of the row on the channel. Felt a lot more private here that at Third Bridge. The game drives were a bit disappointing, but then again it was very wet and the animals didn't need to come to the channels. We made it to dead tree island and all the water crossings etc. were definitely worth it. I would personally skip Third Bridge and head straight to Xakanaxa. You are close enough to Third Bridge to go on the drives around the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinde V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was our favourite camp in Moremi, perhaps because of the excitement of the ellies as well as the lovely trees...a tip, don't park your van over the berries that the ellies want to snack
If you want to see campers clinging to the ladders to their roof top tents to escape the large grey diners below, this is the place!

Shower early or shower cold

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Xakanaxa camp, it was slightly larger than the other camp we were in so not quite so personal. The food was excellent and plenty of it and the fridges always had plenty of cold drinks.

Water was our guide and took us to see lots of animals. The boat cruise was a nice relaxing change from the safari drives, the delta is beautiful with amazing water lilys. The sunset was beautiful. It was a nice touch to include a Mokoro canoe ride just before we stopped for a sundowner.

The tent had a fan which was nice and the bathroom was enormous, we enjoyed the running water. The bed was really comfortable.

The small gift shop was a nice touch with very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escape123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Level Contributor
429 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Nice campsite along the marsh, only 8 I believe. If you plan to do any boating on the river, I suggest doing it from here. Unlike Third Bridge, pricey and far away from your campsite, you can walk here from your camp. Easy to book. Price is per boat, so you can walk the campsite and encourage other campers to join you. We had 4 people out for 3 hours and it was about $70 per couple. Great experience. Get a boat where you can sit up high on the deck, above the marsh, much better view.

Back to the campsite. New ablutions, cleanest so far of all the public campsites. No animals though. That was a disappointment. We did see saddle billed stork, magnificent creatures

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moremi Game Reserve hotels
10.1 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
30.7 mi away
Machaba Camp
Machaba Camp
#1 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
4.9 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#19 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
38.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
46.4 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Xakanaxa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Xakanaxa

Property: Camp Xakanaxa
Address: Xakanaxa Region, Moremi Game Reserve | Private Bag 310, Maun, Botswana, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Xakanaxa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Moremi Game Reserve, which is rated as being one of the finest game viewing areas in Africa, Camp Xakanaxa has one of the best locations in Botswana. Accommodation is in twelve tastefully furnished tents with twin or double beds and en-suite facilities with shower, hand basin and w.c. The tents are situated on the edge of the lagoon and from their private viewing deck, with comfortable loungers, one looks onto the reed fringes at the waters edge. The camp, with its eclectic mix of furnishings from all over Africa, has a dining room, lounge/bar area, fire deck and plunge pool all slightly raised on wooden platforms with spectacular views over the lagoon. The reception area boasts a curio shop. At night the camp looks stunning as it is lit by dozens of paraffin lamps and candles. The game drives in this sector of Moremi take one down winding tracks, through Mopane forests and across lush grasslands. The waterways are either forded by vehicles or crossed on rustic log bridges. The camp faces out over the Xakanaxa Lagoon on the Khwai River, where combined boat and mokoro (dug-out canoe) trips explore the sinuous channels and floodplains of the Delta, one of Africa’s greatest natural wonders. Birding in the area is excellent, especially in the spring and summer months when the migrants are breeding. To the north are the world famous heronries, which attract large numbers of breeding storks and herons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Camp Xakanaxa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xakanaxa Camp, Botswana Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing