We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
208
29
12
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
29
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game viewing wilderness safaris chief's island white rhino new chef elevated walkway wild dogs duma tau over the top every guest other guests every turn cape buffalo wildlife experience south africa lion pride herd of elephants
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 251 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2016

What an amazing experience. We travelled as a family of 4 (My husband and myself and our 2 adult children). We never expected that wild animals would come so close to us and that mostly they had no fear of humans (at the same time it did not mean that we got out to pat them!). We were witness to the stalking of a family of warthogs by a pride of lions and the eventual kill of a baby one. Watching how the lion pride discussed the "sharing" of the bounty was unforgettable. We saw an abundance of wildlife and were captivated to see animals in the wild.

Severa our guide was so knowledgable. The guides have tracking and identification skills that are incredible.

The service at Mombo was outstanding, our every need and every wish was taken care of. The tents (don't know if I should call them that!) were beautifully appointed and the staff could not have made ours stay more comfortable.

So glad that there was no internet at all. It should stay that way. It all adds to the experience of enjoying the moment.

My husband and son were given a tour by Neil (General Manager) of the behind the scenes of the whole camp. They were super impressed with the whole operation - including that they generate their own solar power (creating a small ecological footprint ) and provide extensive training and qualifications for their staff.

All up - an amazing experience!

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank DebandNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2016

Thank you Deb and Norm for staying with us and sharing your wonderful memories. Neil really enjoys getting to show off our back of house operations, as we all are. It is with great pride that we are able to run the entire camp with only solar power, I hope they also got to see the Reverse Osmosis System that purifies our drinking water.

We cannot tell you what it means to us to hear you enjoyed not having wifi in camp. We can assure you this will not change. Wilderness Safaris strongly believes that our camps offer space, intact ecosystems and the peace that nature brings and that by disconnecting from the Internet, our guests can re-establish real relationships with their spouse or children and even themselves.

We hope you will all come visit us again soon,
The Team at Mombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2015

This is the flagship camp of Wilderness Safaris --. The tent is as deluxe as it can possibly get in the Okavango Delta, with all the amenities of a deluxe hotel in any other city. And, to add to the experience, we have baboons jumping on our tent at any hour of the day, elephants, kudus, lions, and lechwes at our doorstep There is this contstant view of numerous African animals from our tent and dining area, all grazing together in one vast area: zebras, elephants, lechwes, impalas, baboons, warthogs, etc. etc. It is constant fine dining, either private, community, or party style. Maybe for some, this may be over the top, and for some, it is perfectly fine. I leave this in your hands.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2015

Thank you Tony P, for your beautiful review, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to hear the luxury was not over the top for you.

At Wilderness Safaris it is our belief that we create journeys, not simply holidays. And as such, a journey is an immersive experience, changing how you view the wild places of Africa and the world. One of the ways in which is by giving guests the options of a range of accommodations. Whether travelling as a couple, a family or on your own and to satisfy individual needs, our properties range from high-end luxury to more affordable options. We hope to welcome you back on your next journey, soon.

Thank you again,
The Team at Mombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

We spent a relaxing couple of days at Mombo, my second trip there this year!! We were very well taken care of from the flight in all the way to the flight out. The welcome melodies will stay with me until my next trip. The great food from beginning to end of the day everyday. Our guide Moss was absolutely great. I can't forget to mention the greatest barman who is allergic to empty glasses made sure our glasses remained full. Best part of trip was our very special Boma night on a Sunday thanks to Olivia who wasn't even there to enjoy it with us. Game drives did not disappoint, it's always a beautiful experience to see relaxed black rhinos. They know they have found a safe haven in the Okavango.. The beautiful birds always all around, I had a resident woodland kingfisher right outside my tent so I got to enjoy it's beauty many times everyday.
Thank you yet again to everyone at Mombo for a perfect weekend, even the weather was perfect. See you all again soon.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Matshediso K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2015

Dear Matshediso K,

We are so thrilled to have you return so soon and are glad to see that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations from your last trip as well as giving you so many wonderful new memories to go home with.

We cannot wait to share your kind words with Mos, Olivia and your much beloved barman. It is thanks, in most part, to our magnificent staff that we are so highly regarded by yourself and our other great returning guests. We look forward to your next visit and will have your full glass ready and waiting.

Till we see you again,
Your friends at Mombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2015

Awoke to a Leopard on the walkway outside our room. Hippos in the water as we breakfasted and then saw 23 lions in one day. Amazing safari, stunning accommodation and gourmet food. If I could afford it, I would live there.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2015

Dear Andrew R,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and would be glad to add you to our list of residents in camp along with the leopards, lion, and hippos.

Mombo is home to all sorts of wildlife, and thus, why it is fondly referred to as the “place of plenty”, highlighted by the massive concentrations of plains game and predators that can be seen including all the big cats, of which lion sightings are frequent. You can also expect to see leopard and cheetah, spotted hyaena, large herds of buffalo, elephant, white rhino, giraffe, blue wildebeest, Burchell's zebra and much more. Birdlife is prolific around Mombo with African jacana, pygmy-geese, goliath heron and migrant waders in summer being particularly common.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon,
The Team at Mombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2015

We had Room 1 in Mombo--at the end of the boardwalk with outstanding views of the savanna and game. The room was enormous and well equipped--chilled drinks, outdoor shower, private outdoor viewing area. We enjoyed our time there but felt a bit overwhelmed by all the luxury in the midst of a drought. If you want a wild experience and pampering, then Mombo will do. Upon arrival, we learned a lion pride had killed a buffalo a day earlier in front of the camp! Over the next day, we watched the lions, hyenas, jackal and vultures finished off the huge carcass--down to the horns and a few bones.
Our guide was the best of all the guides we had on our 4 camps, professional, humorous, and thoughtful. He handled our interests perfectly. The food was great, the service excellent. But this is best if you do not want to do anything active. You can take advantage of the gym, which we did. Otherwise, it is game drives twice a day--bouncing in back seats. No walking permitted except during sundowners (cocktails in the bush).
The baboons would not let us sleep past 6 am on the one day we stayed away from the 5 am game drive. But it all added up to a good time in the wilds of Africa. If we return, I would like to see Mambo after it rains.

Room tip: Depending on time of year, beware of a tented room that baboons like to use as a trampoline. Cute but noisy. You won't sleep.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Flora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2015

Thank you FlorafromHawaii, for your fabulous feedback, we are thrilled to hear what a great stay you had with us and how much fun you had with your guide.

Sadly most of southern Africa is in the midst of a draught, but thanks to the eco-friendly systems put in place throughout Wilderness Safaris properties we are able to carry on as normal for the time being. In keeping with Wilderness’ objective of reducing energy consumption and fuel use at all its camps, Mombo is 100% solar powered, with electricity and hot water provided via solar panels and inverters. Waste water (sewage and grey water) is treated in an Above Ground Sewage Plant, ensuring that the water is clean before being allowed to enter the natural environment. It is the greater area which surrounds us that is our greatest concern at this time.

Thank you again and more so for your concern,
The Team at Mombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews