We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
210
29
12
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
29
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game viewing wilderness safaris chief's island white rhino new chef duma tau wild dogs over the top other guests every turn cape buffalo wildlife experience lion pride herd of elephants south africa well stocked bar once in a lifetime
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 253 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2015

I have had the chance to visit many safari lodges in Botswana and elsewhere in Africa and Mombo would certainly make it in my top three. The overall experience is close to perfection. The quality of the game viewing is outstanding. We were there during the dry season, which meant that large amount of game congregated just in front of the lodge's breakfast area to go for a morning drink.

The camp itself is luxurious, without overdoing it. Rooms are spacious and well designed. But what really sets Mombo apart is the quality of service. The staff is experienced, knowledgeable and friendly. I came with my fourteen year old son who had a blast challenging staff members to table tennis (he ultimately lost to Neil, one of the managers). Despite this unforgivable offense, both Neil and Hamish, the managers, were fantastic at making us feel at home. But a special mention must be made of Yompy, the best guide in all of Africa!

Of course, Mombo is not cheap and it may be hard to quantify the extra value it brings for this price compared to other top end lodges, but we still loved our stay there and would gladly come back. The one negative point is the quality of the two pools, which were unappealing (they rarely are in the bush, though).

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sikorskd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

Dear Sikorskd,

Thank you for your beautiful review, we are delighted to hear how much you and your son enjoyed your time with us, except for the table tennis, we hope Neil was not a sore winner.

Mombo is situated on an island just off the north-western tip of Chief’s Island, and more or less in the centre of the Okavango Delta. The Mombo area supports an incredible diversity of mammals, birds, and plant life, due to the variety of habitats found here. Drier island areas have the acacia woodland or thornveld so typical of Chief’s Island, and these areas contrast with the wide open floodplains studded with wild date palm islands. Mombo has exclusive use of the area. This means that much of the wildlife has become extremely habituated to our presence and this allows for superb viewing and photographic opportunities.

Thank you again and we hope you will visit us again soon,
The Team at Mombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2015

Little Mombo is the smaller of the two camps at Mombo, with just 5 rooms, making it very cosy and private. The whole setup overlooks the plains, with frequent wildlife sightings as you dine in the outdoors or relax in your room.

The rooms in Little Mombo are large, airy and very comfortable. They open on to a large balcony area perfect for animal-watching. We had daily sightings of big game from zebras to elephants to hippos. Daily laundry service is available, and the mini-bar is well-stocked with soft drinks/wine and replenished frequently.

Meals at Little Mombo are absolute joys. The early morning breakfasts and afternoon teas before you go out on your drives are beautiful setups in Little Mombo's open air dining area. Lunch and dinner menus are superbly delicious, cooked with excellent quality ingredients (an item that stands out in mind is the ostrich burger). The staff are the best I've ever come across; they remember every little detail about your dining preferences, friendly and polite but not at all over-bearing.

Knowledgeable and professional guides who show you wildlife and explain its behaviours on the two daily game drives make the stay at Little Mombo truly memorable. On every evening drive, we would stop at a pretty location for sunset drinks (your choices will be noted at the start) while watching the animals in their natural habitat before heading back to camp for dinner.

I cannot recommend this camp enough if you are visiting the Okavango Delta. As Wilderness's tagline says -- "Our journeys change lives", my trip to Little Mombo has certainly changed my life and I cannot wait to return.

Room tip: Choose Little Mombo over Big Mombo for a more private and secluded stay.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank stylesetter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2015

Dear iamdrdrea,

Thank you for the amazing review, we are overjoyed to see that you had such a great experience in camp and that we were able to share this life changing journey with you.

We cannot wait to share your kind words with all the staff especially the hard working team in the kitchen. As a conservation organisation and a responsible ecotourism operator Wilderness Safaris believes fully in its vision of the 4Cs – Commerce, Conservation, Community and Culture – as contributing meaningfully to the wildlife and the people of Africa. Community is all about the people at the heart of our business: Internal Community, which is our staff across all our regions, and External Community – comprising the rural communities that either own the land on which we operate or live adjacent to these areas.

We look forward to your next visit,
The Team at Little Mombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2015

This was our 2nd time @ Mombo Camp and the game viewing both times was nothing short of spectacular! You come tot Mombo for the opportunity to see wildlife and you do! Mombo has the most experienced & professional guides who do their utmost in game tracking and sharing their knowledge. Mombo is luxurious in their accommodations and they are kept immaculate by a very attentive staff. We would rate the food as average on both of our stays @ Mombo (2013 & 2015) but we didn't come for the food but for the game viewing. We'll be back even with the high price per person.

Room tip: Number 9 @ Mombo is best!
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2015

Dear Ann P,

Thank you for your beautiful review, we are overjoyed to see that we were able to, once again, give you the experience you had hoped for.

Mombo and its neighbouring camp, Little Mombo, are the most remote camps within the Moremi Game Reserve and the Mombo area is undoubtedly one of the finest areas in Africa to view predators and a high diversity of general game, supporting very high concentrations of plains game such as zebra, wildebeest, impala and red lechwe. Herds of elephant and buffalo are regularly seen in the area. Naturally the high density of prey species attracts many predators, so the area has a particularly high concentration of lion and spotted hyaena, and is a renowned area for leopard sightings. The more elusive cheetah and wild dog, as well as the shyer, smaller predators – aardwolf, caracal, serval and jackal – are rarely seen.


Thank you again, and we will make sure the next time you visit that the menu will also knock your socks off.
The Team at Mombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2015

The word Mombo means "Place of Plenty," which is an apt description. A luxurious camp in the midst of the delta, Mombo has arguably the best big game viewing in all of Africa. A brochure for the camp states that the area "boasts enormous concentrations of plains game and predators which begin virtually on Mombo's decks." They were not kidding about the predators being virtually on Mombo's decks. We experienced this first hand.
Built under large, shady trees, Mombo’s nine spacious tents are raised over 6 feet from the ground on wooden decking, providing excellent views across the floodplains. Inside each tent, polished parquet wooden floors, large beds draped in hand embroidered white linen, chaise lounges, and comfortable sitting areas create an atmosphere of understated luxury. A sliding screen wall opens onto an expansive furnished veranda. Raised wooden walkways connect the guest tents to an open dining room and living area. The dining room boasts an elegant long wooden table with hand carved chairs. The living room and bar area have deep comfortable armchairs and couches made of indigenous hardwood, heavy linen and other natural materials. There is a bomba for traditional dining under the stars, and a small library. There are two plunge pools, plus a gym to work off the excellent food.
Cisco, our guide, is from the Okavango Delta, as was his father and his grandfather, both guides to.. Cisco is a smart, outgoing and enthusiastic man. I knew when we met Cisco that we had won the lottery guide-wise. He was absolutely best guide that we have ever had in Africa - 5 trips, 15+ camps! Thanks, Cisco.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CharlesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2015

Dear CharlesA,

Thank you for your amazing feedback, we are thrilled to hear what a great stay you had with us and how much fun you had with Cisco, we will be sure to pass along your high praises to him.

Mombo is indeed the “Place of Plenty” and that is not only in terms of the game viewing. There is additionally the gym you mentioned, for those looking to exercise. As well as a variety of massage treatments which can be enjoyed in the comfort of your own room or private deck to enjoy the views at the same time. This is probably the best way in which to relax and feel rejuvenated.

Thank you again,
The Team at Mombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2015

This was our first trip to Little Mombo Camp and was nothing short of fantastic. We were very fortunate to have Sepho as our guide. An highly informed expert Sepho was an essential part of the safari adventure. Little Mombo itself was at the top level of customer service in a wonderful, exclusive and dream-like setting. The safari experiences and game viewing were monumental. Little Mombo has no wifi, no television and no telephones - perfect for the safari experience my wife and I had in mind. Certainly, high line safari "thrill seekers" can find less expensive accommodations but will not find a better overall and memorable experience - well worth the time and price. Without question Ted Archdale of Africa Odyssey crafted arrangements which exceeded our highest expectations.

Room tip: Little Mombo is far more private than the "main camp"
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GSSATLANTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2015

Thank you GSSATLANTA for the amazing and touching review. We are humbled and proud to see that your experience in camp and on game drives was able to exceed your expectations.

Little Mombo and Mombo are the most remote camps within the Moremi Game Reserve and the Mombo area is undoubtedly one of the finest areas in Africa to view predators and a high diversity of general game, supporting very high concentrations of plains game such as zebra, wildebeest, impala and red lechwe. Herds of elephant and buffalo are regularly seen in the area. Naturally the high density of prey species attracts many predators, so the area has a particularly high concentration of lion and spotted hyaena, and is a renowned area for leopard sightings. The more elusive cheetah and wild dog, as well as the shyer, smaller predators – aardwolf, caracal, serval and jackal – are rarely seen.

We hope you will come back soon,
The Team at Little Mombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews